We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend some money on the complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Southminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spend some money on the complex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Found staff very helpful, but the place needs complete renovation. Hospitality suite for you to shower & change before leaving was dire. Beware the shops on the beach- we bought Susie's Hot Sauce at $12- only $6 at the airport. Didn't mind paying a bit over the top but double was a rip off

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D19ART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. We go go out of our way to ensure our guests requests are attended to. Our hospitality suite is under repairs and will take a complete facelift within a week. Unfortunately the beach vendors are not part of the resort, we do offer a gift shop at a reasonable price on the property.
Looking forward to your visit in the near future.
Best Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    768
    353
    181
    132
See reviews for
406
952
71
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Halcyon Resort from the 26th Jan to the 2nd Feb. It was something that we booked at the last minute so didn't really do any research into the property. We arrived late evening and the check in process was pretty painless but upon entering our room we were horrified. The room could be described as tatty at best. The door lock was broken, the AC didn't work and there was lots of mould in the bathroom, specifically a huge circle of it on the ceiling tile above the shower. We immediately went back to the reception, got back into the line up and waited to talk with the girl who had checked us in. Once it was our turn in line I very discretely and off to one side of the main desk explained about our room. The receptionist was extremely curt and informed us to go and sit down and wait until she had checked everyone else in. This took about 30 minutes. Once there was no one else in line I had to go back to her as she showed no interest in coming over to where she made us sit and wait. She then proceeded to interrogate me about the state of the room. At one point she asked, “so if I go to the room right now I will see mould?” She did give us another room but we felt like it was us that had done something wrong. At no point did she give any apologies. The new room was much better but still very tired. That was our first impression, which as someone who has been involved in the hospitality industry for many years knows is key!
The whole resort is very very tired and needs a major overhaul. From the laundry issues which gave us the delight of having the same bath towels four the first 5 days, only one hand towel and no face clothes, to the broken and uncomfortable pool and beach chairs.
There are a number of things that could be done by management for very little cost that would cut down a number of the complaints we heard day after day. Have enough silverware and plates for all of your guests, there is nothing worse than standing around at a buffet with lots of food but nothing to put it on or eat it with. Having your staff smile especially the front line staff in the bars and restaurants is something that cost nothing but has huge benefits. The staffing at the pool bar is extremely inadequate with people constantly waiting around either for someone to serve them or for clean glasses. One other thing you might want to consider is sending some money on low cost items such as toasters for the breakfast. Do you really think that two basic 2 slot toasters is sufficient for the whole resort?
The food its self was generally plentiful with a decent variety to cater to most people although breakfast could have been better.
The location of the hotel is amazing with beautiful beaches but we would certainly not go back to this resort under any circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and indeed for choosing Halcyon Cove for your stay in Antigua for your short stay. We do have a wonderful beach and a dedicated team. All your comments have been well received and we would assure you that we are putting an action plan in place to address all your issues and concerns.

Myself and the rest of the management team are always available so please do not hesitate to come to speak to us at any time during any future stay. I do hope that you will return so that I may the opportunity of welcoming you back personally. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.,
N. Chahwan
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Essex, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Have to give credit to the staff, very friendly and helpful. They can only work with what they've got. Our room was large and the bed a good size but the mattress was rock hard, a duvet was provided for more comfort. The room reminded me of a students bed sit with very cheap and tatty furnishings.
To secure a sun bed, you must rise at dawn and put your towels out. Many of the trees are dead around the resort, it's not pretty. The beach and sea are quite lovely.
Food is hit and miss - breakfast I think is the best meal.
If we had paid full price for this holiday, we would have cried.
Luckily the weather was fantastic, god knows what we would have done if we had to stay in our room. Wifi available, no problems.
We took a trip into St. John, don't bother, jewellery (particularly diamonds) are very overpriced. We were approached every few seconds by taxi drivers and vendors.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastwick58Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

After reading some of the reviews before we went we were a little worried, however we are pleased to be able to report that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Halcyon Beach. We were allocated a garden room and whilst the room was perfectly adequate( a good size and it looked like it had been recently painted) the outside of the building could do with a facelift and when we return we would request a poolside room. We found the beach to be excellent although there are some stony patches where you get into the water and there is a drop off when you get into the sea, once you are in the water is fantastic for swimming. The beach beds in some cases do need re-stretching or replacing and the downside is that you have to get up early to reserve a bed with shade. We didn't have a problem with the beach sellers, there were a number but the ones we spoke to were happy to leave us alone when we politely said no.
We ate at all three restaurants and found the choice and quality of the food to be a credit to Dale the head chef and a special mention must be made to Carl who did the cooking at the beach bar and nothing was too much trouble to him.
We found all the staff to be happy and friendly often enquiring how everything was and if they could do anything for us.
In short a most enjoyable holiday in a good 3* hotel and we look forward to returning there like many before us!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed January 26 to February 2nd - a good basic 3 star resort - nothing fantasy, but good drinks, food, staff. The beds are a little hard !!! Make sure you get a poolside room, if we had got a garden view, we would not have been too happy. Warning though, poolside a little noisy with the entertainment at night, but so nice and central to everything it was totally worth it !!!
Thanks to the manager for allowing us to stay in our room for an extended check out !!! One our
travel mates was really sick, and the manager really helped us out !!!
Beware of the Catamaran trip around the island, as mentioned by Kim B - way to rough, they don't tell you that at all, and we encountered 8' waves on the Atlantic side. If you get sea sick, this is not the trip to take.
All said, we had a wonderful trip and found the resort to be basic, but fun !!! Met some great people and definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Choose poolside , we had rooms 242 and 243 and found the location to be great, see above about the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We were at the hotel from 22/1-1/2, Kim b's review below says it all, my sentiments exactly, beach ok but stoney, have been to better e.g pineapple beach and galley bay. Sunbeds in dire need of either re-stretched, replaced and cleaned, didn't see the beach cleaned/raked once, debris as of cups, cigarette butts from day before, beach towels need replacing as well (when you could get one !!!!).
Room 332 was big, clean with a great view but basic, as was bathroom, but we did have hot water throughout our stay.
Beach bar area ok but scruffy at times with food scraps on floor well into
The evening. Food ok, breakfast, lunch was good evening meal hit and miss sometimes.
Re: catamaran trip, did this In 2012, friend very seasick (I was ok) but they should warn people that it can get rough on the Atlantic side. Crew thought it was funny..........we did not.
Towels in room not replaced till late in day, then was asked for a tip for delivering our towels !! This happened twice by a young trainee, we said we tip at the end of the holiday, she was not happy to say the least.
This brings me onto the staff :
Dining room, friendly,courteous, helpful,
Beach bar, surly, rude at times, ran out of beer twice took ages for them to replace barrels then it didn't work !!!!! Husband not pleased to say the least. Lunch was ok, a gentleman in front of me asked for an extra piece of fish he was told he was being greedy...........
Lobby bar in evenings a great atmosphere, Orlando the bartender was a great young man, a credit to the hotel. Reception hit and miss at times depends who was on duty, we asked to go to hawksbill for the day was told to come back on the Thursday at 8.30am then was told they were not
Taking any visitors why couldn't they have told us on the Monday when we
Previously asked.
We met some lovely friends, Tom and Pat and Tim and Lesley, thanks for the laughs in the bar in the evenings.
So come on Rex resorts, spend some money on the hotel, it's a great location could be a good 3* instead of a bad 3*, also get rid of those horrible wrist bands not necessary in my opinion, stop people reserving sunbeds at 6am, who wants to get up at 6 just for a sunbed I certainly don't . Mosquitos and sand fleas are rife, got bitten quite badly even after
Strong repellent, didn't see the hotel "fogging" once while we were there.
So come on management, hotel in urgent need of some major improvements. We will not be returning.


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyessex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was at this resort from Jan 26 - Feb 3, 2014, It was definately a three star, it was in desparate need of repair, although clean, I found that the basic necessary repairs to keep this resort up to it 3 star standard could be easily done, such as the palapas on the beach, the tables were breaking away from the post, while a simple hammer and a few nails would be a quick fix. There were hardly any garbage cans around the resort, so you see cups on the beach, which is sad. The resort is old, sidewalks are concrete and they are all pitted and old looking and they are not secure in the ground, the chairs should be cleaned once in awhile. There are huge drapes in the rooms for the patio doors, they are too large, so they hang onto the floor and fold over on the top as there is not enough hooks I would guess. The hospitality room across from mine , room , had curtains that were half up and half hanging down, a quick fix would be to have someone go in there and put them up the way they are supposed to be hung. We had no facecloths the entire week, after several complains, we received one on the last day. The hot
water was luke warm, and one day had no water for several hours. There were to many vendors on the beach one named "Michael" was quit indignant, he approached me to buy something and I answered that I already bought some, he started to rant about the attitudes of people and how rude they were, on and on. He was a nuisance. Beware of the catamarand trips around the island, although beautiful, you will come to a piece of the trip about 40 mins where the boat enters the Atlantic from the Caribbean Sea, and they direct everyone to go below, they said you will now feel the difference and boy did we, the waves were HUGE and people were terrified, some vomited and others cried, the staff handed out gravol for those who wanted it. I have never experienced anything like this, it was horrible, nobody tells you a thing about this, when you book, just prior to us entering these very rough waters, 12 people asked to get off the boat, so they pulled into a docking area and they all left the boat, I am glad because they had no idea what was to come. Please take caution and think about it before you book the all day catamaran tour around the island. The beach directly infront of our bar area was very stoney and had a large drop off when you went into the water, also the pier dining room blocks a beautiful view when you are on the beach. I did think the food was excellent, no problems with that. We found that it rained too much, on and off several times, everyday, so you were up and down running for cover. Lastly the music was sooooo loud, if you were in the pool area rooms, it was so loud you thought they were in your room.

Kim B.

Room Tip: Pool side first floor, we had room 247 was mine and it was a perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.6 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, TravelUp, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing