We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed Family Vacation”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I travelled with my husband and my 15 month old during the Easter week. At first impression you will not think much of the place . As well, the hotel is not a busy place if you are looking for a party atmosphere; however, if you want a beautiful, family, relaxed vacation, then this is the place. Rooms are older but very clean. If you need any extra towels or pillows you will get them right away. Any reasonable request is fulfilled. The food is delicious. Not a lot of selection but if you prefer quality over quantity this is what you will get. The breakfast and lunch are buffets and the dinner is a la carte. There is not a lot to do after dinner but we did not care because we were in our room by 10pm since we had to put the baby to sleep.

The only downsize is that the hotel does not have cribs, only playpens. But we were really well accommodated by having a small bed added to our king size bed. Also if you care to drink bottled water you will need to purchase it, as bottled water is not included.

The beach is fantastic especially for kids because there are not a lot of waves and the water is something out of pictures. You can also go for a nice stroll on the beach to watch the most beautiful sunsets. Sandals is right next door so you will see lots of weddings on the beach. We saw 5 in a week. The weather is amazing... it is not too humid and not too hot. It is perfect.
If you want to go to town you will need to take a cab, but unless you want to see commercial jewellery store, there isn’t much to do in town. In 2 hours you have seen St. John’s.

Overall, it was the best family vacation we have been in. Both my husband and my kid absolutely loved it. I would highly recommend it if you are looking to relax and forget about the world!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suebimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and pleased that you had a great vacation.We will ensure on your next visit to have a crib placed in your room on arrival.
Looking forward to welcome you at Halcyon Cove in the near future.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    779
    359
    182
    134
See reviews for
411
966
71
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My girlfriend and I returned to this hotel for a second year as part of our trip to several locations in the Caribbean. Like other people say, if you want Sandals - go to Sandals. This is good value for an hotel in Antigua and is in a great location - the same beach as Sandals, but on a slightly quieter section.

We have again come in April, which is towards the end of the season. If you go in April, expect it to be quieter - we liked that.

One of the main reasons for coming back other than the excellent location are the fantastic staff who will go out of their way to help / entertain / be generally cheerful all the time. Dalston - at the bar, Roxanne - bar and restaurant and Fenton who does an hilariously entertaining kareoke, to name but a few. (We also visited the Rex in Grenada and can say the staff in the Halcyon are far friendlier). Little requests at the front desks (extra pillows, an iron for the room etc) were not a problem. We turned up hours early for check in and still got our room straight away and no quibble about when the wrist bands would start.

The room we got had had a new air conditioning unit installed - not a big thing in itself, but it puts paid to previous visitors comments about leaky air condition units. Our request about the room we made on the the booking dot com site we used was complied with.

The food was fine - there was a fair choice and the evening meals varied in location between the Arawak terrace and the Warri Pier. As you would expect there were plenty of Caribbean choices on the menu and on some days the evening menu was themed to include other options - for example one evening there was an Italian theme to the menu.

Drinks were good, with any cocktails available with the mix of a blender or pour of a few bottles.

I think in general the people who tend to post negative comments are the type of people who keep to themselves and don't make the effort to speak to anyone. Of the other guests we saw and spoke to, everyone seemed to be having a good holiday.

Regarding the pool - we didnt use it, but I can confirm that contrary to other comments it is cleaned in the morning (but why use it when there is a beautiful calm sea yards away?).

All in all, this is not a 5 star place and never claimed to be. It could possibly do with a bit of updating, but the facilities we used were fine and I can honestly say I was satisfied I got my money's worth. I would recommend paying extra to get a pool view room - we did both years and didn't regret it.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra to get a pool view room - we did both years and didn't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-jrn107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for something expensive like Sandals, then you are at the wrong spot. Halcyon Cove is perfect for ordinary everyday people who is not concerned with the facility, but the location is perfect and having a great time with family is priceless. I love the quality of service from the front desk with the lovely Cherbin all the way to Warri Pier with Kandice. Mom and I loved how the great women and men catered to our needs. We would like to thank Fenton, Charleen, Yvonne, Ladonia, Rashana, & Ms Heleen for their great hospitality. The dining experiences were supurb by the great Chef, & I love how the staff and crew comes together to make things happen for the guests. Mom & I also had our very own taxi driver for the week, Mr. Anderson who was so patient with us so that we could enjoy the scenic tour. The spa services were simply amazing, and having vendors on the site was convenient especially if you didn't want to go to the Heritage Quay to shop! We couldn't ask for anything more, and to the management and staff of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, we love and thank you for making us feel welcome :-)

Room Tip: If you are afraid of crabs whose home is on the ground level, then the balcony is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here in the last two weeks,this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
I really do not know where to start!!!!
The staff are rude & do not want to be here,we watched them bad mouth every guest.
The chefs at lunch time were rude,wanted us to eat cold food as there were only a few guests.
The evening meal was also dreadful,you had the choice of 3 main meals,,which may I add was always COLD!!!!

Please keep away from this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this resort. Its a bit dated, but the staff was very friendly. No room service- but there is a bar and local restaurants along the beach or take a cab to town. Antigua is very old school, so as a visitor make sure you dress decent to head into town (as in no beach attire). We did not and just so happen needed to go to the immigration office for a VISA check. They made us leave and come back because we had on "beachware" (flip flops, swimming trunks, beach. Anyhow- the cab driver was disappointed no one from his staff warned us that this would happen. Local food is delicious and definitely was a highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Just make sure you have hot water before you set all of your belongings down. We did not and had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mawli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are upgrading our products by stages and we were out of hot water for only 3 hours due to burst pipe. In Antigua when visiting Government office proper dress is required Taxi drivers are aware of it.
Looking forward to welcome you at Halcyon Cove in the near future.
Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms are a little run down, walls are paper thin. Resort could use a makeover and the food is ok. Lots to see on the island but be careful when you venture out from the resort. Do not give any deposit to the guys running the jet ski rentals. The've been know to take your money for next day reservations and fail to show up and honor their part of the agreement. This happened to 3 couples on the second last day at the resort, they gave deposits and because the jet ski guys new that tourists were departing in 36 hours and so decided to take the money and run. If you could afford it go to Sandals instead , they are next door to the Halcyon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from 14 nights here. First of all, I would like to say that I agree with all of the negative comments and I also agree with all of the positive comments.

On arrival we were allocated a ground floor garden room which, to be frank was a disgrace. The safe was broken, the furniture was rotten. A quick trip to reception and we were moved to a 1st floor garden view room which was perfect. My question is this....why put guests in a room so bad when hotel occupancy was so low? Remember - first impressions count!
Rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily with fresh towels as and when required. Some upgrading is required but I guess its work in progress.
Breakfast is superb, lunch is good (but predictable) afternoon tea on the pier is lovely and the evening buffet is well cooked but again very predictable. One comment...why not have a couple of themed nights and include themed entertainment (i.e. Spanish food and flamenco dancers etc.)
Pool area was clean, it was quiet whilst we were there so many days we had the pool to ourselves! The beach is lovely and again was quiet. There are plenty of beach vendors that are not associated with the hotel. Usually a friendly no is sufficient if you are not interested. (Apart from fat Tony selling catamaran trips, he's a pain in the bum and should be avoided. He even had the cheek to offer drugs on our first day)
Fenton, the entertainment supervisor did a good job considering the low occupancy. He was always cheerful, and keen to ensure you had a good time. Bar staff were friendly although some of the trainees could do with a lesson in smiling. Kai stood out as helpful and efficient. Margretta (one of the supervisors) was fabulous.
We did a trip with Burt the taxi driver. He is one special guy who went above and beyond the call of duty and charged less than half of the tour operator trips but delivered more in terms of knowledge and uniqueness.
We don't make a habit of visiting the same place twice but if we returned to Antigua we would certainly consider Halcyon Cove.
If you do visit please give Kevin the cat a drink of milk!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet but entertainment ends at 11.00pm so no real issue anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,703 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing