We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,842
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Beach Club(St. John's)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,238)
Filter reviews
2,238 results
Traveller rating
623
852
407
197
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
623
852
407
197
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarri piercarib barpier restaurantarawak terracepoolside roomaqua aerobicsdickenson baythree starshirley heightspast sandalsbeautiful beachsome tlcgreat holidaycoconut grovea bit tiredfruit punchsteel band
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,350 - 1,355 of 2,238 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Lovely location and the beach was beautiful. The sea was so blue it looks like its lit up. Staff in the hotel could not have been friendlier and after contracting a virus(not related to the hotel), the staff were more than helpful and checked on my friend and I to make sure we were ok.

Had to change room because of faulty plumbing and the staff upgraded us and gave us a free bottle of bubbly.

Food a little bit repetitive but we did venture to St John's and had a fabulous shrimp meal at Hemminways.

Big up to Charm and Fenton for great entertainment, despite being ill am looking to rebook to stay at Halcyon Cove again!

Room Tip: All rooms to a good standard, pool view good as close to all amenities.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited this hotel in 2008 and as we are now considering another holiday in Antigua felt a review was appropriate.
As a first family Caribbean holiday it was excellent. I can still recall the grin on our 7yr old daughter as we landed at the airport and she helped herself to a fruit punch and danced to the steel pans as we waited for check in ! Our room was upgraded,plenty of room but was not quite ready. Catching two men bringing in a second double bed I asked if it was possible to have two single beds which they kindly went and found .By the time we had finished checking out the beach (and our daughters having a refreshing splash in the sea) the room was all finished.
The two positives for me were the fantastic location - DIckenson bay is beautiful and the sea safe enough for the girls to spend hours in (if your children are the same don't forget to haul them out regularly for sunscreen - rash vests are really useful too) The second thing was the evening buffets, which usually operated on a theme each night. Our girls aged 7 and 10 were a bit fussy then but knowing they could try just a little at a time made them quite adventurous ! We only discovered the kids food halfway through our stay so they ate it once ! Warri Pier was a lovely experience. Food was fine. All the diners stood up to watch the rays that were splashing about one night.
Youngest daughter discovered a penchant for afternoon tea ! Yes the pier looks a little tired but how can you protect it from the elements ? I think it had character ( at least it isn't plastic looking like most of Sandals !)
St Johns is probably the best Caribbean capital I have visited.
The catamaran trip for snorkelling was a lovely experience, as was the jeep safari.
The staff were very pleasent to our daughters. Oldest daughter enjoyed limbo dancing with Fenton.
Female staff slow service at bar - they preferred to chat with the men before me .Wasn't just caribbean time !
All in all, a very successful and enjoyable holiday, and although we have since stayed in more luxurious accommodation since, the location is hard to beat, and we have very fond memories of Dickinson Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LYNNEHAMPSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Agree with others - good value 3* hotel which would benefit from some redecoration. Food quite good, but the Rex in St Lucia had more choice - same for all-inclusive drinks. Location is excellent but the beach did have some seaweed, whereas Sandals next door thoroughly cleaned the beach every morning. The sand flies are Dreadful - take and use spray. I had to go to doctor on return & am on antibiotics.
Good supply of loungers on the beach although some are broken. Pool is good, but during half-term week was occupied by children all the time.
A must-do tour is Antigua Segway - we went on the Conquerors of the Fort - brilliant value for money and they email photos for free on your return.
Rainforest zips are good fun, but they charge 30USD per person for photos & video - you are not allowed to take own camera on the zips.
Excellence catamaran trips are very good - Frigate bird colony on Barbuda is definitely worth a visit and the round island trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent 2 weeks as guests of the Halcyon Cove Resort and it was everything we expected and more. We had read the Trip Advisor reviews and they were quite accurate. The staff and management did everything they could to ensure we were enjoying ourselves. The rooms were very clean and the food was excellent. However, the lunch was very repetitive. The beach was amazing with plenty of chairs and umbrella tables.

Room Tip: Roo 220-226 were pool side and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PatandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are just back (yesterday) from the Rex Halcyon Cove in Antigua . Lunch and dinner were pretty good ,breakfast on the other hand was lacking fruit and variety .
The beach was messy with weeds & not cleaned too often ,also water is far from crystal clear - you can't see anything unless you swim far from the shore . VERY FRIENDLY STAFF THOUGH . Price is OK I guess considering this is the Carribean .
The drink selection is decent . There is not much to do on this island if you compare with Mexico or the Dominican Republic . Unless you have a big budget to spend on extras . All tours cost a fortune there ,snorkel $$ ,diving $$$ ,jeep tour $$$ .Nothing under $100 per head !
Should have went to Mexico.... also my body is covered with bites DAMN SAND FLIES THERE !

Room Tip: Beach front is $400 extra per couple but I think it's worth the expense.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPG, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Luc
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Halcyon Cove. We are delighted that you found our lunch and dinners pretty good, our staff friendly and drinks decent.
Your comments re the lack of fruits are noted but please rest assured that we do purchase as much fruits that are available locally at this time .As some varieties have to be imported we do sometime not get the variety we would like all the time.
During the past months we have had some unusual currents which have resulted in some extra seaweed. Whilst our landscape crew endeavor to clean the beach throughout the day until these tides change we cannot guarantee a totally seaweed free beach. I am happy to report that today the beach is seaweed free again. Unfortunately mosquitoes and sand flies are a few of the perils of paradise despite this we do spray the property three times a week to reduce the probability of these.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations but hope that you might change your mind in the future and return to our beautiful Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews