We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FABULOUS CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Hawksbill but our 1st for Christmas and New Year. It did not disappoint. We were welcomed back “home” by the management ladies and all the regular staff, and we were not surprised to meet so many people who visit the Hawksbill every year at this time. On Christmas Day Santa Claus arrived with gifts for the children and there was champagne for the grown ups. A lot of trouble was taken for the New Year’s Eve dinner and a great evening of eating, drinking and dancing finished with fireworks at midnight. As usual we relaxed for the rest of our holiday on the glorious beaches, and were looked after well by all the staff, always with a smile. We have always upgraded to a superior seaview room which we like a lot. These rooms do not have air-con but they are large, light rooms, with good ventilation and a fan. We have never felt we needed air-con even later in the year when it is hotter. The Hawksbill has a slightly faded charm. Yes, it could do with some upgrading, but we hope it never changes. If there is a problem, the staff are quick to sort things out. A special mention for Everlie [superwoman], the assistant manager. The special cocktail party for returning guests is always well attended so they must be doing something right. We can’t wait to return again very soon.

Room Tip: The largest rooms are the superior sea view rooms. Only the Beach Club rooms have air-con; all oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TannedMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    417
    151
    65
    69
See reviews for
120
735
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

If you read some of the earlier reviews you could be put off, but some people complain about the most trivial of things. If you want perfection, you won't find it at Hawksbill. It does not profess to be 5* and can best be described as shabby chic and therein lies its charm and appeal.
Certainly there are things that could be improved upon, but it is extremely clean and the grounds are meticulously tended by staff and by goats. There is a choice of accommodation depending upon how deep your pocket is and what facilities you require. We had a Garden Bungalow without air-condition, television or phone, just what you need if you want to get away from it all!. The ceiling fans were more than adequate, as were the other fixtures and fittings, but don't expect a wardrobe. The bed was large and firm, with the linen changed regularly. Houseeeping was first class and any problems were dealt with straightaway.
The bungalow was 50m from the beach and you can expect to hear the waves breaking. If that's a problem don't go to the seaside for your hols! There are 4 beaches to choose from with Eden beach (clothing optional) being the longest at over half a kilometre. Even on a busy day there were never more than 20 people on it and it was very safe. Seagrapes beach was the busiest due to its close proximity to the bar and water sports facilities. Swimming was brilliant but if you are nervous, there is a small pool. We didn't use any of the sports equipment, but it appeared to be well maintained.
The hotel is not overlooked by anything and its location outstanding. If you want peace and quiet you will find it here. The property is surrounded by fencing and security personnel are on duty 24/7.
Food, a contentious issue for some people. Breakfast - cereals, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast including local variants, fresh omelettes and pancakes, toast, muffins, bagles and pastries complete with an unlimited supply of fruit juice, coffe or tea. Lunch - there was a choice of menu (eg chicken roti ) or a selection from the beachside BBQ.- burgers, chicken, fish of the day, chips, a local dishes and fresh vegetables, salad bar. All good Carribean produce, no mushy peas here. There were cakes and sandwiches available every afternoon. Dinner consisted of formal evenings and buffets with a beach BBQ every Wednesday night. The choices available are not extensive, but are perfectly adequate, ranging from international buffet, including a roast joint, to table service. Our peronal opinion would be that the food was very enjoyable, not overly spiced (hot chilli sauces always available) and nicely presented. Our only criticism and a minor one at that, would be the desserts were a let down by comparison, but you could always stick to ice cream.
If you wished, you could drink yourself under the table, house wines were OK and in plentiful supply. The staff in the restaurant very attentive if a little 'stiff' and formal. However, smiles were always quick and sincere. In general, all the staff were willing to go the extra yard to make the holiday special for all their guests, many of whom were on return visits, 26 was the best we came across. It is easy to understand why people keep on returning to Hawksbill. It has its own distinctive laid-back atmosphere. Its situation is spectacular, it's a little piece of heaven.
If you want to explore, there is a shuttle from the hotel into St John- $8 per couple each way. Market days are the best days for a visit. Hire a car, try Jah-T Car Rental (268)784-8254 $65 per day plus $20 for the drivers permit. Jolly Bay, Figtree Drive, Shirley Heights, Nelson's Dockyard, Falmouth Harbour, Devil's Bridge all easily managed in a day, but beware, St John's not the easiest to navigate. Because of the very nature of the Hotel, stretched along the coast as it is, there is an easy walk from one end to the other, with steps up to the restaurant. If you have any difficulties with walking or managing steps, you may wish to reconsider your options.
Will we be going back? Most definitely. Cannot wait.

Room Tip: I know mine and I'm not saying
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

First of all, I must admit, I did not stay overnight at the hotel, but Antigua was one of the cruise ship stops on our itinerary. One of the employees aboard the ship told us about this place. We can buy a day pass at the Hawksbill Resort and have access to their beaches, restaurants, bars, water sports, etc... so we decided that's where we would spend our day in Antigua.

It's a Beautiful beach, we had an amazing day. But for the price we paid for a day pass, (60 US$ per person), the beach furniture could be better. We had to browse for a while before finding chairs that were in good condition. There was a Tiki Hut on the beach, but all that was offered was cold water in a self-serve thermos. There wasn't even a place to sit down. If we wanted food, drinks or restrooms we had to walk almost a kilometer to the main pavilion.

It's a nice place but It would be better if they just improved and implemented more beach amenities. 120$ is a bit expensive just to have access to a primitive beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan5701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Had a fabulous 2 weeks at Hawksbill. All staff very friendly and senior staff especially go out of their way to help you, including arranging tours, restaurants off site and so on. Nothing too much trouble. Food good and plentiful in all inclusive package. 4 beaches mean they are never crowded and all other guests chatty and relaxed. True, some, not all, bathrooms a bit tired, but all function well and are very clean. Very homely feel, in a way; really comfortable and stress-free. 3rd visit - hope to go back for a 4th.

Room Tip: Rooms on Honeymoon Cove are a bit smaller, but quieter and catch the wind. Need air con as it can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

This hotel is frankly an absolute dump. We cant believe the number of repeat guests it attracts and are surprised at just how little these people are satisfied with! And given they spend so much money (unfortunately like us) for dingy dark unclean rooms, appalling food, awful drinks and rude service. Maybe the previous guests like being made to suffer?

The only good thing about the place is the beach although if you are not well balanced, there are a LOT of rocks you have to work your way over about a metre from the waters edge.

We based our entire trip on the favourable trip advisor reviews for this dump. I am staggered at just how little the other reviewers expect for their holiday buck. We most certainly wont be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreacres, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very nice facility and staff. Grounds were beautiful. Food was fantatic. Interesting conversations with the Europeans was an added benefit. Wat a great location to unwind and relax. Literally all you had to do was show up for the next meal. No deadlines and no worries. WOW
Living on the Gulf Coast and my friend living on the West Coast, this was an opportunity for us to catch up and get away. Added benefit was we took our sons and had some great father-son time as well. The hotwater never worked but at the end of a warm day how hot did we need. Bungalo next to us had plenty of hot water sure it was a temporary outage.
Antigua was on our bucket list for the diving. Sadly the reef is in terrible condition. I'm no marine biologist but have traveled extensively to dive destinations and that reef is in trouble. Has been for some time and I don't know if it can be saved. Too bad...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We ve just returned from another totally fantastic holiday at Hawksbill. It 's just so easy to unwind and relax as soon as you arrive. We had a sea view bungalow which yes , the bathroom is a bit basic and needs some updating but it suited us fine as its so close to the beach with fabulous views of the ocean and sunsets. Don't be put off by any negative reviews , this is a 6 star location with great beaches and attentive staff. There are so many repeat guests that this in itself speaks volmnes. Antigua is a lovely island with friendly people , don't hesitate to visit it and stay at Hawksbill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxyglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Holiday Gems so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing