We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
St.john
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am being generous by giving this a 2 star rating. We went here last minute when we arrived 2 days early to the Island and couldn't get into our final destination hotel until the date of our reservation. The room was very shabby and barely clean, and did not have air conditioning ( apparently that does not come standard with all rooms according to the front desk). The food was safe, but that's the best I can say about it. The beach was beautiful but had worn out chairs that were very dirty. The linen was all stained, the bed was so old that you could actually feel the springs. When we left we waited for over 15 minutes past the time that somebody was to help us with our bags, finally we gave up and carried them ourselves back to checkout, which was quite the uphill hike. They never even said goodbye as we left, nothing like "we hope you enjoyed your stay". We truly were so grateful that our final destination was far superior because we would have been very disappointed with our vacation if this was as good as it got. Do yourself a service and do not stay here, it really is crummy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review.

Unfortunately we were unable to satisfy your expectations in regards our accommodation, our food, linen, beach lounges etc.

We apologise for your luggage not being picked up when requested. Our porters are usually very prompt and efficient so this incident was definitely not the norm.

Our beaches are usually praised by most especially having four to enjoy at one Resort.

Once again thank you for the feedback and take care


John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    430
    159
    67
    72
See reviews for
125
759
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from a ten day stay at the Hawksbill having visited this resort about five years ago. such a pity that such a lovely resort with wonderful staff was spoilt by such a lack of choice of food for dinner even the food that was available was of a poor quality badly presented, and often cold. I would certainly not return to the Hawksbill again unless there was some serious improvement to the choice and quality of the food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank terrynich0lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team apprecites you sharing your review.

Its rather unfortunate that you were not pleased with our cuisine. However your comments will be shared with the chef and team. Ones likes and dislikes for food will always be subjective, nevertheless, we accept constructive criticism and will make improvements where necessary to satisfy our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback and do hope we may be given another opportunity to serving you in the future.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hawksbill is a very good old fashioned basic 3 star hotel. The positive points are its fabulous setting, its four excellent beaches, good evening entertainments and bungalows close to the beach. For us the serious negative point was the attitude of most female staff which could be described as surly and non-communicative to the extent that they seldom looked at you when they spoke. This made us feel uncomfortable and not welcome. The male staff were fine. Another negative was that when it was not safe to swim in the sea - which was most of our stay - there is only a very small, old, 6 foot deep plunge pool. Also, with the crashing waves at night it is difficult to sleep without ear plugs or sleeping pills. One tip if hiring a car is to request a sat nav as there are very few road signs on the island. However, we have to say that we met many people on a return visit!

Room Tip: Rooms 54, 56, 58, 60, 62 & 64 seemed good locations to us although rooms further back from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resort team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor.

Its pleasing to know that you loved the ambiance of the Resort, the choice of four beaches, our evening entertainment selection and our cozy beachfront accommodations.

Unfortunately, you were not pleased with our female service staff and even though our staff is usually praised for their friendly service, we will share your concerns with them and definitely ensure imporovements.

We experienced a bit of rough seas for a few days and the waves were indeed much higher than normal and not pleasant to swim.

Your concern pertaining to the pool has been acknowledged.

Hawksbill without a doubt enjoys the highest ratio of repeat guests in Antigua & Barbuda which is testament to the uniqueness of our Resort by many.

Once again , thank you for your feedback and we do hope see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill buy rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Hawksbill in Antigua. Had a lovely relaxing holiday - one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to in my life.

Was a little concerned having read some of the concerns on previous Trip Advisor comments regarding the hotel. I would agree that the hotel is a little tired and the rooms definitely need some renovation, but they were cleaned every day and were perfectly adequate. Had a couple of occasions when towels were taken and new ones not brought back till the evening.

Food not gourmet but perfectly adequate and plenty of it - some of the waitresses could smile a bit more and be a little more friendly.

If you are looking for 'sandals' type luxury then this would not be for you bit if you want to get away from it all for a relaxing break then recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor.

We are pleased that you considered our beaches to be the best in your travels; the general cleanliness of the hotel and the quantity of food available to your liking.

Your concerns pertaining to towels, our waitresses and the renovations of the facility are acknowledged. Even though our service standards are very consistent and customer service experience is top priority, there is always room for improvement.

Once again thank you for sharing feedback and we look forward to a return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As I read some of the reviews of Hawksbill I wonder if we were staying in the same place!
It is in a fabulous location, beautiful beaches and the staff are warm and friendly. However, the food is terrible - no seafood, limited salads - lettuce, sweetcorn and coleslaw. Any fruit you want as long as it is melon- I think we had pineapple twice!! We visited the Seagrapes Restaurant - don't bother - a few prawns in a ramekin do not make a special meal. Banana flambe was half a banana with maple syrup and my crepes suzette were 2 breakfast pancakes with maple syrup, and we paid $10 each. The main restaurant served roast turkey, the next night gammon and then overdone roast beef - is any of this caribbean?? Lunch is a barbecue or toasted sandwiches and snacks - acceptable but repetitive. Breakfast was the best meal with eggs cooked to your choice with melon as the only fruit again. Afternoon tea was a joke - plastic cheese sandwiches and left over cake and you make the tea and coffee yourself using a broken coffee machine which once offered cappucino, expresso and latte - alas now it only dispenses hot water. As to the rooms - we had a beach front bungalow with air con - no complaints it was clean. however every day we played towel lotto - how many towels would we get? Most days none and I had to ring to get some - one day we were left with 2 handtowels and a face flannel.
It is a simple thing to get right and so annoying when they just say we don't have enough towels.
Our toilet went wrong twice - not pleasant! There is a kettle and you can make your own hot drinks - would suggest you bring your own coffee as the ones given had been damp and the coffee mate sachets were solid.Could not get clean beach towels either. There are not enough sun beds as many are broken so the early risers go out and reserve their beds - some even do it before they go to bed!! Again this could be easily remedied. I spoke to the General Manager (who couldn't be bothered to take off his mirror sunglasses) who just said they were waiting for towels and the ownwers would not replace the sunbeds. On the plus side we were allowed to keep our room till 6pm on the day we left at no extra charge. In all, if you have any doubts about Hawksbill - don't go. I know it is only 3* but you would expect the food to be better and towels and sunbeds to be plentiful.

Room Tip: Our beachside bungalow was lovely - however you cant get any drinks without going to the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team appreciates you sharing your vacation experience.

We are delighted that you were satisfied with our unique location, beautiful beaches, warm and friendly service staff, comfy and clean accommodations and our morning breakfasts.

Unfortunately we were unable to meet your expectations in regards to our overall food selection, towels and sun lounges. Even though we strive to achieve total customer in all areas, there is always room for improvement and your stated concerns will be addressed accordingly.

Once again we appreciate you sharing your feedback and we do hope you may reconsider a return visit allowing us another chance of making your vacation experience memorable.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Hawksbill in 2012 and were amazed that so many of the staff recognised us and seemed genuinely pleased to see us. On a number of occasions they said welcome home which made us feel very welcome.
When we arrived we were given a bungalow near the gate when I had requested to stay at the other end of the complex. My email had apparently not been received but they moved us to our ideal location the next day.

The best things about Hawksbill.
The location is definitely five star. Four magnificent beaches and most wonderful sunsets.
The staff are great, friendly and fun. Because of the heat they have a laid back attitude they do not rush but get the results done. You just slow down and go with the flow.

Brenda our cleaner was great she always chatted and did a good job.
The staff are very attentive and became friends again.
We can't remember all the names of them but just a few who we will always remember are David, Myra, Natasha, Adrian, Miss Jackson (trainee in the bar) who always had a great big smile for us. Everlie always ready to look after us and Hyacinth always about to help everyone.

The drinks flow and you don't need to sit with an empty glass for long.

The not so good.
The place definitely needs refurbishing as things look tired and are wearing out. We had a problem with our door lock and reported the problem and we were very pleased that it was fixed that morning.
There was evidence that things are starting to be done. A new wall was built in front of the the grill area while we were there.

OMG the bacon at breakfast is more cremated than cooked, ok if you like it very crispy and have good teeth.
Although there is always fish on the menu it never seemed to have a lot of taste.
We saw the new manager John at two formal occasions but it would have been nice to see him around a bit more in the day as the other deputy managers are very hands on and always easy to approach.

Getting out and about.
On our last visits we did the boat trip and went to see St John so we did not bother this time but we went on the Sunday to Nelsons dock yard and Shirley Heights where they had an excellent steel band and a reggae band with a great atmosphere locals and visitors all enjoying the music, barbecues and drinks.
In summary, loved the time we spent at Hawksbill.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peterg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team appreciates you sharing your vacation experience.

We are delighted to know that you were impressed with our service team being able to remember names, faces and ones likes etc. They are truly dedicated and committed to ensuring total customer satisfaction.

Hawksbill's location is indeed unique, a tropical paradise which features four beaches including Eden Beach the only clothing optional beach in Antigua.

Your concerns pertaining to the food, the Manager's presence and
the recommendations to refurbish is duly noted.

There are many exciting excursions to experience while in Antigua and the only way to experience them is to be here. Once again thank you for sharing your review and we hope you will join the repeaters club by a return visit to Hawksbill by rex resorts in the near future.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Apparently we are not welcome at this resort. It is occupied by many, lovely British folk who have been coming to this same resort for decades. The wait staff took all the fun out of it. They went so far as to turn their backs on us, in order not to have to serve us, or even speak to us. Don't know why. All of the Canadians on our flight encountered the same problem. We watched as coffee, tea, water, etc. were promptly supplied to the guests from across the ocean ... but, we had to beg for what we got (sometimes many times). We waited up to 20 minutes for a coffee. We were not allowed to serve ourselves. If this isn't bad enough ... the beer was warm; only 1 washroom available for a 300-seat dining room; no air conditioner or television or telephone in our 'superior' room; the resort was 'dirty'; the grill where our lunch was cooked was 'filthy' - greasy slime and black bits served with our food. Only thing good to say is ... 'the location is BEAUTIFUL - the beach, water and general landscape'. Too bad we were unable to enjoy it. We were uncomfortable at every meal. Please be careful when reading the reviews ... all British ones will be GOOD and all Canadian ones will be BAD. We have complained to Air Canada Vacations, who we booked through, but have yet to hear back.

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank harpo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team appreciates you sharing your vacation experience.

We acknowledge your comments pertaining to our wait staff, beer, the beach grill and the washroom facility.

The superior rooms do not feature TV's (not part of our concept) ; AC unit (ceiling fans only) and a telephone. This category is basic , however, our beachfront club rooms do have these amenities except the TV.

Hawksbill's location featuring the four beaches, along with the landscape are favoured by many and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed it too.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope you may reconsider a return visit allowing us another chance to make you vacation memorable.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,754 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing