We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Devizes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you want to completely relax make new friends and feel like your part of a great big family where people look out for you and want you to have a good time then the Halcyon is the place to go in Antigua.
Like numerous other reviews have said the hotel could do with some money spent on it but I choose not to dwell on this as the cosmetics of the hotel isn't what makes a holiday.
My room although basic was clean and catered for my needs (small fridge, hairdryer, air con) and the view from the balcony, WOW, it still makes me smile just thinking about it.
I met and made some great friends whilst I was there who were kind enough to take me out and show me their favourite parts of the island which I absolutely loved (Half Moon Bay, Darkwood beach, Turners Beach).
Trip wise you can't go wrong with visiting Prickly Pear island owned and run by Miguel and his family a great day out with plenty to drink/eat, fanastic snorkeling and safe swimming
Finally I just want to say thank you to the staff who really make you feel at home and for which no ask is too much. They are what make this Hotel special and long may that continue.

Room Tip: If you want to be central to all amenities and still have great views then you can't go wrong wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NettyNoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    787
    364
    183
    136
See reviews for
417
978
71
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Due to a missed flight connection we were placed in the Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts for the night, even given the circumstances this was a view of hotel hell. The first room allocated was grubby and the A/C didn't work. The reallocated room was cleaner and the A/C worked but it was right next to the steel band in the bar. The management were disinterested and the facilities worn and broken.

In the room the electrics was faulty and in places dangerous the fridge rusty and the general air was of neglect. I couldn't believe it when I saw a Virgin Holiday poster in the hall area. Whatever you do if you are looking for a comfortable fun holiday in Antigua do not go to the is hotel. We have stayed on the island 4 times and there are much better places for the same or less.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbiejo4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Halcyon Cove. All staff were very friendly and helpful except one grumpy waitress. Food was very tasty and there were always meat, chicken and fish with plenty of vegetables and fruits on the buffet. We noticed the chef was working a very long hours as we saw him at breakfast in Arawak restaurant, lunch time at the beach bar and dinner in Arawak restaurant. He was very approachable and making sure everyone was happy with the food. Two visits per week at Warri Pier restaurant was included in our all inclusive plan and the food and service there was excellent. The restaurant gets fully booked quickly so I recommend you to book a table as soon as you check in to the hotel. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied. Room service was not available. The beach was very nice and there were plenty of shades and loungers for everyone. We enjoyed water sport provided by Ken onsite at the hotel beach and we had an amazing time with his boss Ashton who took us on a snorkelling trip to the reef on his boat. He was very knowledgeable and the trip was educational. We had a garden room which was a bit tired but had a very large bed with a good firm mattress. The room was very quiet away from the evening entertainment. Wireless broadband was working very well in the room which was very convenient. The room never had sunlight and was damp. All clothes put outside of the suitcase got damp and swimwear never dried. We hired a car from Jiji onsite at the hotel as his rates were competitive. Driving the island was a great fun and saved a lot of money on taxies. One thing I didn't like was that the hotel made us wear a paper/plastic bracelet that didn't come off without cutting and made a tan line on the wrist. We were told by a receptionist that we would have to pay if we lost the bracelet. Check out time was 11am but there was a hospitality room where we could take a shower before heading to the airport for an evening flight. All in all, we had a great time and would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TaniMiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

When we arrived at the resort, they welcomed us with a wonderful drink and very friendly people. The room was clean and rosebuds on our bed. At night we had dinner at the beach, it was very good and lots to choose from. A wonderful experience, having dinner and watch the fish below you. I recommend this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 641Arie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I flew here with Virgin Airways and must compliment them on their service from check in to leaving the plane it all made for a great start to a wonderful holiday. I was made to feel very welcome from the minute I checked in at the hotel Despite some previous negative comments about the rooms my room was large clean and had a great view of the pool area. The hotel does require some modernisation but when I was there I had no complaints. The food is not extensive bit there is a selection of dishes and each is cooked very well and was always tasty and warm. The chef is very approachable and was always available for a chat and took on board any comments the guests made.The option to take a couple of meals on the pier is a must as the sevice was great and choice is good but you do have to payextra for things like steak and lobster
The staff are excellent and helped make the holiday, everyone but the manager would stop and talk and the entertainment staff and bar staff go out of their way to help. The beach is marvellous white sandy but with a wicked dip as you get into the sea which catches a few people out. Walk down the beach to the water sports shack and speak to Ashton about snorkelling of the reef he is very knowledgeable ,patient and interesting guy to talk to as well as very funny.
The only downside I had with the hotel was the evening entertainment was in the beach bar area opposite my room and was very loud so no chance of a quiet evening as it’s the only bar open. They did open the bar in the lobby area one night which was great as you could eat in the restaurant then have a quiet drink and chat with fellow guests and staff

Two trips I would recommend are Shelly Jays Jeep tour of the island again he is a very knowledgeable and helpful and will tailor the tour to suit your needs but make sure he stops for pineapple and coconuts and the other is the day trip to Prickly Pear island with Miguel what a character a great little island and amazing food and cocktails remember to keep the drinks even.

I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family but remember it is a 3 star not 5 star

Room Tip: i had a pool room and the veiw was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

From the minute we arrived here we were spoilt. We had a pool side room which was very nice. Yes a little tired but this is a 3 star hotel which is what you pay for and not 5. Maintenance was being done while we were there to keep on top of everything. As with the reviewer below our first few days the food was Luke warm in the evening, but it did get better. Lunch and breakfast was always hot. This didn't seem to be an issue last year. We had 4 evening meals on the Wari pier which always feels a treat. Lunch at the Carib was soooo lovely looking onto the beautiful beach.

Entertainment was fantastic. Fenton is a brilliant entertainments host. His voice has definitely improved from last year, and his duets with Joe Anna were delightful on karaoke night but the star was Dave from Crawley who could sing the phone book. Fortunate for us he sang numerous songs. He should be a professional as he hit all the right notes. Also Errol was good singing his when I get high which had everyone laughing. Friday was a Latin American group that really got
everyone up dancing. Errol was also a good DJ

Debbie's cocktail evening was also very good. Everyone so lovely and friendly. Lovely music and food on the lawn. Couldn't get any better.

There was a storm when we were there and a lot of seaweed on the beach, which was immediately cleared and everywhere tidied up.

The grounds are well cared for and some lovely specimen trees.

The reviewer who was put up here for 1 night didn't get a full view of this place. A flight was delayed until the next morning and people were put here. They all looked pretty miserable, but wasn't the hotels fault was the carriers. When tired you can see differently.

We didn't go on any trips as we wanted to just chill out. What a place to chill out.

Thank you to all the staff at halcyon cove for making this another wonderful holiday. Special thanks to Debbie for looking after us.

Hopefully we will return next year.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from the most amazing holiday here; the beach was absolutely beautiful, food delicious, staff couldn't be more helpful. On the first day we asked to move from ground floor to 1st floor, and we moved to a slightly more modern room with breathtaking views. I could not fault this hotel, the location, food, beach and staff all superb. If you want a quiet, relaxing and romantic holiday it is perfect.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilyR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,862 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.5 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 15 in St. John's
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing