We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this place out !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Don't be fooled by the star rating. This property gives excellent value for your money. The staff are the best you will find. Helpful in every way. Check this place out!! You won't be sorry.....
Great beach, great location. Everything you could want is right there, or a short walk away.

Room Tip: Pool view are great, faces the ocean and central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just come back from 2 weeks AI in this wonderful place! We travelled with Virgin who are always top class. Our room was looking out on the beach and although the bar was noisy at times in the evening, it closed before midnight and then all we could hear was the sea.
We did struggle with the food a bit, but we are very fussy - there was a good variation and several choices. Lunch time burgers at the beach bar were always welcome. Drink was free flowing and the local wine and spirits quite drinkable.
Staff were amazingly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. There was entertainment every night which was not our choice but everyone was having a really good time - some of the bands were not bad, the steel band gave a great atmosphere. The beach is excellent and quite exclusive as it is at the end of the cove so doesnt attract people passing through. The beach sellers were to do with the hotel mainly and were not at all pushy and were always polite and friendly. The water was lovely and warm and difficult to keep out of. There were plenty of beds although you did have to be up early to reserve them especially if you wanted an umbrella! The hotel mainly caters for english and canadians - not a russian in sight! - so the atmosphere is very relaxed and pleasant.
All in all, highly recommended, in fact we have already booked up for 2 weeks next febraury!!

Room Tip: some of the beachfront rooms are enclosed with no balcony or terrace, best to specify if you want an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Spent a week at Halcyon Cove with 2 daughters age 11 and 15. Rooms where lovely and clean and cool. Food so much choice and always cooked well. vegatatian good selection. beach is beautiful. Entertainment team are happy to help espeacilly Fenton, Michael, and Charm.
Lots of fun day and night. Plenty of tiurs organised.
Went fully inclusive and are coming back next year

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Its hard to believe after reading all these bad reviews, that i must say Rex Halcyon was a lovely Hotel. I visited there last summer and i had the time of my life. The staff is the most friendliest i have ever come across. Beach and food was awesome. Management was the most helpful i have met in a long time. One person in particular Mario or super Mario. He stopped at no length to make sure i had a good stay. His hard work needs to be highlited because he is the backbone of that resort. Keep up the good work. Oh... i have a love for tropical flowers and that was lacking so little a fine tuning in the garden aspect doesn't hurt either. See you this summer. Bringing along a few friend this time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Spent a week at this resort recently. Stay somewhere else. The place needs a complete redo. Our room was very shabby and needed to be updated. In my opinion, the property is run down and is not up to standards. The room was dirty and most of our days we had No hot water. Inexcusable!. I have never been to a resort where you are unable to get a beach towel except at certain hours, THe bar is only open at certain hours and the same with the restaurant.
Extremely disappointing and would not recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Check in was slow, our first room was so dirty that I had to complain immediately and rather than having housekeeping clean the room to even a substandard state we were moved to a small pokey room which could also of been cleaner.
We asked if we could pay to be upgraded to a pool view room (as the receptionist said these were the best rooms and looked like the newer ones) to our delighted we got told we could have a free upgrade in 2 days but this never materialised.
Having said this, if your not spending that much time in your room then this hotel is fine, however if you can afford it I would opt for the Sandles resort next door when you know you'll be getting something great.

Location is fab, and the beach is amazing, particually if you walk to the end (past Sandles) where you can get away from the vendors and cruise passengers and relax on the more sedcluded part.

You will need to go All Inclusive at this hotel unless you are going to hire a car and get out and about for dinner, even if you are AI, head down the beach to Pepperz and Lime one night beacuse the food here is fab or a short walk up to Opus also great!

The night manager of this hotel is particually rude and unhelpful, we tried to check out at 3.30am to get our transfer at 3.45 however it was quite clear he was alsleep in the office as our presence at the desk was never acknowledged and when to our dismay our transfer still hadn't arrived by 4.30am and we frantically rang the rep who rang the hotel it took the manager at least 5mins to answer and come out of the office all blurry eyed. Obviously the transfer not arriving was not a reflection on the hotel but the way the manager behaved and rudley spoke to us was a huge issue when we were facing missing our flight - amoungst the comments he made included being called "man and woman" when addressing us and implying it was our fault the transfer didn't arrive??!!

We would definately visit Antigua again but whether or not we would chose to stay at this hotel is debateable, you win some you loose some.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bumblebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and I and a girlfriend have just spent a week here 27th Jan - 3rd Feb. Initially we were not given the type of room we had booked. Although it had a lovely view it was a little shabby. We spoke to Mario, one of the Managers, and on our second day were moved to the kind of rooms we had booked in the first place which was lovely. He could not have been more helpful. We cannot comment on any of the restaurants as we were not on an "all inclusive" basis and so ate elsewhere. The hotel is directly on the beach which seemed popular but we mainly spent our time around the pool area which was always quite peaceful. On the whole this is a lovely hotel, clean, tidy and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrandMrsD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
7.3 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,906 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#8 of 16 in St. John's
1,252 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £115 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing