We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Rex is a 3 star hotel and for that it is very good value. We stayed there for 3 weeks from January 20th to February 11th and had a great time. We had a garden room which was fine, very spacious and newly painted. The a/c was a little ropey (leaked all over the balcony) but we did not really need it as it was cool at night with the balcony door open although mossie screen was not a very good fit. All rooms are near the beach which is just as well as you had to get up early to put your towel on a lounger with shade (I hate that) which was a pain but necessary when the hotel is full which it was. Swimming was great and you could have a lovely walk down to the far end of DIckenson BaY,
Service was very hit and miss and one got the impression that they couldn't really cope with a full hotel. Better management at busy times would have helped. However, the staff (with the exception of the some of the junior chefs) were always very friendly and helpful, Food was very good and I did not find it too repetive as others have suggested. Some shockingly greedy customers though! Eating on the Pier was a nice treat but you need to book this at the beginning of your stay.
There were far more plus points than negative - the hotel had seen better days and could be fabulous with a lot of money spent on it, but then you would be paying fabulous prices. As one of the previous reviewers said, your just have to enjoy the little quirks! Some of the entertainment was excellent. I refer to the amazing Fireman!
TIP: Catch the local bus to St Johns. Take the road just past Sneaky Petes, until it meets the main road. Wait until a mini bus with BUS on the number plate arrives. Cost is a fraction of the taxi fare and is a great way to meet the locals. Also had a lovely meal at the Coconut Grove restaurant down the far end of the beach.

Room Tip: The beachside rooms are lovely if you are prepared to pay the extra. Garden rooms are fine but I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for making Halcyon Cove as your vacation destination,we appreciate your input and the great comments about the staff and the food.
We always upgrading our products and offer value for your money and looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Best Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    770
    355
    181
    133
See reviews for
408
955
71
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

From day one the staff were incredible friendly and helpful, the tourist guide in the lobby (Dwayne) couldn't have been more informative. The beach was perfect and the sailing on the fun yachts was great. The beach bar restaurant was excellent. On our last night we walked up the beach to "The Coconut Grove" restaurant and had a fabulous meal, we both had lobster, I had the rock lobster and my wife had the lobster thermidor and have to say it was terrific value so I strongly recommend it if you are in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about the friendliness of our staff and we do appreciate in making Halcyon Cove as your vacation destination.
Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Best Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just got back from 10 days at the halycon.Lovely resort in a beautiful location. Excellent value for money. Room good. Food and drink excellent and good entertainment. Staff all friendly and helpful. Cannot understand negative nit picking reviews.Pay more if such petty things are more important to you!. Our room spacious for three people and clean and comfortable. Bathroom had good hot shower. But we don't go on holiday to the carribean to spend much time inside! Thank you Halycon Cove.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Joy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for the great review and it was a pleasure serving you.Looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards.

N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back Monday. 3 adults & 1 bed given, complained & it took a day to arrange another bed.

Food is good, variety is okay but it's repetitive.

Understaffed, slow service, people are more kept to themselves & not very sociable.

Water is blue with fog, but calm & fine for swimming. However, lots of rocks, watch your feet, water shoes recommended.

Barbuda excursion terrible. Atlantic Ocean very rough & you will get motion sickness, many people got sick & were nauseous.

Bring large bottled water, I did bc you pay for bottled water to keep in your room. Cups of water are free.

Plenty of rain showers right now, comes & goes till late afternoon for min's @ a time.

A lot of people trying to sell you stuff on the beach.

Stingray City, nice experience. A little unorganized but once your in the water it's fine. Sting rays are very harmless & friendly.

St. John's is good for shopping, especially duty free area, very cheap.

Overall, expect a very basic vacation & the resort is very low end so don't expect much.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pristine,it is not.
In fact in some areas it's quite rough and ready with the lack of resources ( funds are being diverted elsewhere to other projects within the resort group ) impacting on the overall appearance of the property.
But with a degree of stoicism and an acceptance that service, like much of the Caribbean , can be on the perfunctory side, there's a certain charm about this resort.
Yes,it's way past it's best and with a little imagination and money could be restored into a retro gem.
But the rooms are okay, the food is fine, the beach is superb and the drinks flow constantly.
And we found plenty of return visitors among guests attracted by the value-for-money on offer.
So, come with an open mind and a willingness to laugh at some of the idiosyncrasies and you'll enjoy yourselves.
But if you're a pecksniffian prodnose you'd be better off taking yourself and your wallet up the beach to Sandals.

Room Tip: Our garden room was fine and the upper floors also have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from 7 nights at the Halcyon Cove Resort in Antigua. When we pulled into the parking lot my first thought was "Oh, no, Howard Johnson's circa 1970!" The buildings are very tired, and seem to be screaming out "Upgrade us, please."
The rooms (we had two) are also vintage 1970, and sadly outdated. Two stars at best.
However, the beds are clean and comfortable, the linens are fresh and clean, and the TV was a large flat-screen and worked well.
We traveled with three adults and our 2-year-old daughter, and after our initial disappointment the charms of this place started to sink in.
The staff is fabulous. We have stayed in probably 75 different hotels over the decades, including many Ritz Carltons, and I give the staff at the Halycon five stars. This is based on two factors: One, they are friendly and helpful, and the place is fully staffed with gardeners, wait staff, chef, front desk, all of whom work very hard to ensure the guests have a good experience. Two, they are working against the current of outdated equipment, deferred maintenance in the extreme, and still getting the job done for the most part.
When you look at the old air conditioners in every room, the beat-up utensils and cooking equipment they have to work with, the dilapidated condition of the roofs and walls and sliding doors, the beat-up bathrooms, drains, on and on, and observe how the maintenance staff, cooks, wait staff, et cetera, work around that huge handicap, you have to give them huge props. With our 2-year-old, the proximity of the pool, the beach, and the restaurant was super, and the quality of the food was consistently excellent. The chef finds a way to change the menu for every meal, and the food is fresh, tasty and plentiful. All desserts are made from scratch and were excellent.
So, our disappointment turned to excitement, and we had a really good experience at Halcyon Cove. Would we have liked a better room? You bet. Would we have liked a spruced-up resort? Heck yeah. Our only complaint is with whomever is pocketing the massive profits this place throws off. It was fully booked and it's a large place. The owners make their staff work with a neglected physical plant so they can make lots more money, and that part is a shame.
But we'd go back, and that pretty much says it all.

Room Tip: Pool view or ocean view, ground floor, best choice for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having just returned from the Halcyon in Antigua I wanted to view my experience.
The hotel is in a fantastic location on the same beach as the Sandals Hotel, however the Halcyon is a very tired hotel needs lots of tlc, very out-dated furniture and fixings. Our room was terrible a bath that I didn't want to stand in to have a shower very stained and yellow, a small rusty fridge which stood on an old stool, dangerous wiring, I asked for a double bed but only got single ones which moved all over the floor if you tried to turn over in your sleep, could not open the patio doors (too rusty) could not see over the balconly as a very large tree was obstructing the view, the rooms needed gutting and re-starting (our room was better than some!) had to run the shower for over 15 mins to get rid of the brown water and hopefully some warm water, never clean your teeth in the water, buy bottled. The drawers in the rooms smelt musty so we did not keep our clothes in them. We had no way of making a cup of tea in the room no kettles were provided just an old rusty coffee maker which we did not touch. On saying all this we had very clean white towels and sheets and the rooms were cleaned daily by a lovely lady nothing was too much trouble for her. The staff and surroundings made up for all the problems they wanted to make your stay so happy and again nothing was too much trouble, everyone smiled all the time - and if you wanted anything you only had to ask, especially the head chef, he was willing to get anything for you if it was possible, the food was good plenty of choice not always the local dishes but it was good / hot and fresh. If I could get a better room I would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Try to ensure you get one of the updated rooms (not many available) the pool rooms or suites are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#11 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.6 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing