We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit and yet again it did not disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Essex
Level Contributor
213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Our third visit and yet again it did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was our third stay at Halcyon Cove in ten years. Yet again everything was brilliant and we did not want to come home. There had also been some improvements since our last visit two years ago such as the choice of food at lunchtimes. On arrival we were again met by friendly receptionists who made the check in process as quick as possible. We had a poolside room for our family of four which was kept spotlessly clean for our entire stay, housekeeping staff we found to be full of smiles and always said hello.The room was of a good size and the bathroom had a bath with a shower over it. The beach is beautiful, we used the watersports which were okay, a couple more windsurfers and sailing boats would have been nice but again the guys who ran the watersports made us feel very welcome. The hotel has a small fitness centre which we used several days, they have a couple of running machines, an exercise bike and a couple of stepmasters. We found the entertainment to be ideal for what we wanted, if you wanted to participate you could but if you preferred to sit quietly and chat over a drink you were not dragged into taking part which we liked. While we were there we had a few evenings of inclement weather which meant the entertainment was at the lobby bar rather than the Carib bar. This did mean that the lobby area was very busy and if you had a later dinner you struggled to find somewhere to sit and enjoy a drink afterwards. This is obviously not the hotels fault and they certainly did all they could to make sure everyone was comfortable.
We stayed on an all inclusive basis but ate out several times during our stay, both at lunchtime and in the evening. The food on the Warri pier at the hotel was excellent and the service and friendliness of the staff was again, in our opinion, faultless. The food in the buffet restaurant was of a good standard but for two weeks we would have been bored with it, therefore we always factor into the cost of the holiday eating out some days. Lunch was much better than our last visit with a good variety and breakfast was just as good as we remembered previously. The staff always had a smile on their face and were again always happy to chat. Even on the busier nights they coped admirably.
If you want the attentive, over the top service of some five star resorts and the countless restaurants that come with it then this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a good three star hotel on an amazing beach with very friendly, amazing staff who will feel like lifelong friends then you will enjoy Halcyon Cove.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    768
    353
    181
    132
See reviews for
406
952
71
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday to this resort. It was fantastic. We were upgraded to a pool room which is ideal as we have a son who spent most of his time in the pool. The food was great, typical caribbean service. The most important thing for us was that our son made friends and had fun so we could relax. Fenton made sure of this, and there was lots of activities organised on the beach which everyone could enjoy. We would definitely return and hope to go next summer. We loved it! Thank you to all the staff who work there as they are wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucypearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Arrived at the Halcyon Cove Hotel after reading the comments on Tripadvisor. Must agreed with most of the comments on here.
I have been to the caribbean on several occasions and found some of the experiences at Halcyon Cove to be below minimum standards. Firstly our check in was delayed due to the room not being ready (Arrival time 3pm) not a good start but hey give them the benefit of the doubt, we did receive a drink on arrival but had to give the reception my credit card for assurance that any damage to the room or bills run up against our room would be paid for!!! didn't like doing this. On entry to our room, the maid was still preparing the bed, on closer inspection the room was infested with ants (Bathroom and sink area). We complained about this but wasn't dealt with to my satisfaction. We went back to the room to find left over food in the fridge (clean room, don't think so!!!!!!!). After complaining the Duty Manager (Mario Thomas) came to our roomed, listened to our frustrations and problems and agreed that he would sort it by 2pm the following day. We slept in the room that night and true to his word we were given a much improved standard of room. Most of the staff were very polite and made us feel welcome.
All Inclusive - although the food provided was good, the selection was limited and didn't provide a varied range. Often ran out of stuff, breakfast was good (Omelette Guy awesome and was exceptionally friendly) dinner was repetitive but again nice, tea was limited and probably the worse meal of the day. Warri Pier - booked twice during the week long stay, excellent location on the beach but again didn't agree with paying for simple food like pork, steak, starters etc. Very expensive too. Ran out of chicken on our first visit but kicked off and like magic the chicken dish arrived (Not a good start) our second visit was very nice, soup and pasta dishes so pretty simple but nice.
Beach - Stunning beach with fantastic clear water, not a fish person and loved relaxing in calm waters. The walk along the beach was great and would certainly give the beach top marks. Brilliant location and the weather was excellent (Hurricane Irene had already moved on).
Entertainment - shocking really, we went to bed at 10pm most evenings but like i said we got up early for breakfast and then on to the beach so wasn't that bothered about staying up late. Just wanted something to laugh at or enjoy. Didn't get the feel of the caribbean, except for the beach and sun.
All in all a pleasant stay but needs to update certain areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davide L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrexresortsanu, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear David E
We do apologize for your room not being ready until 3.00 PM, on this particular occasion we had a large number of check outs and the flight arrived early after midday. We are putting in new procedures to minimize these type of situations happening in the future.
It is standard hotel procedure to take a credit card number upon check in for any incidentals I.E telephone calls etc.
For afternoon tea we offer a choice of Tea or Coffee, Cake, Scones and cookies I note that this was your least pleasurable dining experience and will definitely improve on this.
Thank you for your other observations we are delighted that you found our staff friendly and you enjoyed our beachfront location and hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Ive just come back to a rainy Englnd from a great hoilday where Ive chilled out for two weeks Ive re-read the comments on trip advisor and although I may well agree with sum bits that were mentioned all in all my family a I had a fantatic holiday with great staff and good food the hotel could do with re-vamping but then you would have to pay top dollar to stay in this little piece paridise. I would return here again and again this hotel screams value for money if you nead more and are neading to moan about the tree frogs being to loud or the miges biting or not enough fish in the see stick another £1500 quid on your holiday budget and moan about some where else. This is the caribean, life could not get any more laid back you might have to wait 5mins for a drink at the bar so, you have got all day, our memorys are all good .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 123p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrexresortsanu, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear 1236

Thanks for your review,

We are most delighted that you had a most excellent Holiday with great staff and good food and that you would return again and again.

As you note we are value for money in a great location friendly and relaxed…looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stayed here for a week on an all inclusive basis, we are a family of four, 2 children 10 and 12. We all stayed in one room, which was ok, clean and just big enough. Hotel is located right on the beach so great location , not much around in terms of restaurants, certainly nothing to walk to so that is why we went all inclusive. Food was ok, all buffet style, there is a waiter service restaurant but we couldnt get a booking as quite busy.

we did have meal on beach as it was my husbands birthday when we were there, this was lovely, I would recommend it, you have to pay extra but was really nice.

Staff were helpful and polite, so a step up from the hotel we stayed in the previous week in St Lucia. Tropical Storm Irene passed thourhg whilst we were there and the hotel kept us informed of its location and movement so that was good.

The beach is great here, only one small pool though so if you dont like the beach you a bit restricted.

Plenty of trips available from the hotel, we did tour of island and Stingray City.

You can also do kayaking and sailing from hotel as part of all inclusive, we did this twice with no waiting either time.

Evening entertainment was ok but bit patchy, was inside in lobby bar when weather a bit wet but then moved outside when weather cleared up, this meant it was very noisy for rooms located round bar and entertainment space outside. Not so good if you have small children I guess.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slax67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Dickenson bay is a quiet but picturesque part of Antigua with great beaches and sea shore. The hotel offers a good, but sometimes basic entertainment including watersports and bands, karaoke etc... The rooms and hotel are clean, but basic and in need of updating. The location is ok, near to the airport but most places will require a taxi or car hire to get to. What makes it is the staff who are friendly, fun and love reggae and beach cricket. Nice place but I wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake8514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Arrived for 2 weeks holiday, To stand around reception for over an hour for our rooms, was not even welcomed, Had to ask for a drink, the reception staff total ignored our arrival.
when we finally got to our rooms we had no towels, had to wait another hour Be for being able to shower, Our rooms were very shabby, and very basic, we had pool side rooms which were upgrades (just as well i did not pay extra) they seem to automatically upgrade you when you finally check in. Our other room. The bath was coming away from the wall, and the shower head from shower was full of black scale,The beach bar is YUK, Ants and sand flies everywhere,The food was good, and staff very friendly best place to eat Wari Pier restaurant. Hotel entertainment is the worst i have ever seen The hotel is in a lovely place with lovely beach But would not go back

Room Tip: Dont pay extra to upgrade rooms change holiday to somewhere else if you have booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.6 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing