We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a renovation, but still suggested”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Have been at Hawksbill Resort in Antigua for 2 weeks at the end of January 2012, booked through an Italian tour operator. Resort is located at the northwest part of the island, so one must pass through St. John to drive anywhere.
In front of the hotel there are 4 beaches, pone is the only nude beach in Antigua: not the best beaches of the isle, but nice anyway as the sunset there is incredible. Sunbeds available in all beaches. Even if there are about 80 rooms, beaches are not crowded at all.
Rooms are located in 2 big buildings and to several small cottages in the garden. A complete renovation is absolutely needed as rooms/bathrooms are old. There's no TV, but sincerely who cares? The place is windy so air contitioning is not needed. Also garden view rooms have view to the sea. A lot of mosquitos everywhere. As there are no glass windows rooms are noisy, as one hears animals and the sea all night long.
2 restaurants, one for breakfast/dinner and the Grill for lunch. Food is great, with variety and good level. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Beach towel can be changed every day to the laundry (staff there absolutely unfriendly) at fixed times.
Excursions/taxis/rental cars can be easily booked at the reception.
All inclusive include meals and all beverages including cocktails. During dinner every night there are some simple music shows until 10pm. Most of guests are elderly English people staying there for 2-3 weeks, some Italians and a few Americans that overnight for 2 or 3 nights.

Room Tip: Require a room in the annexes or on the higher floor as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genius-loci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is the worst resort I have ever stayed at.

Just some of the things they did.

You get one beach towel, and in order to get a new one you have to exchange it between 7 and 8 am.

The place is ancient and the rooms dont have a tv, and you can feel every spring in the bed.

The food is awful. The menu is the same as my fraternity house although it was no better.

They didn't give us bathing towels on the day of the wedding forcing me to dry off outside.

The staff was awful and was extremely rude towards my pregnant sister while she was asking about the menu because of diet restrictions.

Are key only worked for the back door and not the front door.

The beach chairs are old and ripped in multiple places.

The staff told me I have to wait until tomorrow to take wind surfing lessons. When they knew I was leaving the next day.

The wave runners did not have gas and made us wait an hour for someone to get gas.

There was no hot water in the shower.

I would never stay here again. The price is not much less then other resorts on the island and this place made our stay miserable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mikesilvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We arrived to a very nice upgraded room at Honeymoon Cove where we were celebrating our recent engagement. The staff were very attentive from day 1, with a drink on arrival, bottle of bubbly and nice card in our room. The resort was not overrun with people and was nicely spread out with 4 beach areas to choose from. We made some good friends over the week, while spending plenty of time on our own. The chap who is in charge of the watersports hut is very nice and helpful!

Yes...as per some of the previous reviews this resort could do with a little spruce up...but, it has charm and character which other resorts lack.

The food was nice. Granted the service could be a little slow sometimes, but that's the Antigua way I guess! No complaints about the drinks. Especially the nice cocktails!

A couple of times we enjoyed day trips. Shirley Heights was good, but we didn't feel entirely comfortable visiting St Johns. We had a nice trip around the island on a catamaran.

The highlight was when we met the president of Antigua, who was having a conference at the resort...nice guy who stopped for a handshake and photo.

Bring mosquito repellant. The resort has room spray and coils and fog the area occasionally.

All in all...if you are looking for a good holiday at a decent price we recommend Hawksbill. It ticks every box.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Cove...or choose a room with Air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheHosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just returned last week from a seven day stay. We have stayed at Halcyon Cove four years and loved it but decided to try the other Rex resort. I am male mid thirties and we were by far the youngest couple there at that time, which didnt bother us one way or the other. We got engaged while we were there so this place will always be special to us, but I will write a fair review regardless because its a really great spot.

Thirty minute ride from the airport with plenty to see, escpecially through town. Checking in was a breeze really, took maybe 15 minutes and they were slammed at that time of day. While we waited for the porter (because its a hike no matter which side you stay on) we got a drink and enjoyed the view of Sea Grapes the main beach. Rum punch was amazing by the way.

This picking the right room seems to be a big deal with other guests reviews, we got a garden bungalow and could have cared less, all you do is sleep and shower there anyway. Now for sleep, I liked the ocean and the geckos, but in the mornings when the goats came out and were very loud I simply put my mp3 in with ocean sounds on it, very simple. I WAS concerned about not AC but I loved the open air, never a problem. No tv was zero problem. Housekeepers are a tad stingy with towels, but gave us more when asked.

All the beaches were nice golden brown with corral and plenty of surf most days. I will add if you like no surf with white powder, Halcyon is better in this category. Honeymoon beach isnt much, Sea Grapes is the nicest, escpecially at the north end. Eden is very beautful and peaceful, like your at the end of the earth or something. Some people clothed, some not, but everyone keeps to themselves. They keep fresh water there, but as for drinks, you better take them with you, its a hike back.

The staff was top notch from top to bottom really, nothing else to say. The watersports guys were awesome from Oh MY, they are hired from the hotel and are very good at watching people when they go out to far or flip, they have a boat and jet skis for rescue. They never bug people much either, if you wanna go out on the water just ask. Bartenders Kris and Millie were our favorites, very sweet ladies that were very attentive. I tipped them quit often, but never noticed anyone else doing so, I'd say it helped me out a little.

Food was really good in our opinion, we cook most of our own meals at home, but still thought the meals there were VERY good. Breakfast buffet was what it was, theres only so much you can do so it got a little tired but they have a fresh grill for whatever you want. Lunch is grilled fresh each and every day with swordfish, burgers, jerk dishes, italian, salads, rice. Diner was usually special because its really pretty in the dining room at night. They alternate with ala carte and buffet each night or you could order a steak or lobster for an extra fee. Each night had suttle entertainment music, dancers, all assorted stuff, which picked up a little bit after diner, but by then we were usually exhausted. On wednesdays they have a BBQ and its casual dress. As far as the gentlemens dress code I saw a few people wear shorts so they arent that strick, but I normally wore cackies and nice sandles.

Few other notes, took bug spray but never used it for mossies, but did notice when I got home a few sand flys got me but it never hurt or itched. This is a very laid back resort, mostly retirement age or a few families, people read all day, listen to mp3s or whatever it is they want. Its very homey and relaxing on Carribean time, always remember that when you land in Antigua, you have to sloooow down or you could miss the beauty of it all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chiefjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned after two wonderful weeks, our fifth visit. Many thanks to all, especially Agathe and also Brenda - delighted to see her again keeping our room spotless as always.
The 'fireman' was excellent entertainment, along with his young dancers and young drummers.
The manager Hyacinth was most welcoming, as was her assistant manager - an extremely capable young lady.
Many thanks to all, it was a busy time at the hotel but the staff were always attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: We always book the Club Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spice-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

As everyone else has said, this is a laid back experience with no hustle or bustle. It just needs a bit of sprucing up to raise the standard slightly. During our stay there were less than 20 guests but everything was available to us, although we would query whether the food options were as full as they would be when busy (but understand why they may not have been). There was a house-party type atmosphere as they were a lovely bunch of people. The beaches were great

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nochein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you're looking for exciting nightlife and days filled with action, forget it! If, on the other hand, you want to be totally laidback in beautiful surroundings among fantastic and friendly people, then this is for you. A major plus is that there are no TVs so you don’t run the risk of being kept awake by neighbours. Actually it’s unlikely that those sorts of people would choose this hotel, we met some really nice people here. It is a 3* resort with no pretensions to be otherwise but any deficiencies in facilities provided are more than made up for by the friendliest and happiest people we've ever met. Their favourite phrase was “Don’t worry” and they really cared that you were enjoying yourself. The only fly in the ointment (or rather mosquito) is the sheer viciousness of these tiny creatures; take the strongest repellent you can find. If you ask at reception, they will give you a spray for the room and the maid will provide tablets daily for the machine provided. There are beach beds in the grounds and on the beaches (not too many on clothing optional beach) and, although umbrellas are scarce, there are plenty of trees. Just don't choose a coconut tree, they are starting to fall and in spite of the staff's best efforts at climbing up to collect them, the odd one gets away. The ground are beautiful and Sylvia does tours if you're interested; we were too lazy to do even this. The wildlife is amazing, assorted small colourful birds, pelicans flying across the bay, small lizards in abundance , humming birds too fast to film and mongooses!. You would just see these golden streaks as they flashed across the lawns; no snakes around so they were obviously doing their job.The tree frogs were a bit noisy but we got used to them very quickly. An extra rum punch helps! We stayed in a superior sea view room and were well pleased with space and view. Some of the garden view rooms were a bit basic and really the whole hotel could do with a little bit of TLC. However, we all agreed that nothing should be done to change the character of the Hawsksbill, even the Canadian travel writer who stayed for a few days agreed that it would be criminal to turn this into a soulless copy of so many present day hotels. The main reason for it's not having much done to it is apparently a problem with the lease. Hopefully this will be resolved for the sake of all the fantastic staff. It only needs a bit of attention to mosquito nets, ours was OK but nothing will keep the little beggars out.

There are 4 beaches but most people stay close to Sea Grapes beach where the bar and lunchtime restaurant are sited, Food was very good with plenty of choice and a mix of buffet and served meals, one barbeque per week. For lunch there was a grill serving local fish, burgers, chicken etc. There were also plenty of salads available and pasta. I put on a quarter of a pound in 10 days (sorry, I've never got to grip with kilos). There was even afternoon tea. Evening entertainment was again laidback with usually a steel band or local group and room to dance, if you hadn’t pigged out too much to move. The hotel runs all sorts of trips but we only went into St John’s on big market day (Saturday). Quite an experience!

People come back here year after year and I can see why, we’re already planning to return next year. This is the perfect place to unwind though I wouldn’t recommend this resort for children; there are no childrens’ entertainments and, although the beaches are lovely, there is quite a steep dip near to the shore line and a bit of an undertow. The naked beach is rather rocky and in fact a pair of rubber beach shoes is a good idea since there are a few stones in the sea on all the beaches just where you ‘re getting in and out of the water. We are evidently getting a bit tottery with age. We travelled with Virgin Holidays and their Check in Chill out service was excellent since Antigua airport is an absolute nightmare. The night flight home was a killer but I’d go through it all again to be with the happy people of Hawksbill.

Room Tip: Superior sea rooms are ideal. Superior sea view bungalows looked nice but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boudicca_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
451 reviews
14 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,907 reviews
4.2 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#5 of 16 in St. John's
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £134 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, West Indies, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing