We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We've just returned from 10 days holiday, our first time to Antigua. After reading the trip advisor reviews and seeing the photos, the resort was as we expected, and more. We stayed in the garden bungalow for 2 nights, it was too hot so we paid extra for the beach bungalow with A/C which was perfect. The rooms I would describe as 3 star with 5 star views.
The hotel is set in lovely gardens and has a charm that is rarely found. It has been commented that it does need updating, true, but it is good value and offers something uniquely special.
The 4 beaches are gorgeous, each slightly different and mostly empty. The water activities are available whenever you like which was great for us as we love snorkelling and kayaking. We saw so many beautiful fish, sting ray and even a turtle. Sean and Ralph were great and Sean really made our holiday more special.
The food has plenty of choices each day and is delicious. The bar had a good variation of drinks and water was always available from the bar or water cooler free of charge. Water from the tap was fine to drink too.
The staff as a whole are warm and engaging. The reception staff were the best we have ever met anywhere. They were efficient, helpful and just so lovely. The maid service was impeccable, returning later in the day if you were using your room and consistently leaving your room spotless. The restaurant staff service was fairly inconsistent but you need to just go with it really and accept there’s no real hurry and that some staff are just not into eye contact. The Manager was very approachable, professional and clearly cares about the hotel and all who work and stay there.
Our only issue, and it is a minor one, is that the sun loungers by the beach restaurant do need a daily clean to remove bird droppings. They presently make the beach towels mucky, keeping in mind we were keen to re-use our towels to save water, as requested.
We would certainly consider returning to this resort as it has something that other hotels do not have. We have enjoyed holidays around the world with various star ratings, particularly in the Caribbean, and this is definitely one of our favourites. Thank you to the staff at Hawksbill.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows with A/C on first beach have lovely sea view and are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank BUBBELLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you were pleased with our food selection; the services of our water sports; variety of cocktails our bar offered; the impeccable service by our room attendants and our very friendly and efficientreception staff. Our overall service team are dedicated to the task at hand and a true asset.

Your concerns in regards to some of our food and beverage servers and the cleanliness of our sun lounges are carefully noted and will be addressed accordingly.

It was a pleasure having you vacation with us and we definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

First visit to Antigua, staying at the little gem that is Hawksbill. The location, as other reviewers have said, is wonderful. Four beaches, two practically deserted during the time of our holiday (June/July). The staff were friendly and welcoming. Yes, the place is tired and worn, but it sort of adds to the charm. The food was plentiful and tasty, but don't expect fine dining. I would recommend you book a room with air conditioning as the nights were HOT. We stayed in room 314 (beach front club cottage rooms) which had a good view over Sea Grapes beach; and the terrace had welcome shade in the afternoons. John, the manager, is often around and is friendly and chatty, taking an interest in comments and dealing with concerns quickly. Our stay at Hawksbill was one of the most relaxing of our holidays - beautiful beaches, helpful staff and friendly people. I hope that if/when Rex resorts invests more money in the place they do not lose its' charm or character. We would love to return!

Room Tip: Air conditioning a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you were pleased with our deliverance of friendly and efficient service, tasty food and our unique location featuring four beaches with bungalow type accommodations outlining the seashore.

Hawksbill is a mature hotel (built in 1960) but offers a true tropical paradise and a tranquil atmosphere making the Resort an ideal location for total relaxation of body, mind and soul.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went there in November 2012, it was nice and peace full time in the rainy season but i found it absolutly perfect. Not to hot and rain in the night was just amazing after all the of sun. Hotel is quite small but with brilliant staff and very nice food. We stayed in beach bungalow and the view when you woke up was just price less. Worth to go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.

Its always a pleasure to hear that we met your expectations through our dedicated service staff, our tasty international dishes and our unique location featuring four beaches, complimented further with cozy bunbalow type accommodations along the shoreline.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.


John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

great beaches, great food, great staff. First time we have been to Antigua and it is all you expect and more. The Hawksbill resort definitely spoils you with the views and the choice of 4 beaches. All very quiet and clean. The water sports are good not normally something we try and luckily they pay attention as we had a minor mishap on a kayak and Shaun came to rescue us very quickly.
The staff in general have been there many years and there customer service is excellent has obviously not become a chore with time.David in the bar was always cheerful and attentive - its great as you rarely have to go up to get your own drinks except at the beach as the staff are always there to serve.
The all inclusive package is great enough choice and although we were meant to have A La Carte more than once in the 2 weeks - due to wedding receptions in the main restaurant area we did not miss it and if it was only buffet style all the time I am sure there would be very few complaints.
We changed rooms half way through as we booked a garden bungalow and although there is always a breeze not cool enough for us. The upgrade to one with air con was well worth it and next time would choose this straight away.
The gardens are very well maintained always kept tidy - these guys do a very good job.
Did a trip on a jeep safari and to Sting Ray City - well worth it shows you more of the island and villages and the sting rays and snorkelling were great.
The new manager John ha a lot of work he wishes to do to upgrade some of the items. I wish him well with this but hope it does not loose the charming atmosphere it has. One TV only is plenty as unless the football was on no one seemed particularly bothered making it even better.
They have a drought at present we left them with rain and i hope they get some more . When they do it is normally short brief downpours so will not affect your holiday if you experience them.
We hope to return and when we do we could not ask for anything better than a similar experience to this one .

Room Tip: the rooms around honeymoon cove are lovely- with air con . The view is great and we were lucky enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank dolphinjann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.

We are truly pleased that your first visit with us was indeed a memorable one. Our Resort's unique location features four beaches combined with the relaxing tranquil atmosphere.

Our service team, the most valuable asset, are dedicated and efficient in their duties. They do not hesitate to go the extra mile in order to provide that great service.

The kitchen team led by Chef Shawn produces a variety of quality menu choices which are delievered buffet style or a la carte.

Despite the drought conditions, the landscaping team has a done a great job in transforming and maintaining the landscape nicely. A great team

Once again thank you for the positive feedback and we certainly look forward to your return visit in the near future.

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It was our first time to Antigua and chose Hawksbill after reading various reviews on trip adviser regarding other resorts. We chose very well and we couldn't fault a thing. The location is excellent with 4 beaches to choose from. We know we chose to be in Antigua through the low season but for us it was terrific, very few children (the family that was there was great), not a lot of people. The staff don't rush around which is fine because neither would I in that heat, but they are very helpful and very friendly and polite. Hopefully if John (resort manager) keeps doing his cocktail introduction party's then all the ladies will see his blue eyes. The rooms are fine and as mentioned by a couple who enjoyed the boat trip around the island Hawksbill is one of the most attractive resorts on the island. Regarding other comments about noisy wildlife, that's what you get anywhere in the world that is near a forest and you get used to it! The whole experience was fantastic and hope to revisit again soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jonis34b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you were impresed with our location featuring four beaches; our friendly efficient service staff and our cozy n clean accommodations which dot the shoreline offering seaviews from patios and balconies. Our tranquil and relaxed atmosphere provides the ultimate Caribbean vacation experience.

Once again thank you for the review and we definitely look forward to your return visit in the near future.

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As we have been before, so we knew what to expect and as before the same friendly greeting from all the staff, a few new faces this time, some trainees as well. To ALL the staff "keep up the good work and keep on doing what you do", it is appreciated, by us.

We have found where ever we holiday / vacation that if you engage with the staff, then they will engage with you. If however if you treat the staff like something from off the bottom of your shoe (believe me I have seen this happen at various places), then you deserve the short shrift you get back from any staff member.

This time we found that Wifi had been introduced to the hotel it worked okay for the first week, then after a whole hotel power outage it was intermittant after that.

The demographic whils staying ranged from a few younger couples, some on honeymoon, who had been resited to Hawksbill from the Halcyon cove (as this was undergoing reburb) to retirees, so a mixture of ages.

Axis the band and the halcyon steel orchestra were the main entertainers throughout our stay, there was also a good keyboard player Sorry I forget his name.

This year Antigua is suffering from a drought, the island has two water desalination plants, that produce fresh water from salt water, however getting the water around the island seems to be the problem. water lorrys deliver to the hotels and dependant on how much is needed and the capacity of each lorry, it is a bit hit and miss as to when the water is delivered. During our 14 nights we encountered (at our bungalow, not sure about anyone else), 3 mornings where there was no water. Slightly uncomfortable not being able to wash in the mornings, a bit more unpleasant was the inability to flush the loos. To compound the water issue, there was a leaking / burst water pipe within the hotel complex. Chatting to a tour guide it is not unusual for the islands water supply to be cut at different times of the day dependant on which side of the island you are.

The hotel complex has an age old ongoing land lease issue, so rex resorts are seemingly unwilling to invest heavily in the hotel at the moment, there is however a reactive maintenance programme in place, whilst we stayed The sea grape grill area had replacement servery area, one of the honeymoon cove suites also had a replacement A/C unit changed out. Our room fridge went "belly up" and lost all is gas charge one evening, after ringing reception within half an hour the mainterance guy had come round, assertained that it was unrepairable and got us a repalcement fitted, you cant ask more than that for service.

John, the current manager has aspirations to have A/C ifitted in ALL the rooms, a plumbing system and electrical service all upgraded/ repaired/replaced to make fit for purpose. I wish John luck with this and hope it happens soon. I hope he sticks with the just ONE TV on site, thats what makes this hotel a holiday (only my personal view). I hope that when all this investment happens rex resorts dont throw the prices sky high. The hotel currently has a good percentage of returnees and I would hate to see the hotel lose trade with a big price increase, which could result in staff positions in jeopardy.

All four beaches are still as good as ever, yes they are all PUBLIC beaches, It don't say they are private, so you can expect locals/ horse riders (royal palm beach) / cruise visitors (dependant on season) to be there too, however with four beaches there is plenty of room. Yes, some of the beach loungers on eden beach are a bit passed their sell buy date and some maybe not fit for purpose anymore, I counted 52 loungers just on eden beach alone, with the usage whilst we were staying of around six couples. Yes there were one or two locals who engaged conversation, but where not rude, lewd or pushy, did we feel safe - yes of course.

Whilst we holidayed, the murderer Avie Howell had escaped from prison, it did appear that there was an increased security presence at the hotel, until he was found and shot dead.

Even out of main season the hotel gardeners and beach cleaners are busy keeping the whole area tidy.

This time of year Mozzies, sand flies and biting ants are prevalent, we did not bother with deet or anything else this time even though we bought them with us, yes we got bitten, although not severely.We have tried all before and it appeared that the more stuff we tried the more we would get bitten. I think it is just the luck of the draw.

I read of someone moaning that the grass was being cut at 6AM, when does the reviewer suggest the lawn is cut, during the day, when people want to use the area with the sun loungers and quietly read, during the evening where there is a good chance that all the MOZZIES will get disturbed, get annoyed and bite(especially at a time when they are most active).!!!!!

As a recommend, if you fancy getting off your sunlounger, do the Antigua adventure extreme tour well worth the trip and knowledgable crew. Best bit for us was sting ray city (best done when there is not a cruise boat on the island as the sting ray city part of the trip can be busy).
What was interesting was seeing "Sandals" resort from the speedboat looking at the beach. Denise(my wife) and I looked at each other and just said together "No, not for us" thank god we are at Hawksbill !!

A trip into St Johns is a must to see life as a local as well as a tourist,all within a short walking distance.

Some of the rooms within the hotel have a kettle, for us Brits, who like a cuppa in the morning (suggestion - take your own t-bags) and some of the rooms have a coffee maker, for the American/Canadian market,who I believe generally prefere coffee in the mornings. I am sure that if your required appliance is not in your room then the reception will be only too pleased to assist you, if asked.

All in all we had another, lovely, relaxing holiday, met some lovely guests, were served by some lovely staff, read loads and chilled out.


Each time I write a review I say "Do you research", rather than moan about your holiday afterwards, this way maybe a more positive holiday experience can be had by all.

Room Tip: Honeymoon cove room 131 overlooks seagrape beach, does not get too much sun on the balcony. All fitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DaveHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor.

We were pleased that you found our service team to be friendly and efficient. They are quite dedicated to the task and are a great asset to Hawksbill which is echoed by many guests.

Our unique location featuring four beaches with bungalow type accommodations dotting the shoreline is definitely a favourite for our numerous repeaters.

We do apologise for the mentioned days without water resulting from the islandwide drought.
Water is purchased daily but occasionally there may be a delay in the delivery which can result in low water pressure for a short period throughout the day. at present, the water pressure is back to normal.

Your reccommendation of potential customers doing a complete review of the product before confirming their next holiday destination is rather wise. Ones expectations and likes should be the guide and those chosing to come to Hawksbill will be guaranteed a tranquil atmosphere with cozy n clean accommodations complimented with efficient and friendly service staff.

Thank you, once again for sharing your review and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Well, after our experiences last year we thought long and hard about returning this year. In last year's review I mentioned how I'd saved an elderly chap at the Antigua Zip Line Centre while his wife stood by sobbing (I think it may have been laughter!) but, this year, he developed a serious case of trapped wind (to the extent that his feet were barely touching the floor) and so couldn't return. Nevertheless, we decided to give the resort another chance, especially as friends from the States were visiting.

I am so pleased that we did. It wasn't perfect, there are still issues to be addressed but I had the impression that the Manager actually did care about addressing them. And we saw enough improvements to know that we will return again. Once more, the staff were the jewel in the crown; Jeremine, Brenda, David, William, (and all of the others) all went way over and above what could reasonably be expected in order to make our holiday special. A drought (and island wide water restrictions) made things slightly awkward at times but we all seemed to cope. It's lovely to have a shower but, hey, the Caribbean is on the doorstep! The grounds, once more, were beautifully kept and a delight to walk through, full marks to the Grounds team.

As peple say repeatedly, it isn't the Sandals experience, the food isn't Cordon Bleu, there are still issues with the infrastructure but we had a most delightful, relaxing and stress free stay among friends. And that's exactly what we went for, it delivered.

It won't suit everybody, if you want a more 'refined' type of holiday or have very high expectations of your resort, this isn't for you. But if you want a wonderfully relaxing holiday among people thatc are about your stay, then this is perfect.

A couple of small gripes! There sued to be a 'party' once a week for returning guests; iot made you feel that your return was valued. That didn't happen during either of the weeks we were there and it was missed. And I would love to see mosquito netting above the beds.It would be a relatively low cost but, being quite phobic about mozzies, it would help me sleep a whole lot easier!

So, congratulations to the manager and his team, we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank john430smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor.

Our service team is definitely our biggest asset and we are pleased that you were very much satisfied with their service efforts. Our team shows genuine dedication and they do not hesitate to go the extra mile in order to please our guests.

Our Landscaping team is the newest change to Hawksbill and are doing a fabulous job with the upkeep of the Resorts grounds. They are knowledgeable in the field and their work is noticeable.

Unfortunately, Antigua is experiencing a serious drought which results in stringent water rationing procedures. Our present supply comes from the purchasing of water from a private water making plant on island. Fortunately though, the upcoming weather forecast will change the 'dry spell' and water conditions will be back to normal soon.

Your suggestion for using a bedroom net to protect from the mosquitoes while sleeping is acknowledged.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.7 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
413 reviews
4.2 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
359 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £131 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing