We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Little Canada, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This was our 4 visit to this Hotel, we first stayed here in 2012 and although the hotel needs work on I jus rather stay at the hotel the staff are superb and I meet the cutest receptionist Anita shes jus like little doll in her uniform admirer her my husband and I wanted to take her...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BitterSweet19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for the great comment about Anita and that did put a smile on her face when she read it.It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Halcyon Cove and look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Regards.

N. Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    787
    364
    183
    136
See reviews for
417
978
71
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Halcyon Cove, during march break and we enjoyed our vacation. Yes, this hotel is old and tired, the garden is not lush, but we had very good service. The staff was friendly and helpful. We reserved 4 rooms, we had 10 people in our group (family and friends) and initially we got smaller rooms that were apart. The manager, a very pleasant man, gave us better rooms that were close together. I believe these were time share rooms in the main building. They were spacious and bright. The staff was very friendly and tried very hard to entertain our teenagers (with cricket and beach volleyball) and they were fun people, epecially Fenton. The biggest advantage- the hotel is small and quiet. The beach is beautiful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Han S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
It was great hosting all of you and and pleased that everyone had a great vacation. We go beyond the call of duty to ensure that every guest concerns is dealt with immediately.
Thank you for making Halcyon Cove as your vacation destination and looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Regards.

N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our second visit to this Hotel, we first stayed here in 2011.

On arrival at reception we were given wet face cloths and a pleasant rum punch, we then set about filling in the necessary check-in paperwork after which we were escorted to our room by the porter. On entering the room we were completely thrown, the room must be the worst on the resort, it was dark, very shabby and the bathroom stank, there was no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities and the air-conditioning didn't work. Also the flat screen TV as advertised in the holiday brochure turned out to be an old box set from the 80s. The overall impression was of a dilapidated room and we did not want to unpack. I immediately went back to reception to request another room and was told that there was nothing available but to come back in the morning as there may another room available then. I returned to the room discussed this with my wife after which she went to reception to try again. Same response, try again tomorrow. At this point I would have left the hotel as we were not prepared to stay in such an awful room. However, I again went to reception to ask for a move to another room, this time the receptionist asked me to wait and disappeared into the back office, returning a few minutes later and gave me the key to another room,.

She then arranged for a porter to transfer us and our luggage and on arrival at our new room we were not disappointed, bright airy room, lovely view everything in place and working, air-con had a mind of it's own but worked well. I should also point out the we had e-mailed the hotel prior to our arrival requesting the same room as our last visit but received no response, however having had replies from other e-mails I sent I know they received it.

The strength of this hotel is it's fabulous location, spectacular beach and friendly staff although it's very tired and dated and in need of investment, it does however have loads of potential.

The food in the Arawak Restaurant and Carib grill is very good, plenty of choice to suit all, and the weekly Bar-B-Q is excellent. Breakfast in the Arawak is great with plenty of choice, such as omelettes or crepes or any other egg you fancy, Wines served for lunch or dinner are very good whichever you go for red, white or rose.

One disappointment. The Warri Pier, definitely not as good as 3 years ago. The menu now is the same as the Arawak restaurant but with less choice, there are a few extra dishes on the menu, which AI guests have to pay a lot extra for, and the starters and deserts are now buffet style. Worth a visit though just to sit over the Caribbean Sea. The staff were great especially Charleen the supervisor.

Entertainment was very good every night, from dancers to fire act to steel bands to ordinary bands, there was something to suit all tastes. Sunday was the only night without entertainment as most people go Shirley Heights.

Service in both the bars was great, Orlando in the lobby bar and in particular Dalston in the Carib bar who went out of his way to look after us.

Thanks to all the staff, in particular Fenton, who makes this hotel the happy, fun and friendly place that it is. Thanks also to Roxanne, restaurant supervisor, who warmly welcomed us back
and her friendly manner with us and all the other guests.

Beach towels very small, could do with being a bit bigger. Room towels in short supply had to ask on 3 occasions as none in room, they'd apparently run out. Take your own face cloths, they are not supplied.

Overall we had a great holiday despite the initial hiccup, just goes to show if you're not happy tell them and hopefully they can sort it for you.

Would we go again. Yes but Rex Resorts really need to invest in this property. They are doing essential maintenance at present but it needs more than a patch here and there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 301Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks and comments. We are in process of upgrading our products and we are pleased that you had a great holiday.
Looking forward to your next viisit.
Regards.

N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We absolutely loved it! Ok the rooms could do with updating but they are clean and well equipped. The food was excellent, plenty of variety and very well cooked. The staff are simply delightful, very friendly and will do anything for you. Special mention for Orlando in the lobby bar who was an excellent cocktail maker and very entertaining company. We are definitely planning another visit and are even persuading some friends to come with us as we'd like to share the experience.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool but as music stops at 11pm the music did not interrupt our sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We are pleased that you had a great holiday and thank you for your kind remarks.
Looking forward to have you as part of Halcyon Cove family in the near future.
Best Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The place is great, the staff is amazing and the security is very good. We had a room with balcony right in front of the beach, probably one of the best room on the resort so I can't tell for the other rooms.

Staff + food is great. it is a quiet place the bars close at 11h30 at night so if you're single and hope to meet someone it is not the place to go. Most of the people that go there are couples and older traveller.

Room Tip: Room 301 + 302 are the best room on the site (we were in 301)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beren66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for the great review and kind remarks. Looking forward to have you as our guest in the near future.
Best Regards.

N. Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have been going to Rex for 12 years now and only being 21, I've witnessed a lot of changes in terms of staff, entertainment, buildings, environment however this has never changed the experience of the Island and the hotel itself. Granted it is a 3* and in Antigua, not exactly the wealthiest country in the world so expect a few cranks & crannies but you take that into consideration, it's still the best holiday of the year by far. The staff are the friendliest & most helpful people you could ever meet + great with the kids if you have little ones. Entertainment is tremendous and very cultural with steel bands, fire eaters + more and even special guest appearances from former WI cricketers Curtley Ambrose & Richie Richardson.
Located in Dickinson Bay and it's tranquil surroundings you can relax all day in the sun on their glorious white beach & loungers with the Carib bar on the beach serving drinks from 10am and food from midday. Warri pier is a MUST, a restaurant located overlooking the caribbean sea, serving tea & sandwiches at 4pm for hotel guests, then a dinner serving later in the evening providing a romantic evening in one of the most beautiful night spots.
A selection of water sports from Jet skis, Kayaks, sailing etc all available as well as boat trips/catamarans to other islands, snorkelling & helicopter rides to the the local volcano Montserrat. The hotel is located on the north-west of the Island 20 minutes or so taxi ride into the capital of St.Johns where you can do a day of shopping around Heritage Quay, recommended lunch spot called "Hemmingways".
People that are critical of this hotel are those that are generally picky about the slightest of things, if that's you.. I wouldn't recommend however if you can look past the smallest of worries then this hotel and island is the place to go and I will always recommend to anyone who is heading or planning on going to the Caribbean for a holiday!

Room Tip: I recommend the beach front suites or the rooms around the pool if you have children, for the more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DT1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for being our repeat guest for many years and having Halcyon Cove as your home away from home, we appreciate your business.
Looking forward to your future visit.

Best Regards.

N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We simply refuse to even acknowledge the previous review, but just sad to say the least some customers expectations are unbelievably unrealistic. What worries me is the negative comments made about the staff at this resort especially the Duty Manager Mario. This is a staff that i would employ and recommend any day. Sincere, loyal, empathectic, could not do enough to make us feel welcomed and happy. The entertainment is enough and varied, and the activities was adequate. The beach is clean and beautiful, enough beach loungers and they were all clean and everyone of the loungers my wife and i used were very good. We travelled in a large group and the Hotel met our expectations. Every single staff had a unique and great personality, we often wondered if something was wrong with them, but we soon realized it was genuine and the Antiguan in all of them....thanks Mario for looking after us, we will be back because of you.

Room Tip: room 355 has a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Greatly appreciate your review about Mario our duty Manager who went beyond the call of duty to ensure that your vacation is a memorable one.
Visit us again and be at home away from home.
Thank you.

N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,859 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.5 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 15 in St. John's
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, West Indies, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing