We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holt”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here in the last two weeks,this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
I really do not know where to start!!!!
The staff are rude & do not want to be here,we watched them bad mouth every guest.
The chefs at lunch time were rude,wanted us to eat cold food as there were only a few guests.
The evening meal was also dreadful,you had the choice of 3 main meals,,which may I add was always COLD!!!!

Please keep away from this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    787
    364
    183
    136
See reviews for
417
978
71
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this resort. Its a bit dated, but the staff was very friendly. No room service- but there is a bar and local restaurants along the beach or take a cab to town. Antigua is very old school, so as a visitor make sure you dress decent to head into town (as in no beach attire). We did not and just so happen needed to go to the immigration office for a VISA check. They made us leave and come back because we had on "beachware" (flip flops, swimming trunks, beach. Anyhow- the cab driver was disappointed no one from his staff warned us that this would happen. Local food is delicious and definitely was a highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Just make sure you have hot water before you set all of your belongings down. We did not and had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mawli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are upgrading our products by stages and we were out of hot water for only 3 hours due to burst pipe. In Antigua when visiting Government office proper dress is required Taxi drivers are aware of it.
Looking forward to welcome you at Halcyon Cove in the near future.
Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms are a little run down, walls are paper thin. Resort could use a makeover and the food is ok. Lots to see on the island but be careful when you venture out from the resort. Do not give any deposit to the guys running the jet ski rentals. The've been know to take your money for next day reservations and fail to show up and honor their part of the agreement. This happened to 3 couples on the second last day at the resort, they gave deposits and because the jet ski guys new that tourists were departing in 36 hours and so decided to take the money and run. If you could afford it go to Sandals instead , they are next door to the Halcyon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from 14 nights here. First of all, I would like to say that I agree with all of the negative comments and I also agree with all of the positive comments.

On arrival we were allocated a ground floor garden room which, to be frank was a disgrace. The safe was broken, the furniture was rotten. A quick trip to reception and we were moved to a 1st floor garden view room which was perfect. My question is this....why put guests in a room so bad when hotel occupancy was so low? Remember - first impressions count!
Rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily with fresh towels as and when required. Some upgrading is required but I guess its work in progress.
Breakfast is superb, lunch is good (but predictable) afternoon tea on the pier is lovely and the evening buffet is well cooked but again very predictable. One comment...why not have a couple of themed nights and include themed entertainment (i.e. Spanish food and flamenco dancers etc.)
Pool area was clean, it was quiet whilst we were there so many days we had the pool to ourselves! The beach is lovely and again was quiet. There are plenty of beach vendors that are not associated with the hotel. Usually a friendly no is sufficient if you are not interested. (Apart from fat Tony selling catamaran trips, he's a pain in the bum and should be avoided. He even had the cheek to offer drugs on our first day)
Fenton, the entertainment supervisor did a good job considering the low occupancy. He was always cheerful, and keen to ensure you had a good time. Bar staff were friendly although some of the trainees could do with a lesson in smiling. Kai stood out as helpful and efficient. Margretta (one of the supervisors) was fabulous.
We did a trip with Burt the taxi driver. He is one special guy who went above and beyond the call of duty and charged less than half of the tour operator trips but delivered more in terms of knowledge and uniqueness.
We don't make a habit of visiting the same place twice but if we returned to Antigua we would certainly consider Halcyon Cove.
If you do visit please give Kevin the cat a drink of milk!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet but entertainment ends at 11.00pm so no real issue anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is showing its age with broken concrete walkways leaking roofs, poorly fitting windows and very basic accommodation. Food is basic and OK if you have fish, the beef is very poor.
This is a good cheap hotel only problem is that it is not at a cheap price.
If you get a killer deal and are not too fussy its worth a try.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank engelhardt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday and cannot understand why the hotel was so quiet. We were informed that their season ended after the first week in April but the weather was perfect with just a little rain mainly at night. As a consequence the hotel lacked a little atmosphere, despite their efforts, but this was not a fault of the hotel they certainly did their best. However this had some advantages for guests - plenty of sunbeds on the beach and by the pool and no queuing up for food or drinks. We found the organised trips expensive, so arranged a tour of the island with one of the taxi drivers, Burt, phone 1268776 0792, at about half the price but with personal service who I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had one of our best holidays here and holidaying at the end of March meant the hotel and beach was quiet and spacious, I imagine at the height of the season it's not so restful. The location is fabulous, most of the staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are tired but clean, good size and comfortable. Food can be a little hit and miss particularly the undercooked vegetables. The best dishes were the food the locals eat and this is what I prefer to have when in a foreign country. Our only problem was when the air conditioning unit stopped working. I mentioned this to the woman on reception and it was immediately replaced, if only you could get such service at some hotels in Britain! The bar staff are not fully conversant with a full range of cocktails so the manager suggested I take the recipe of my favourite with me next time which is tip for anyone travelling here and something I shall do in future. Thank you to everyone at the Halcyon.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.5 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 15 in St. John's
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Southall Travel, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing