We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday and cannot understand why the hotel was so quiet. We were informed that their season ended after the first week in April but the weather was perfect with just a little rain mainly at night. As a consequence the hotel lacked a little atmosphere, despite their efforts, but this was not a fault of the hotel they certainly did their best. However this had some advantages for guests - plenty of sunbeds on the beach and by the pool and no queuing up for food or drinks. We found the organised trips expensive, so arranged a tour of the island with one of the taxi drivers, Burt, phone 1268776 0792, at about half the price but with personal service who I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had one of our best holidays here and holidaying at the end of March meant the hotel and beach was quiet and spacious, I imagine at the height of the season it's not so restful. The location is fabulous, most of the staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are tired but clean, good size and comfortable. Food can be a little hit and miss particularly the undercooked vegetables. The best dishes were the food the locals eat and this is what I prefer to have when in a foreign country. Our only problem was when the air conditioning unit stopped working. I mentioned this to the woman on reception and it was immediately replaced, if only you could get such service at some hotels in Britain! The bar staff are not fully conversant with a full range of cocktails so the manager suggested I take the recipe of my favourite with me next time which is tip for anyone travelling here and something I shall do in future. Thank you to everyone at the Halcyon.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

As said by previous reviewers this hotel is in need of some serious TLC, however, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was lovely to have an insect screen door so we could leave the door open at night and hear the sounds of the sea, insects and frogs! The food was very good, (a special mention for the honey and almond slice which sorry to say we only had once despite a special request) Lisa made us lovely omelettes for breakfast and our lobster on the pier was excellent. We found all the staff friendly and pleasant, only a couple of the bar tenders were a tad long faced. Suggest you find out the cruise ship itinerary so you can book any trips on the quiet days, we spent a day out and about the island with Clarence in one of the on-sight taxi's, very enjoyable. A couple of small issues we brought to the attention of the staff, i.e. requesting fruit at lunch, all attended to very promptly. It would be lovely if the restaurant higher up was re-opened, the views were wonderful. The beach is superb, a lovely long walk several times a day. overall, an excellent holiday we will definately go back what more can I say

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We are just back from the Halycon Beach. All we wanted was a beautiful beach, beautiful weather,good food and a well earned rest. The Halycon ticked all the boxes!

We were lucky enough to have a suite which was literally 20 steps from the beach.

The Halcyon is true carribean. Simply decorated and the friendliest staff you could ask for.

Unfortunately while we there, some other guests took it upon themselves to complain about everything possible. In the end it seemed like a pathetic vendetta. We used to watch them at every meal in their little gangs trying to stir up trouble and bad feeling. One was moaning her gravy was cold another that his scrambled egg wasn't hot enough!! For gods sake look around you, your in the Caribbean!!!!! Stop moaning and enjoy your holiday. In the end it was so embarrassing we actually apologised to the head chef for their behaviour.

Truly I have eaten in some beautiful restaurants. But this is a 3 star hotel and the food was simple but beautifully cooked and fresh every day. Who wants to have gravy on holiday anyway!!!

If you want to have higher quality food and accommodation then pay double the price and go to the false Sandals down the beach . If you want true Antiguan hospitality set on a beautiful beach choose the Halcyon. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Thank you to everyone truly lovely holiday .

Room Tip: Beach front or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oakley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Here I sit with my cocktail in hand on my terrace watching the sun go down feeling very lucky to be here ! I read many of the reviews before coming out here & have been to 2 Rex resorts before so am not expecting luxury ! We got a fantastic deal through holiday genie & with Amercian airlines stopping at New York as we wanted to be able to enjoy the sunshine. It is absolutely gorgeous here the beach is stunning, the water is warm & my new profile picture is the restaurant here. What is there not to love our rooms are big & spacious, clean with plenty of storage & clean linen, the shower is good with plenty of warm water. The food has been great adequate choice, good quality & the staff are attentive & friendly ! What a setting - maybe the hotel could do with an update however it has charm in being 2 storey & not high rise ! I have worked in the hotel & catering business for many years & for me for the money I have paid there is nothing to critisise if you want luxury don't come here if you want a fabulous setting with friendly staff & good value for money then this is definitely worth a visit !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jantwickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are very pleased that you had a great vacation and thank you for the kind remarks.Looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Kind Regards.
N.Chahwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited this resort as a "beach day" excursion for a morning as an excursion from a cruise ship. We were met by Dion in the parking lot when we arrived by cab who gave us a fine welcome and escorted us to the beach to find our loungers. Having visited this same beach in Dickenson Bay last December, we knew that the beach was outstanding. The real issue was that the resort's "life guard", with only 30 minutes remaining of our stay there, decided to try to squeeze money out of us and many others around us. At one point, even though I was saying nothing, the life guard decided to threaten me and say "I will run circles around you and pound you into the sand". This was witnessed by others and everyone was appalled. Horrible behaviour, to be sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SpitfireLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Sorry to hear about your unfortunate incident which is not related to the resort..We only allow beach access to the tour operator representing the cruise ship passengers and the life guard in question represent to tour operator and Not the resort.
Hope you will choose Halcyon Cove in your future travel.
Regards.
N.Chahwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have visited Antigua many times as it is beautiful getaway from the usual English weather! When staying in Antigua we always plan our stay at the Halcyon Cove and here are the reasons why:

Pro's

-The location is excellent- beautiful sandy beach and a quick journey into the capital (St.Johns)
-The staff- friendly and always up for a chat, most of the bad reviews on here about the staff are a myth to me and many of my friends who have visited this hotel, never have I experienced rude or inappropriate behaviour towards their guests.
- The food- the food is of excellent standard, however it can get a little repetitive ddont get me wrong
-The hotels premises itself- it has a lot to offer and some things to do.
-The rooms- are of a good size but do need refurbishing

Cons
- The hotel- it needs updating and can appear a little run down
- The entertainment- is on every night except Sunday's, it gives it that Caribbean cultural flare, however it can get a little loud as you can hear it very clearly in your rooms until 11 o'clock.
-The towels- the towels are quite run down now at the halcyon but a few years ago the hotel was a lot more cleaner with them as the towels were actually bought/made by rex resorts.
The pool- the pool is quite small for the complex but why would you rather spend your time beside a pool (which you can do in any country) than be sat on the beach or having a relaxing swim in the sea
-The pier restaurant- beautiful place to eat at night however you do have to book your visit and sometimes they don't have the food you want to eat.

Overall

No this place isn't perfect, I know, but the truth is it has a lot of potential. As a reader I know you have the choice to chose weather to ignore the good and or bad reviews but some of the bad reviews are a little eccentric with what the problems actually are. So basically if you are up for an action packed holiday this is not the hotel for you, but if you want a nice relaxing break with or without your family then this IS the hotel you would want to stay at.

Room Tip: When wanting your towels washed leave them on the floor in the bathroom floor- the maids will then r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirrily_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and the pleasant remarks about the staff and the food. We do offer an A La Carte menu at the Warri Pier to our guests to choose from at an additional charge.
I can assure on your next visit you will receive a new towels with rex resorts logo.
Looking forward to your return visit at Halcyon Cove.
Regards. N. Chahwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
7.3 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,903 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#8 of 16 in St. John's
1,252 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £113 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing