We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic holiday in the most beautiful setting on the island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another fantastic holiday in the most beautiful setting on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our eighth consecutive trip to Hawksbill with our two children aged 12 and 15. We had a truly wonderful holiday in the most beautiful setting on the island. The staff were fantastic as usual with ALL doing everything in their power to ensure our stay was the best yet. We are so grateful to Sheneth, Miss Simon, Miss Francis, Claudette and Agatha for making our welcome and stay so special. William, David and Adrian, Christabell, Millie and all of the bar staff are truly wonderful , always more than helpful with each request being greeted with a beautiful smile. The kitchen staff did a super job with lovely tasty meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner - and an extra extra special thank you to Novella - we all love you -Billy especially for his daily helping of chololate ice cream! It was lovely to see the hotel and gardens so beautifully maintained, fogging was regular and it was nice not to have quite so many birds attempting to steal lmy bacon in the morning. Our room was charming as usual , shabby chic and typically caribbean - As I have said in my previous reviews - don't come here if you are looking for super duper excessive luxury - the place is not about that - it's about peace, relaxation and appreciating the simple things in life with the most accommodating , helpful and beautiful staff as a fantastic addition. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tracie_perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    417
    151
    65
    69
See reviews for
120
735
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

On our arrival at Hawksbill, we were greeted by a very smart and friendly receptionist who booked us in and offered us a complimentary Rum Punch. We were then taken to our beach cottage on the Royal Palm Beach, which I'm afraid to say was just ok. We were slightly disappointed to find that the beds were not 'double' beds but size wise, midway between a UK single and a UK double. And also, there was no way of putting the two beds together. So for this holiday, apart from the first night, we slept in separate beds. Mind you, it was better for us both ( in the end) because of the night heat. We were very thankful for the fan and air conditioning. Had heard some accommodation at Hawksbill does not have air conditioning. On first inspection of our 'cottage' we found a problem with the front door lock. The key we were given only fitted the rear door and not the front door (one key should fit both locks). We reported the problem to the staff and it took two days to rectify and that was only after our rep (Kouni) intervened. It turned out that the hotel (manager) was aware of the broken lock but had not done anything about it. I dare say it could have been fixed sooner, but due to our holiday commitments we were not able to meet up with our rep until two days into the holiday. But really, it should not be just up to the rep to get things sorted out for hotel guests, it has to be the responsibility of the hotel. Thankfully, the rep got the problem sorted within an hour of being made aware of it from us and when we got back to our cottage, there was a complimentary bottle of Champagne (on ice) and an Apology Card from the hotel. Very nice thought in the end.
Over the first couple of days, we noticed that there didn't seem too many guests staying at the hotel and suffice to say, the hotel lacked a bit of atmosphere and friendliness. Also, there didn't seem to be many staff at the hotel either. This changed a few days later when the hotel was (fortunately) invaded by a large group of American soccer players over for a competition in Antigua. Then the hotel appeared to liven up.
The main restaurant (Tamarind Tree) was pleasant and comfortable. The daily meals (breakfast/dinner) were plentiful and varied. Lunchtime meals were taken at the Sea Grape Grill.
The gardens of the hotel were very well kept and we enjoyed walking and learning about the variety of flora and fauna in the gardens around the hotel. One member of the restaurant staff is very knowledgeable and takes guests on walks explaining the flora and fauna on view.
The beaches were nice and clean, especially Sea Grape Beach. Although the beach facilities were lacking in sunshades.
We had two entertainment evenings and the steel band and group were very good.
Overall, the holiday was relaxing and peaceful once we were finally settled in. Whilst we were on Antigua, we went out on a couple of days, one day snorkelling and one day on a private tour of the island with a visit to Nelson's Dockyard amongst other places of interest. With respect to places of interest, I have to admit, the government could do a lot more in the way of improving certain places, for instance "Betty's Hope".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vordingborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had a one night stay here in July. We are a family of five. Mom and dad with three children aged 10,12 and 15.

Even though we only had two days and one night here there is no doubt in our minds. This place is the most romantic and relaxing place we can imagine. We came from bustling Dickenson bay, so this was a big change but also a nice change.

The hotel is located far from everything on a remote and private beach. It is the perfect couples retreat. We will for sure visit this place later on when our children are flown away from home, and we are travelling alone.

Staff was very nice.
Food was great.
Beaches are wonderful and snorkelling was great with a coral reef just 50 metres from the shore.
The cottages we had was so wonderful. It was number 120 and 121 located on the beach with astonishing ocean view from the Verandah.

We recommend this hotel especially to couples who are looking for a romantic and relaxing place to spend their holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cobraleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Welcome Home is the greeting you will receive at Hawksbill, whether it's your first visit or twenty first. My wife and I have been going to Hawksbill for eight years and could not imagine staying anywhere else on the island of Antigua. Every guest is greeted with a smile compared to nothing else, along with a cool towel and a glass of champagne. The greeting sets the scene for our vacation.....rest and relaxation. The resort is not 5 star but the beaches and staff more than make up for glitz and glamour. William, David, Millie, Novella, Christabell, and so many others on staff are always ready to take care of your needs, with a smile (did I mention the great smiles?).

The Facilities: cottage style bungalows, some with air conditioning some not but all have ceiling fans and louvered windows to allow the cool trade winds in. Dining at night is alfresco in a large open air pavilion style building. Lunch is served sea side in a smaller pavilion or on the patio, both are right on the beach.

The Beaches: Among the nicest on the entire island and you have the choice of 4. Each one more fabulous than the other. Try them all. The last beach is Eden Beach offering a clothing optional atmosphere, it is the longest and least used beach, don't know why, it's the longest a best beach of them all.

The Food: Lunch can be as simple as BBQ chicken, hot dogs and hamburgers of the grill or served meals like chicken roti (try it). Evening Dinner is a mix with some nights being a sit down served meal and others a buffet. The food is adequate and plentiful my only complaint is I would like to see more local dishes offered.

Activities: The top activity is rest, relaxation,and sun bathing. Of course the swimming and snorkeling is great and paddle boats and kayaks are available. For a little more excitement you can rent jet skis. There is some entertainment a couple nights a week. A steel band on Wednesday night and a dance band on Saturday night. Everyone is so friendly and socializing is the biggest part of activities, meeting up with old freinds and making new ones. As always we meet some wonderful people this year.

Will we return? YES,YES,YES.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newlywedsConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 week in early August of 2012. It was our first trip to Antigua and therefore our first visit to the Hawksbill Resort. My wife and I have been doing resort vacations for over 20 years and have travelled all over the Caribbean and Mexico. We were pleasantly surprised at what a great resort this was. Apparently the resort is close to renewing there lease with the property owners. Once this is signed, I am sure over time you will see enhancements to the facilities. This resort is great for couples or families.

RESORT:
It is situated about 15 minutes from the Airport. The resort has been operating for over 50 years and is situated on a former plantation property. The facilities are nothing fancy if your are used to 5 star accommodations but they are more than adequate. The resort reminds me of a housekeeping cottage resort. It really has a 'just like home' feeling. There is a small pool located at the centre of the resort. The highlight is definitely the beaches. There are four beaches. All of them fabulous. 'Eden' beach is situated on the edge of the resort and is very private. Eden beach is absolutely amazing! It is a 'naturist' beach for those who would like to sunbathe and swim without the constraints of swimwear. In the mornings at this time of year you would be lucky if there were 4 couples on the whole stretch of beach. Most afternoons, my wife and I had the whole beach to ourselves. If you have ever wanted to try the 'naturist' experience, then Eden beach would be the place to try it. Everyone is very respectable of your privacy and there is plenty of room to spread out along the beach.

ROOMS
The rooms were clean and adequate. The beds were a bit hard but they were suitable. All rooms are within a 1 minute walk to the beach (exept Eden which is at the most a 5 min walk depending on what side of the resort you are staying on).

FOOD
The food was plentiful and adequate. There was a reasonable selection but don't expect a large buffet with 20 different types of food. The food that was served was well prepared and tasty. Several nights of the week are a-la-carte. The mixed drinks were quite well done.

SERVICE
Outstanding! The staff really look after you and many of them have been working there for over 10 years. We met many guests who were repeat customers and they all said one of the main reasons they come back is the great service they receive from the staff.

ACTIVITIES
This resort is great if you want relaxation and quiet. There is some evening entertainment a few times a week but the main focus is socializing with the other guests and plain peace and quiet. If you want night life, St John's is a short cab drive away. Snorkelling is not very good in this area but if you do go out, you will see a limited number of reef fish. There is a recreation shop on site that rents paddle boats, jet skis and other commonly found water equipment. If you like wild life, there are plenty of small birds, humming birds, tree frogs and other animals. The resort backs onto a large forested area.

The resort does fog the perimeter of the resort at dusk.

I would recommend you try this resort. My wife and I met some great people and we will be going back!

Feel free to message me with any questions.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room right at the edge of the water!! They are only steps from the edge of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JeffIcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were here January 2012. We stayed in the Beachfront Club cottage on Honeymoon Cove. Had a wonderful stay here. Found the staff to be especially nice and accommodating. The resort is beautiful. Spread out over several acres. It has a bit of everything. You can find activity here such as water sports, as well as peace and quiet. It is a quieter hotel and I would definitely not recommend it for anyone seeking crowds and a party atmosphere. This resort is on the older side, as are all of the Rex Resorts so keep this in mind… it is not a sparkling Marriot with fine furnishings…it is a quaint Caribbean resort and feels like it. The food was great…no complaints. The grounds were beautiful (although they are peppered occasionally with wild goats and roosters so keep this in mind…an aspect of this resort that we really liked…not everyone did, mind you). The beaches are wonderful. They have several and you can find whatever you’re looking for on one of them. This resort can be on the pricier side for all-inclusive packages but if you can get a good deal, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Beachfront Club cottage on Honeymoon Cove are so beautiful and the sounds of the constant waves is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank letgoletgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our 5th visit to Hawksbill this September we have never experienced hurricane's or rain the odd welcome shower
Hawksbill the best chill out holiday never disappoints great staff great food great beaches the willingness of the staff to make certain you are happy is just right not in your face cannot wait to see all my old friends again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nigelbrignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing