We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawksbill Beach Resort, Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our trip was fantastic. it was our first time in Antigua. The resort was very nice. The setting was serene. The sea, sun and sand were perfect. We stayed at one of the beach club rooms. Talk about up close, wow. At night it sounded like the ocean was in our room. The layout of the resort was pretty basic. All Club rooms lined up along the beach with more traditional rooms behind. The dining room was a short walk up the hillside. It has an open air design which is nice but it has its drawbacks. I'll say more about that later. The resort is easy, convenient and comfortable. It certainly is not anything like the larger chain-resorts which is what we loved about it. Smaller all the way around and less crowded. Although they advertise children welcome there were only a couple kids under 2 years old. Unlike the larger resorts there is NOTHING for kids to do there, but again they are welcome.
On the downside, the resort is not near anything. The closest town is a 20 minute, $30 R-T cab ride. That's not a bad thing really, just inconvenient. The resort is in decent shape but could use some updating. The rooms are laid out fine BUT the mattresses are rock hard and very uncomfortable. I had to fold BOTH comforters into pads and ask for extra pillows. Also there are only a few rooms with AC. They say the rooms have ceiling fans but they are useless. Remember i mentioned the dinning room and its open air design? OMG the birds are ridiculous. They fly all around the room landing on the backs of the chairs and pooping all over them. They land on food serving equipment, i.e. tongs, and crawl all over piled up plates from cleared tables. PRETTY DISGUSTING! The food was very disappointing. We did the all inclusive. The selections sounded fine but mostly the entrees tasted like processed frozen dinners. The best food came at lunch time at the open air grill by the pool. The usual hots and hamburgers, chicken and fish. Again all the chairs were covered in bird droppings. The most surprising element to the trip was the attitude of most of the staff. Sure there were some that truly seemed to care about the guests. But for the most part they really seemed to be annoyed that you were there.
I know i am nit-picking (sp?) but I want to be thorough. Don't get me wrong we LOVED our time there. The pros definitely out weighed the cons and we would love to go back. The overall experience was wonderful. IF you go, plan events in advance, day trips and boating adventures sell out quickly. Also don't be surprised if there are cancellations due to "rough seas". Hope this helps.

Room Tip: the ocean front club rooms are nice but the "garden rooms" as equally nice so save the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rsc1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Overall we had a wonderful time at Hawksbill, very impressed with the lovely beaches within the resort but our favourite was Sea grapes. The place wasn’t as shabby/tired as we were expecting in reference to other reviews, I noticed that there was painting being done whilst we were there, so I think efforts are being made on that front.

We stayed in a garden bungalow, they are basic & clean and in my opinion occupy the nicest part of the resort and right next to the beach, ask for a cottage with an even number and that way you will get one that faces the sea and will benefit from the breeze at night time!
The staff were hit and miss but overall ok I guess, nothing more nothing less. Some were sweet, friendly and helpful and others were quite rude and moody - A real mix.

Beware – Bottles of drinking water are not included within an All-inclusive package – we were a little surprised by this but it wasn’t a major issue, we bought two bottle from the bar when we arrived ($3 each) then filled them up each day from the drinking water tank within the Sea grapes bar although it was often empty in the mornings until around 10.30am – So make sure you fill them up before you go to bed!

The food was tasty, fresh with plenty of variety and we had no complaints, the drinks and all the cocktails were of good quality unlike some All-inclusive resorts.

As mentioned in other reviews, the resort attracts older people 60+ yrs. There were lots of repeat visitors who all seemed to know each other from previous holidays. We were some of the youngest guests in the resort (early thirties) but we found all the guests to be quite friendly. Possibly not ideal for younger couples if you are hoping to make friends and socialise with a similar age group.

Room cleaning etc – Our towels were replaced in full complement some days (i.e. 2 x hand towels 2 x bath towels, 1 x bath mat) other days we had just bath towels and no hand towels or bath mat – not quite sure why (we left all dirty towels on the floor like instructed to receive all clean but didn’t always work out that way) No big deal though.

The highlight of the resort were the beautiful beaches, just gorgeous!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with an even number - They face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snapper_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Idyllic seting with gently swaying palm trees, long sandy beaches and azure and turquoise sea with the odd sailing boat in the distance. A very long line (1/3+ mile) of accommodation of mainly semi-detached "bungalows " within a few yards of sandy beaches and sea. Pleasant sound of sea from inside our wooden "bungalow" which was fairly primitive with basic shower and outside verandah with seating. Would benefit from an upgrade/makeover. Good self-service food. Musical entertainment every night. Interesting natural history with the occasional sighting of a mongoose, hermit crabs, and small colourful birds of an over-confident nature! Visits from the local feral goat population with a taste for local plants! Gardens extensive and well kept. Enjoyed formal conducted tour of the gardens with other guests. Isolated. Plenty of reading is a must and we would have liked to have brought a personal item of modern technology for keeping in touch with outside world....although this may not apply to others.
Quite a few other guests had stayed there many times before.

Room Tip: Avoid two-storey flats and ensure accommodation fronts directly onto sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bymiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

An idyllic setting with 3 safe beaches, and access to more. Beach Club accomodation overlooking Honeymoon Bay was perfect with open sea view, privacy, excellent ventilation so no need for airconditioner,balcony and loungers.Staff all friendly and helpful. Food largely excellent and varied, although service nights a little slow; buffet or BBQ occaisons worked well in evenings. Good lunchtime grill. All inclusive was inclusive! We enjoyed a restful 5 day break after some inter-island sailing. We would be very happy to return there.

Room Tip: Beach Club overlooking Honeymoon Bay are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnson765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is our fourth visit to your piece of Paradise and every time it gets harder to leave. From the moment we crest the hill and your vista is laid out before us we know we made the right decision to come back. The water, the beaches, the grounds, the views, are so beautiful. But that is just the beginning. The staff is what makes the Hawksbill so special. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. Millie, Grescilda, Novella, David, Cristobelle, Elaine and all those that I have failed to mention. Thank you for being the special people you are. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, friendly resort with good food, great drinks and local entertainment, then this is the place for you. See you next time.

Room Tip: Royal palm beach bungalows are right on the beach. Surf lulls you to sleep at night. Birds wake you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChrisMaryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great location and perfectly adequate food! Loved the beach. Shallow and perfect waters.

Room Tip: Honeymoon cottages are nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wewent2gther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in feb.and we found hawksbill every bit of what was advertised.Island rentals met us at airport,drove us to resort and left car for us to drop off at airport when leaving.lots of fun driving.st johns, english harbor. check in was fast and friendly,cold towel and welcome drink! we chose beach club room for airconditioning, although after 2 nights we were climatized and did not use it. but the views from balconey were worth it. 131!!! lots of good food but would recomend being early rather than late. it was our first experience with afternoon tea and the coffee and snack were great.the views and beaches were awesome throughout the resort. swimming was easy but depending on where you went access to water was tricky at times,though sea grapes was always easy for anyone. c/o was good, one vendor who said hello,wished us a good day and did not bother anyone who did not show interest. snorkeled on all four beaches.morning is best due to clarity. sea grapes had some good elkhorn coral and channels to the south.c/o was good to and had rocks and coral going out to the hawksbill. felt very safe everywhere did not worry about things on beach.shopping in st johns was fun.and found that prices at gift shop are not really higher.bought at both.there are goats and chickens around the property. roosters that start crowing way to early. i would highly recomend this resort to anyone.also recomend beachclub room for balconey

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WallaWallaSnorkelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
450 reviews
14 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,903 reviews
4.2 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#5 of 16 in St. John's
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £134 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing