We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average sums it up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“average sums it up”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Check in was slow, our first room was so dirty that I had to complain immediately and rather than having housekeeping clean the room to even a substandard state we were moved to a small pokey room which could also of been cleaner.
We asked if we could pay to be upgraded to a pool view room (as the receptionist said these were the best rooms and looked like the newer ones) to our delighted we got told we could have a free upgrade in 2 days but this never materialised.
Having said this, if your not spending that much time in your room then this hotel is fine, however if you can afford it I would opt for the Sandles resort next door when you know you'll be getting something great.

Location is fab, and the beach is amazing, particually if you walk to the end (past Sandles) where you can get away from the vendors and cruise passengers and relax on the more sedcluded part.

You will need to go All Inclusive at this hotel unless you are going to hire a car and get out and about for dinner, even if you are AI, head down the beach to Pepperz and Lime one night beacuse the food here is fab or a short walk up to Opus also great!

The night manager of this hotel is particually rude and unhelpful, we tried to check out at 3.30am to get our transfer at 3.45 however it was quite clear he was alsleep in the office as our presence at the desk was never acknowledged and when to our dismay our transfer still hadn't arrived by 4.30am and we frantically rang the rep who rang the hotel it took the manager at least 5mins to answer and come out of the office all blurry eyed. Obviously the transfer not arriving was not a reflection on the hotel but the way the manager behaved and rudley spoke to us was a huge issue when we were facing missing our flight - amoungst the comments he made included being called "man and woman" when addressing us and implying it was our fault the transfer didn't arrive??!!

We would definately visit Antigua again but whether or not we would chose to stay at this hotel is debateable, you win some you loose some.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumblebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    784
    362
    183
    136
See reviews for
417
974
71
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle on Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and I and a girlfriend have just spent a week here 27th Jan - 3rd Feb. Initially we were not given the type of room we had booked. Although it had a lovely view it was a little shabby. We spoke to Mario, one of the Managers, and on our second day were moved to the kind of rooms we had booked in the first place which was lovely. He could not have been more helpful. We cannot comment on any of the restaurants as we were not on an "all inclusive" basis and so ate elsewhere. The hotel is directly on the beach which seemed popular but we mainly spent our time around the pool area which was always quite peaceful. On the whole this is a lovely hotel, clean, tidy and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrandMrsD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just come back from two weeks at the Halycon Cove by Rex Resort (04/02/2012). We had a wonderful time with very friendly and helpful staff in a Beach Front room to which we were upgraded. The room was comfortable and clean with excellent housekeeping. Any small maintenace problems were very promptly and efficiently dealt with.
The food provided in the Arawak Terrace Restaurant and the Beachfront Carib Bar was excellent with a good variety of menus from all round the world.
I can recommend this hotel as we were very comfortable and satisfied.
The only small problem was a Mosquito and Sand Fly presence which in no way is the fault of the hotel.. They willingly sparyed our room each night while we had dinner and 'Fogged' the whole complex from time to time.
Thank you to all the staff for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Garden View, Pool View or Beachfront would be best as Standard rooms are away from the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tabard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have just returned from a perfect 2 week holiday. I just cannot understand bad reviews on this hotel. First impression was a little bit reserved as the buildings appeared a little shabby. After that things were fine, our room was a garden room perfectly comfortable, beds really comfy cleaned every day with new towels when we requested. Good strong shower with hot water any time of day, nice flat screen television (not that it was used much) we also had a good view of garden and sea beyond. The grounds were kept well and all the staff were pleasant. We have never been all inclusive but on reading reviews realised there were not many eating places nearby so thought we would risk it. In our opinion food was excellent, plenty of variations for any palate at breakfast, lunch and dinner with lovely sweets at dinner also. We are not big drinkers but tried some cocktails and local wines all were good. I cannot understand any bad comments about any part of the hotel, the staff were so friendly and cheerful nothing seemed too much bother. I must mention Charm and Fenton who kept the keep fit in pool so much fun. Entertainment was good most evenings and went off at 11 pm so no problem with noise at night. All in all it was a great holiday. Would recommend to any of my friends wish we were still there. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Second floor on garden rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra Helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrexresortsanu, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Sandra Helen,

We would like to thank you for your great review on our hotel and we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us.
We are particularly glad that we have exceeded your expectations with our comfortable rooms, our cuisine and our friendly staff especially Charm and Fenton to whom we have passed on your great comments.
Best wishes from Sunny Antigua and we hope to see you again soon as one of our many returning guests.

General manager rex resorts Antigua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmondsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just got back from our 4th visit January/February 2012. All the staff are so friendly even new staff who didn't know us couldn't be more pleasant. We had fantastic rooms it's worth upgrading to the beach ones. For a 3 star hotel this is very good value indeed. I think some people expect 5 star for 3 star prices after reading some of the reviews on this site. They really can't do enough for you. I highly recommend a visit. Gill & Roger

Room Tip: Beach front if you can go to it, - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel is beautifully situated on the fabulous sandy beach of Dickenson bay. For a 3 star resort the accomodation was of a good standard (we had a poolside room which I think are the best to go for). All inclusive worked very well, drinks were of a good standard and the wine was perfectly drinkable. We dined 4 nights on the Warri pier which was a most pleasant experience, but do book well in advance. The usual night buffets were very average, food was plentiful and of a good standard but served on a cold plate spoilt the experience.
All the staff were very friendly and attended to any problems rapidly.
Insect bites were a problem but that occurs all over Antigua. Overall a great holiday.

Room Tip: Poolside downstairs are quiet and very handy for the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdhor2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Halcyon Cove provided a perfect two week holiday for my sister and myself. The rooms were quiet and excellent for sleeping, an important consideration for us, and all seem to be accessible to the beach in swimming costume and bare feet. Both our rooms had a view of the sea and, with their balconies, were pleasant places to be rain or shine.

There were quite a few clouds, helping to protect from the sun, and it rained for short durations, often at night - rarely causing other than a few minutes hesitation in whatever we were doing. There was always a breeze, often quite strong, and there was an occasional strong squall accompanying a shower - usually preceded by a clear black-cloud warning.

The beach and swimming are first class - there are wooded hills around the bay and there was light traffic on the water, commercial and pleasure ships, sailing boats and jet skis - available for hire from the beach. Pelicans, other colourful birds and small lizards were a delight.

Taxis are readily available at the hotel and the local bus service is practical to St.Johns and from there to other parts of the island - the small bus begins when it is full at the terminal, but that proved to be quite frequently. Sailing catamaran and motor boat tours are also available at the hotel.

Most fellow guests were "all inclusive" and reported good dinners. We had our own agenda so took only the "breakfast plan" - the buffet was good. We had several good lunches on the hotel's beach-side patio and found that there were at least six non-hotel restaurants within walking distance, three on the beach - all of them good but not cheap.

The hotel is no longer brand new but service was excellent and anything that was not working was fixed quickly. It met our needs admirably. Overall a very happy holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank malcolm_mchattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
395 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing