We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great shame.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great shame.”
Reviewed 6 February 2009

As a repeat guest at the Hawksbill for nine visits over 13 years I am sorry to have to say that the bad reviews it is getting are true now. The hotel is getting very run down and absolutely no money is being spent on it by Rex Resorts because the lease on the property is due up in about a year. But that is no excuse for not at least putting a minimum of maintenance into it and providing enough staff to keep the cleanliness and service up to a reasonable standard for the guests who will come over the next year. It is not the fault of the staff, many of whom we have got to know over the years and who are still trying quite hard under difficult circumstances.

The location and beaches and beach front rooms at the hotel have always been a wonderful asset - it truly is a beautiful location and still has that going for it. But over our last three visits the standard of maintenance and cleanliness has got worse each year. Housekeeping is as described by other reviewers. The office this year was either not staffed or a complete mess. In previous years our rooms, though shabby were cleaned well. Not this time. But when one girl is cleaning so many rooms and didn't even get to us until about 4 o'clock some days I don't think it was HER fault. Linens are ill fitting and in short supply.

When we arrived the screens in our room were in bad repair and full of holes. I mentioned it to the manager and was told something would be done. It wasn't. I then spoke to Miss Simon
( Everlie ) the assistant manager and she got them seen to. Contact her if you really need something done. She's trying hard to keep guests content.

What other reviewers have said about lamps, furnishings, water issues, state of repair etc. are all true. It's potluck. You might be lucky and get a room where everything works. You might not.

The food in the main restaurant is still OK, but service on sit down ( not buffet ) nights is slow. That didn't bother us as much as it did some other guests but the lunches are slow and of a very low standard and the beach bar restaurant where lunch is served is not at all clean anymore. The drinks staff are still managing to provide pretty good service despite everything including the break down of machines etc.

All in all it's such a great shame. A shame on Rex Resorts to still be taking people's money for such a poor standard and for expecting the staff to work so hard under such demoralizing conditions. A shame for such a beautiful location to be wasted in this way. We have loved this hotel over the years and thought of it as a comfy home away from home in a way. But it's just gone too far downhill now.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — maintenance and cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    430
    156
    67
    72
See reviews for
123
757
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Lets start with the good and get it out of the way.
Location is great. Beaches are very nice, and some of the drinks are very good. Thats about it.

We booked a garden view bunglow. Our first room was by far is the worst I have ever had to stay in. First off it was filthy. Ants were on the towels, the shower looked like it had not been bleached in a while. We asked for a King bed and got 2 double beds. They said they would change the room the next day as they had nothing that day. So we sucked it up and stayed in the room. There was only 1 lamp in the entire room that you had to get to next to the bed, the chain on the door was broken off. When we went to use the shower the first night, the shower head was broken and had no water pressure. Beyond that there was not hot water. We managed to take cold showers by using the glass to fill water from the sink. We went to sleep and were awoken in the middle of the night. Apparently they use the back of the bungalows for storage. There were men dragging things into the bungalow at 2 AM and talking very loudly.
We got through the night and got the room changed after visiting reception many many times.

The next room was initially much better. Had 2 lamps, a light switch, cleaner initially. Shower actually had hot water and water pressure. However this one a squeaky noisy fan, and toilet that would keep running. The next day housekeeping supposidly cleaned the room. We could tell they had not done any type of cleaning, all they did was make the bed and sweep the floor. None of the amenities were restocked.

Besides the room issues, other parts of the resort need updating and need to be run better.
Breakfast was ok. Lunch was terrible. The seats in the seagrapes constantly had bird crap on them, and nobody cleaning them. Lunch menu was very limited. Sit down Dinners were understaffed and very unorganized. I felt bad for many of the guests, as it seemed there was no rime or reason to when someone got served. The food was always under seasoned, and variety was limited.

Getting a beach towel was always an adventure. You have to walk to this filthy housekeeping office where sheets and towels were laying around in bags.

We met others who stayed at another Rex resort on the island and had similar experiences. All in all this place was just dated and very poorly run. The staff does the best they can.

We've been to many islands and resorts in the caribean, usually you get what you pay for, in this case we didnt even get that. Would not reccomend anyone go here.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bithedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

My wife and I spent 5 days at Hawksbill two weeks ago. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to going back. We really liked the beaches, none of them are crowded, and you can easily find a beach chair. The water is beautiful and crystal clear.
The food was very good, and it is easy to eat healthy if you want to. The only negative we could find with the meals was that some of the servers aren't very friendly; but then some were. Drinks were easy to obtain, although the female bar tenders aren't very friendly - a Smile would go along way towards improving that.
Our housekeeper (Edna) was by far the friendliest of all the staff- she had a smile for us every morning. The managrs were very pleasant and willing to take care of any problems.
We stayed in room #25 in the superior seaview rooms, and had a wonderful view of the caribbean sea.
The weather was great and the sun very warm. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy a quiet vacation by the sea, this is the place.

  • Liked — Beaches, location
  • Disliked — waitress attitudes
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We just returned from a week at the Hawksbill in Antigua. This place has a lot going for it; but improvement is needed. On the plus side, the setting of the Hawksbill is spectacular. There are four beaches (one of them clothing optional). Since the resort is spread out along the hill sides,it doesn't feel overcrowded. On any given day, you will find that you have to share the beach with one or 2 other couples. The uncrowded beaches are a plus for the resort.

I found most of the staff quite friendly. I did notice that whenever you asked for something "extra", that you typically didn't get it. Meal times could be better. Dinner started at 730pm which I thought was a bit too late. Dinner had a "cruise ship" feel to it. Everyone heading to dinner at the same time. Service in the restaurants were ok. Again, improvements could be made. Since there were so many people seated at the same time, the wait staff were quite rushed. The food was ok, not great, and not too bad. Some nights are buffet style, other nights you choose from a very limited menu. The menu also has the "good" stuff (i.e. filet mignon and lobster for an extra cost.

During our stay, roughly 90% of the guests were from the UK. Also, the majority of the guests over 65 years old. If your looking for a younger crowd, head elsewhere. Even though the majority of the guests are over 65, I don't think this resort is suited to accomodate them. The resort is spread out, and you have to walk uphill and down hill every day for breakfast and dinner.

The major area where the Hawksbill needs improvement is in housekeeping. We stayed in # 67 which I deemed quite dirty. The staff failed to dust, sweep, or mop anything. We had a little visitor one night (a roach). Purposely, I left the little fellow in the shower stall. Well, it took housekeeping 2 days to figure out that he was there. The room showed signs of wear and tear. The furniture is a mix match of "junk". It looked like the orignal furniture. We had a nice patio area, but again problems. The plastic chairs were designed for a child. We complained, and they wisked the chairs away; replacing them with two that were a bit more sturdy. Our new chairs had problems too: one was missing a strap so your behind would fall thru. Both chairs were missing cushions. Needless to say, we didn't spend a long time sitting on the patio.

Also, if you decide to stay here, but prepared for the rooster that doesn't know what time it is. Our first night he decided to crow at 2 in the morning. The 10 or so goats on the property were harmless. On our last day, I saw 7 little piglets wandering through the resort. They actually looked quite cute.

All in all, I don't know if I would stay at this place again. I loved the location of the Hawksbill as well as the beaches. The resort is a great bargain for the price. I would stay here again IF the rooms were given a makeover and if housekeeping is beefed up.

Overall, on a scale of 1 to ten, I would give the Hawksbill a 6.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

The Hawksbill Resort was much better than I had anticipated as it is rated a 3 star resort and I was aware that it was not a new resort with all the bells and whistles of many of the newer resorts. That said it far exceeded my expectations. It is a small resort on a beautiful property and it is suitable for those who would like a truly relaxing holiday. If you want lots of nightlife and an under 30's crowd this resort may not suit you. There were some families there, but most of the clientele were certainly over 45.
I had a clean, comfortable, beachfront cottage with two double beds, a walk in shower and a small porch. The waves rolling in were soothing to hear at night, along with the tree frogs and birds.
The food was very good for all the meals, the chef having won awards for his cooking. The open air restaurant served breakfast and dinner, with dinners rotating between a la carte meals or buffet style meals. The Seagrapes grill served delicious lunches and the mango chutney was especially good., as was the roti. At night and at lunch there was often island entertainment such as steel drums. The wine was good, often Chilean, and the bars served terrific drinks.
The staff were lovely as well, and engaging them in conversation, speaking to them by using their names and being friendly and polite is the only way to treat anyone!!
There are four sandy beaches at the resort, one being a nude beach, (the only one on the island) which is really a clothing optional beach, which is pretty quiet, and open to anyone who wants to walk the beach. The pool at the resort is small and not suitable for doing laps, and not great for kids, as it is all deep. There was good snorkelling on the beaches and there were kayaks and sailboats available also.
Weatherwise, it was pretty typical of the Caribbean in January. Sunny with clouds, some wind and the occasional sunshower, with temperatures in the high 20's C (80's in F).
Overall, it is a great place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, beaches, food
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I spent the week leading up to Christmas at this resort with my 80 year old mother and we had an absolutely fabulous vacation. We stayed in one of the beach bungalows, slightly away from the main hotel as I had read the recommendation on Trip Advisor and it was well worth the extra (minimal) expense. How perfect to fall asleep to the sound of the surf pouding outside your door!
Hard to rate which was best - the idyllic location, amazing staff, or great food - there was a nice mix of guests, not all honeymooners or retirees so we felt very included in all the activities. However, not too many young families (Jolly Beach just up the coastline caters more to kids I believe). Saving up for next year!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mattress not very comfortable
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Watooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I used to go to Hawksbill with my parents 40 years ago. My wife and I went to celebrate our 10th anniversary and had the best vacation of our lives. Great staff, food, beaches, accomodations. We stayed in one of the Honeymmon Cove bungalows, just wonderful. My wife declared on the second morning "We'll be coming back often". Many thanks to the folks at Hawksbill for a very memorable time

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NashvilleStudioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,735 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing