We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed on this resort for the day! Let me make this short I will never return there and thank god I was only there for the day and not the week! Listen I'm not a picky person but when I pay MONEY to be at a resort I expect that when I want to eat lunch I'm not going to be told there is no more hot food left u can order sandwiches especially when lunch hour is not over!
When I order a drink don't look frustrated or annoyed and be pleasant with the guest! Never will I recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your feedback.

We acknowledge your concerns in regards to the hours of operation for lunch and our beverage service. Lunch commences at 12:30pm and ends at 2:45pm. Not sure why you were told lunch was finished before the advertised time. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and the necessary corrective measures will be taken to prevent reoccurrence.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great shame that Rex Resorts have let down their wonderful staff. No longer worth visiting. No longer good value. Becoming run down.

One of the foul drain manholes, situated behind the bungalows, was overflowing. I have no idea how long this had been going on but it continued for three days during our recent one weeks visit. The overflow, just water, was running down to the lawn/sea edge & had not been cordoned off.

The grill in the lunchtime area was caked with black slime running down the back of the small wall it was placed right adjacent to the beach.

There was general grime in the cooking area which was used to prepare breakfasts.

The food had very considerably deteriorated in quality.

Look very carefully for other clients reports before deciding to go to Hawksbill.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faldouet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resort team appreciates you sharing your vacation experience.

Your concerns pertaining to the manhole drains and grill area are duly noted. In regards to the cuisine, ones taste for food differs considerably and Chef Sean and team provides a wholesome variety and quality of food which pleases most guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Five of us girls stayed here for a day on a day pass which was 60 USD and we found staff were rude , food stopped being served at 230 no snack bar and tea time was made of tiny sandwiches filled with cheese. Bartenders paid no mind to us when we ordered and no one ever cleaned cups off beach it was disgusting. They have to realize cruise ships come through there and people get day passes we went to other resort before the Grand Pineapple and it was amazing. So for people looking for a nice resort in Antigua find another one this is crap!!!! Remember people 365 beaches on this island so much better out there don't limit yourself to this.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sipy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team appreciates your feedback on your 'day pass' visit with us.

We acknowledge your comments pertaining to our staff and food and will make the necessary improvements.

Even though we strive to make our guests experience memorable, it was rather unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations and do hope we may be given another chance in the near future to do so.

Once again, thank you for your feedback

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Firstly, I fully understand that you get what you pay for in this life..…..but some things don't cost a lot.
I also understand that "Rex", the owners are in legal process over the renewal of the lease so that may explain some of the lack of investment.
It is clear that there are many repeat guests at this resort who find it fabulous and many of the staff are indeed a delight but our overall experience was somewhat different.
Our main disappointments were the quality of the food, especially at dinner time (large quantities of food left in "troughs" stewing away), the rather surly attitudes of come staff (including "thats not our problem" when complaining about the wifi coverage) and the wifi itself, which was often non existent and generally very patchy. Also, our room had a nosy fridge, a very squeaky ceiling fan (so couldn't leave on at night and various large insects crawling around which was off-putting.

BUT, the outdoor areas are a total delight, many of the staff are brilliant and the location is to die for.

The place just needs some tender loving care and investment to make it special again and for some of the staff to realise that a little courtesy really does cost nothing and go a long way. Good luck.

Room Tip: Pick one of the newer ones, possibly one of the sea facing bungalows?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schnozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience.

Your concerns pertaining to the food, staff, WIFI, room amenities, insects and recommendation for investment have been acknowledged.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with our outdoor areas, location and some of our service team members. We are truly committed in our strive to achieve a memorable vacation experience for all our guests and do hope consideration for a return visit will be made a reality.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback on Hawksbill by rex resorts.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife & I have just come back from what we think was our best-ever holiday. We have been to the Hawksbill many times before, (we come each year to dance in Carnival) but this was to celebrate 50 years together and my 70th birthday. For ten days of the three weeks that we were there we shared it with our whole family - 3 sons, their wives, and 9 grandchildren aged from 9 to 1 - 17 in all. Our boys had been there when they were teenagers, and we had warned them that it was not the upmarket place which they remembered, but two of them said spontaneously at the end of the holiday that they and each of their families had enjoyed it so much that they would happily return. The situation is perfect: the views are magnificent, the four beaches are each beautiful, and the grounds are maintained to a high standard. The hotel has the great (to us) advantages of having a variety of accommodation, none of it high-rise; only some of the rooms have air-conditioning (the rest rely on fans); none of them have television; and Wi-Fi is intermittent. But over the years there has been a steady, and continuing, decline in the standard of upkeep of the rooms and the food and the entertainments and facilities. Some people would be put off by the overall rundown appearance of the property, and the fact that all evening meals are buffet, and that sometimes some food at breakfast runs out. The staff, many of whom are the same as those whom we met on our first visit (in 1989), do a wonderful job in coping with the economies which are imposed on them, and compensate for the shortfalls with their warm welcomes and their memory of the idiosyncrasies of repeat guests - the hotel should be marketing itself by emphasising the fact that the staff and guests combine to produce almost a house-party atmosphere, where people immediately start chatting to the guests on the next table, or to the staff themselves. It is no surprise to us that the hotel has a higher proportion of repeat guests than any other on the island. The fourth beach, which is the furthest from the hotel, is 'clothes optional'. It stretches for more than half a mile, and is often inhabited by goats and sheep, as well as a scattering of people. Quite beautiful! We think it too should be used as a marketing tool. With a reasonable injection of money for refurbishment, it could be the best non-luxury hotel in the Caribbean; we so hope that it will not continue to go downhill!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank HUGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation exprience. We apreciate your efforts in providing us with feedback which will assist us in making our product more suitable to our clients expectations.

It was indeed a pleasure catering to your family and we are truly happy to know that your family had a memorable experience.

Your concerns in regards the rooms, the food, entertainment and overall facilities are acknowledged.

Hawksbill by rex resorts is truly unique and not only by location with the four beaches and the tropical paradise atmosphere, but also our staff. (greatest asset) Their genuine friendliness and dedication is unmatched by any other Resort on the island. Featuring the highest ration of repeat guests on island is definitely testament to our efforts in making the vacation experience most memorable.

Once again, it was indeed a pleasure having you and family here with us and we look forward to your return visit in the summer.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hawksbill by Rex, Antigua - This resorts location is 7 star ... absolutely beautiful. From there on it goes down hill somewhat! The waiting staff are helpful in a semi-grudging way but can be encouraged and then you get that Caribbean smile! The food is adequate and although boringly monotonous is plentiful. Dietary requirement are catered for willingly by Chef Sean. The all inclusive tariff works well and the local wine and cocktails flowing generously. The rooms are tired but extremely clean (superior sea view) but the sun beds certainly need replacing or having new 'canvassing' fitted. If only the owner would invest in his guests. We heard that until he is assured of his continuing lease by the land owner, he will not make any major investment. How extremely sad it would be if, when he is prepared to make his investment, there is nothing much left to invest in. Loyal guests will only take so much.
We went on four trips during our fortnight stay organised by our Virgin representative - Land and Sea, catamaran to Barbuda, helicopter trip over Monserrat and the Pelican Historical Island Tour. All were brilliant and greatly enhanced our enjoyment of the holiday, especially the Pelican trip with our wonderful guide, Alvin. A trip not to be missed.
Will we return to Antigua, almost certainly. Will we return to the Hawksbill, you bet we will! It has an authenticity, setting, charm and magic which has people returning as many as fifty-four times!!! That is something you can't put a price or rating on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biscuit28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience.

We have acknowledged your mention of our unique location; the service staff; our food selection; wine & cocktails and the cleanliness of our rooms.

The recommendations for investment and the repairs of the sun lounges are duly noted.

Your summary of Hawksbill's character and ambiance is echoed by many, especially our repeat guests who have been a temendous support and extremely loyal throughout the years.

We are indeed pleased that reconsideration for a return visit is in the making and will definitely look forward to once again making your vacation experience memorable.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having read many reviews on the Hawksbill we chose to book it as it seemed to be the perfect antidote to the usual All Inclusive hotels elsewhere in the Caribbean. We felt that it offered a more authentic Antiguan experience - and we were NOT disappointed.
As others have commented, the location is fantastic. We had a Beach Front Club bungalow on the Royal Palm beach & it was wonderful. The beach was a few steps from our door & it was very quiet - apart from Sundays when the locals party on the public beach at the end - providing a bit of local colour!
Most of the staff were a delight - but some needed a little encouragement to engage with the guests.
The food was good to acceptable. Lunch-time service could be slow at peak time - but hey, you're on holiday, what's the rush?
This is a low-key resort, well suited to lazy days with a good book & incredible views. The beaches are all good, and the grounds are big enough to be able to go for several pleasant strolls. We did walk up along the ridge above, near the mast & had a good view of Hawksbill & Galley Bay on the other side.
It is unsurprising that there are so many repeat guests - hopefully we will joining them again soon!

Room Tip: Beach Front Club bungalows on Royal Palm Beach with air-con & a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpeedbirdHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would thank you for sharing your vacation experience.

We are pleased that Hawksbill provided the vacation experience you expected. Your acknowledgement towards our staff, our unique beaches, the food and being known for repeat guest visits are truly appreciated.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.7 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
413 reviews
4.2 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
359 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £131 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, West Indies, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing