We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to be if you're over 60!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the place to be if you're over 60!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Pros:-

+ The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept

+ Nice beaches

+ Friendly staff who genuinely seem to care

Cons:-

- The food is abysmal. I gave most of my food to the starving stray cats under the table. Unfortunately even they turned their nose up at some of it!

- The hotel is frequented by "older" Brits and Americans who have been visiting the resort for decades. Everyone knows everyone and there is a strange reaction to new people. We weren't bothered by this but I can imagine some people feeling uncomfortable.

- Unless you're the type of person who is interested in a 'Foliage tour' of the grounds, there's not much here for the younger person. If you're the type who enjoys jet skiing, you'll be disappointed.

- It's just a bit too far away from everything. The food is so bad you'll need to travel out of the resort, but taxis are too expensive and most would feel uncomfortable driving on Antiguan roads.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in "The Great House" for a beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 018125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    430
    156
    67
    72
See reviews for
123
756
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

They are not the ones in the water but the ones who run the Water sports !!!. Do not part with any money until you have received your goods, we found out the hard way.

Sorry for the delay in posting this review but we were hoping that the hotel would have contacted us with regard to our complaint but alas nothing so a big thank you to the resort Manager who could not be bothered to contact us. We understand that he his new to the job but good old customer service should never be forgotten.

As for the resort:
(a) Tied, run down and needs to be shut down for a good make over.
(b) Cats scrounging at the table at meal times.
(c) Poor service at Dinner and if you do not drink wine with your meal be prepared to either go without or get up and get your own from the bar.
(d) Same with Breakfast if you are a coffee drinker.
(e) Entertainment is nonexistent so expect very early nights or take a pack of cards or a good book.

We have been to this resort on a number of occasions but I am sorry to say that we will not be returning given the steady decline in both accommodation and service.

Room Tip: All over priced for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your views and we take note of the points raised in regards to your stay at Hawksbill by rex resorts.

You indeed informed me of booking a boat trip with the water sports department but later cancelled due to feeling uncomfortable with the trip. You also stated that you did not reclaim your deposit monies due to the cancellation being your own decision and not the fault of the water sports department. To add further, you stated not to address or investigate the situation until after you departed.

The water sports supervisor was called to a meeting, after your departure, and asked about the situation. He basically stated that you decided to cancel the trip without stating your decision and that the deposit was not returned due to the cancellation being your decision without further explanation.

In the future, for smoother transactions, we have decided to channel all boat trips via tour desk and no longer directly with the water sports department which is subcontracted.

Humble apologies, if you felt that I failed to handle the situation and not doing the necessary follow up by contacting you. At this point in time, if you wish, please forward your contact number so that I may speak to you directly. ( I emailed a response letter, from the address you left on the comment card, over a week ago but did not receive a reply)

We truly hope you may reconsider re -visiting Hawksbill by rex resorts in the near future and not let this incident tarnish your perception of our Resort.


Sincerely,

General Manager/ Hawksbill by rex resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolves
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

stayed in in june 2010 not the date listed below (couldn't find date on drop down).
The room we stayed in hadn't be decorated in a while may be 10-14 years but it was very tidy and cleaned daily for us.
Stayed all inclusive for 10 nights.
Has no air con in out room but had large overhead fans which were ok I suppose.
Food was enjoyable for me as an part time veggie but my partner who is a serious veggie got a little bored.
Best meals were breakfast and afternoon tea.
Lovely drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic.
Some staff very lovely and some quite miserable!
The hotel and its grounds are completely out of this world. We only ventured out of the hotel about 3 times for half day trips and 4 nights and we didnt feel that were massively missing out. The capital is about a 15 min taxi drive as some parts on the road where busy and narrow.
There is so much to explore on this hotel's grounds. We did not get bored at all. Lush gardens, beautiful beaches and nature. A few little bars to drink at.
I visited my family who were staying at the Halcyon Cove by Rex and it was lovely too but had a less natural setting. It reminded me of a very up market med hotel and was more modern with clubs for children etc.
This is still a family hotel but is a less obvious choice. If you are very outdoorsy and like entertaining your children by little walks and sea activities then here is great.
My partner and I would def take our under 5s here, they would love the gardens, plants, seeing the humming birds and the sea.

Room Tip: Stay in an air con room. Make sure you explore all the beaches. Have a few lunches out. Check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Still living in its 1960's heyday, beach chalets (variously described by other guests as "quaint" and "back packers beach cabins") very basic. Food very unimaginative and less interesting than I would cook at home. Staff very friendly, but limited beach facilities and no evening entertainment (apart from canned music). Island has little to offer except for its beaches. Overall a relaxing holiday but not in a hurry to return.
Jacki M

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Jalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

What can we say - Hawksbill is simply outstanding!! We have traveled all over the Caribbean - we were married in Tortola, BVI 26 years ago and have spent time in Mystique, Grenada, St. Lucia, St Maartin, Virgin Gorda, Grenada, Barbados, Angulla, Aruba, and many other Caribbean Islands - for the past 13 years we have found ourselves coming back over and over again to the Hawksbill - we now spend 2 weeks, twice a year at this simply fantastic hotel - it is our home away from home. Located on one of the most beautiful spots in the Caribbean, Hawksbill is far and away the best place to relax and recharge that we have ever come across. It is quiet, low key and simply outstanding. Our room is situated in a small bungalow that sits right on the beach - you literally roll out of bed onto the beach!!! Make no mistake, this is not the Ritz Carleton but rather Hawksbill is one of the nicest and friendliest resorts you will find in the Caribbean. One of the things that makes the Hawksbill such a great place is the simply fantastic staff - they welcome visitors as they would members of their own family - they CARE and they do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one - many have worked for 20 to 30 years!! Words can not describe how we feel about Hawksbill - book a stay there and you will understand - it is a slice of paradise in a world too full of stress and aggravation. We guarantee you will find yourself returning over and over again - our last stay (April 18th to May 2nd) was our 20th!!!

Room Tip: Choose the Beach Bungalows - they are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomAndMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We first stayed here in September 1990 & have just returned from our eleventh stay, having visited on a "day basis" quite often when cruising the Caribbean in winter time.
We have never seen the grounds looking better & noticed that Sylvia is still conducting her garden tours.
The food is as good as ever, with Sean still bringing new items to the dinner menu, our favourite this time being his banana & ginger soup! One of his turkey dinners was, Xmas Day excepted, probably the best we've ever had; so no qualms in that direction either.
We have always stayed on the upper floor of the main block - Superior Sea View - preferably at the reception end of the building. For this trip Ornella put us in room 20. What a superb view, of the grounds, the rock & the incoming cruise ships. As it is built on the angle, it is just possible to retain a small amount of shade on the balcony during the hot afternoon weather, another bonus.
Entertainment wise it was good to see & hear the Halcyon Steel Band twice more - as good as ever. However, the Saturday night group Axis were not up to their usual high standard ... Sad to say the female vocalist sang every note of every song out of tune for the best part of two hours ... an altogether forgettable performance on the night!
My only other criticism of the entire stay, is confirmation of other folks stated views which I read before our trip, concerning the dilapidated condition of most of the sunbeds on Eden beach. This needs rectifying rightaway please Manager John!
On the other hand,you & your wonderful staff must also take the credit for one of our best stays to date. At present I can't say when we will return to Beloved Hawksbill - suffice to say that I hope it's sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Rooms 20 to 24 in the main block are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sidandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

April 14-21.Blaine and Evelyn, Ontario, Hawksbill stay was very enjoyable, nice place to relax. Grounds were very well kept and the property is definitely one of a kind. My favorite spot was sitting on the cannon in the evening as the sun went down. Food was good and my favorite
was the butter fish at the beach restaurant. I fed the fish at the dock every
morning and enjoyed the chorus from the two 'laughing gulls' who spent time
there also. My wife bought some nice souvenirs at the windmill gift shop.

I enjoyed talking to Emanuel, one of the maintenance staff, always a smile
for us. All the staff know their job well and were polite, it's unfortunate
that the future of the Hawksbill is uncertain. Millie mixed a variety of
delicious drinks, at the Mixology class, one day at the beach bar.

We took the tour of Barbuda, through our Air Canada rep, by way of the
public ferry. I wanted to see more of this island and was glad we went. The
trip over was a wild ride, taking just under 2 hours, but everything has
it's price. Tour of the caves was the highlight, we climbed out on to the top
of the hill for a beautiful view. Frigate bird sanctuary was interesting; the
boat ride over the lagoon was refreshing and we slowed down to see the
Canadian buoy AM 52. The boat operator handed us some jellyfish as he pulled
the boat through some shallow water. Four of us ate lunch, under a crude
shelter, on the beach, with no one in site for miles. Picked up some pink
sand also. I hope Barbuda never changes.

Looking for a much more personal tour of Antigua, we rented a taxi. Goldman took
us on interesting tour: first to an organic lettuce/ fish farm, then to
visit a pottery lady, who works in her garage. I wanted to go to Betty's
Hope to see a complete sugar windmill, that was next. A zip-line brochure
caught my interest at the resort, so we both had that exciting experience
too. Goldman then took us to a relative's home for lunch, where we sampled
delicious Antiquan food. Left it up to him to pick out a spot for lunch, and
he surprised us. Next stop was Nelson's Dockyard and then on to Shirley's
Heights.We returned home by way of Fig Tree Drive, and the southern coastal road,
which I had wanted to view. I do recommend Goldman for anyone taking a taxi tour.

Last 2 days were spent exploring St.Johns, it was quiet since the cruise
ships were out. There is a museum here that has an unusual hippo skull, at
the front desk.Glad we went to the Hawksbill, I miss the singing
frogs put us to sleep every night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,732 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing