We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great surprise”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in feb.and we found hawksbill every bit of what was advertised.Island rentals met us at airport,drove us to resort and left car for us to drop off at airport when leaving.lots of fun driving.st johns, english harbor. check in was fast and friendly,cold towel and welcome drink! we chose beach club room for airconditioning, although after 2 nights we were climatized and did not use it. but the views from balconey were worth it. 131!!! lots of good food but would recomend being early rather than late. it was our first experience with afternoon tea and the coffee and snack were great.the views and beaches were awesome throughout the resort. swimming was easy but depending on where you went access to water was tricky at times,though sea grapes was always easy for anyone. c/o was good, one vendor who said hello,wished us a good day and did not bother anyone who did not show interest. snorkeled on all four beaches.morning is best due to clarity. sea grapes had some good elkhorn coral and channels to the south.c/o was good to and had rocks and coral going out to the hawksbill. felt very safe everywhere did not worry about things on beach.shopping in st johns was fun.and found that prices at gift shop are not really higher.bought at both.there are goats and chickens around the property. roosters that start crowing way to early. i would highly recomend this resort to anyone.also recomend beachclub room for balconey

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WallaWallaSnorkelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    432
    159
    67
    72
See reviews for
125
761
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Private beach front property perhaps the best in Antigua. Gorgeous views and pristine beach overshadow any shortcomings in terms of service or amenities. Potential shortcomings would include limited window for breakfast, lunch, and dinner time; housekeeping not plush with toiletries or towels. But the beach front bar compensates! Would recommend a pina colada (or two or three) - yum! Friendly and accomodating staff (may need some friendly encouragement) and hip live music after dinner. Again - if you can get past the faded facade and amenities that need some refreshing - Hawksbill is worth it alone for its gorgeous setting and relaxing pace.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 132MiMa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stunning location with a wonderful long, sandy clothing optional beach - unfortunately spoiled by the behaviour of a few people. One of the prettiest locations I've visited but the rooms and facilities are 'tired' and the service varies. Sometimes non-existent - the only place in the world where my table and drinks have been cleared while we were getting food from the buffet. Often ignored when trying to order food and drink on waiter service nights or lunch. Learned to order starters and then eat main course buffet so that starter arrived as a second course. Some staff where very good but there is a serious training need to meet international standards. If you can laugh at the failings and accept the deficiencies then it's an enjoyable place and the friendly staff were a joy. Sadly, some were off-hand or ignored us - possibly shy/cultural differences? Great music and dancing most nights but why finish at 10 pm? Sometimes we had only just finished eating after slow service. Beyond 10, the resort is dead so don't expect to get a drink if you come back from visiting other places on the island. Older clientele may explain the glowing reports by others. I really wish I could echo those.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

In January we returned to The Hawksbill for two weeks. Everything was just as we expected, and it was lovely to see so many familiar faces amongst the staff. The hotel was busy but there was plenty of room with the four beaches and extensive gardens, so it was easy to find your own space either in the sun or the shade. The food was good and plentiful and on this occasion we tried the a la carte restaurant one evening which was excellent. I hope The Hawksbill is soon able to sort out their lease. However, most people agree that its slightly faded charm is what is so enjoyable. At least 80% of the guests were return visitors [most had been before at least 4 or 5 times] so the hotel must be doing something right. I think it is the staff that helps to make the place so enjoyable.

If you are looking for somewhere for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location, with helpful and friendly staff, with some low-key evening entertainment [but not into the early hours], with no kids or teens clubs or organised activities, this could be the place for you. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TannedMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Have been at Hawksbill Resort in Antigua for 2 weeks at the end of January 2012, booked through an Italian tour operator. Resort is located at the northwest part of the island, so one must pass through St. John to drive anywhere.
In front of the hotel there are 4 beaches, pone is the only nude beach in Antigua: not the best beaches of the isle, but nice anyway as the sunset there is incredible. Sunbeds available in all beaches. Even if there are about 80 rooms, beaches are not crowded at all.
Rooms are located in 2 big buildings and to several small cottages in the garden. A complete renovation is absolutely needed as rooms/bathrooms are old. There's no TV, but sincerely who cares? The place is windy so air contitioning is not needed. Also garden view rooms have view to the sea. A lot of mosquitos everywhere. As there are no glass windows rooms are noisy, as one hears animals and the sea all night long.
2 restaurants, one for breakfast/dinner and the Grill for lunch. Food is great, with variety and good level. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Beach towel can be changed every day to the laundry (staff there absolutely unfriendly) at fixed times.
Excursions/taxis/rental cars can be easily booked at the reception.
All inclusive include meals and all beverages including cocktails. During dinner every night there are some simple music shows until 10pm. Most of guests are elderly English people staying there for 2-3 weeks, some Italians and a few Americans that overnight for 2 or 3 nights.

Room Tip: Require a room in the annexes or on the higher floor as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genius-loci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is the worst resort I have ever stayed at.

Just some of the things they did.

You get one beach towel, and in order to get a new one you have to exchange it between 7 and 8 am.

The place is ancient and the rooms dont have a tv, and you can feel every spring in the bed.

The food is awful. The menu is the same as my fraternity house although it was no better.

They didn't give us bathing towels on the day of the wedding forcing me to dry off outside.

The staff was awful and was extremely rude towards my pregnant sister while she was asking about the menu because of diet restrictions.

Are key only worked for the back door and not the front door.

The beach chairs are old and ripped in multiple places.

The staff told me I have to wait until tomorrow to take wind surfing lessons. When they knew I was leaving the next day.

The wave runners did not have gas and made us wait an hour for someone to get gas.

There was no hot water in the shower.

I would never stay here again. The price is not much less then other resorts on the island and this place made our stay miserable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Mikesilvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We arrived to a very nice upgraded room at Honeymoon Cove where we were celebrating our recent engagement. The staff were very attentive from day 1, with a drink on arrival, bottle of bubbly and nice card in our room. The resort was not overrun with people and was nicely spread out with 4 beach areas to choose from. We made some good friends over the week, while spending plenty of time on our own. The chap who is in charge of the watersports hut is very nice and helpful!

Yes...as per some of the previous reviews this resort could do with a little spruce up...but, it has charm and character which other resorts lack.

The food was nice. Granted the service could be a little slow sometimes, but that's the Antigua way I guess! No complaints about the drinks. Especially the nice cocktails!

A couple of times we enjoyed day trips. Shirley Heights was good, but we didn't feel entirely comfortable visiting St Johns. We had a nice trip around the island on a catamaran.

The highlight was when we met the president of Antigua, who was having a conference at the resort...nice guy who stopped for a handshake and photo.

Bring mosquito repellant. The resort has room spray and coils and fog the area occasionally.

All in all...if you are looking for a good holiday at a decent price we recommend Hawksbill. It ticks every box.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Cove...or choose a room with Air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing