We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Hotel needs a facelift”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you're coming here for the beach, then you're in good shape, as long as you don't plan to spend any time in your room. The rooms and the rest of the facilities are rundown and showing their age.

Bathrooms have been updated recently but the water pressure is very poor. And there's little to no hot water.

The food is good to very good. Meals are offered buffet-style and there are plenty of good offerings for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. Some sort of fish is offered at every meal. The salted fish I had for breakfast was excellent.

For an all-inclusive resort, Halcyon Cove needs to offer better accommodations.

Room service is not available.

Wi-Fi is pretty much nonexistent anywhere but the lobby.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the lobby. You may be able to pick up the Wi-Fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    784
    363
    183
    136
See reviews for
417
975
71
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Strong 3.5 star for that small resort located just next to the Sandals. Very nice beach. Great location on the Dickinson Bay, 20 min to Airport, close to St. John's. We stayed with my wife at that resort for one week end of May. Was a good deal for an upgraded room with the pool view, could see the sea from our balcony. Was not crowded, low season, nice warm weather every day, practically no mosquitoes. That is definitely not a 5* hotel, - one day they gave us a dirty beach towel, another day - not a clean bed sheets and the bed was firm like a rock. The food menu practically the same every day, but was edible. The room was clean, decent size, restaurant service was good, friendly people. Nice garden. Nice pier cafe served high tea daily. Saturday was a good dinner at the BBQ party. As the same place 4 national women teams were accommodated to compete in the Caribbean Football Cup. It was a fun to see them practicing on the beach at sun rise. Overall we had a good time, would go again if the deal is right.

Room Tip: Pool view room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I'd like to start this review by making a plea to the owners of this hotel. I hear it is to close for 3 months from the middle of June. If money is to be spent on refurbishing please can it be on updating the bathrooms, getting new furniture for the rooms and renewing the main bar and grill down at the beach. I love this hotel and have been coming here for many years but have seen a steady decline in its standard and thus the number of guests in the last couple of years.

That being said let me give the reasons why you should still give this hotel a try.

The first and the biggest is the staff, I can't speak more highly of them, Roxanne and Margeretta in the restaurant, Fenton on entertainment, Doulton at the bar, these people welcome you in and make you feel like part of their family, nothing is too much bother and always done with a smile.

The location is great, Dickensons bay beach is one of the best on the island, white sand, clear blue sea, and plenty to keep you occupied, (water sports, beach side bars) and even the beach vendors will leave you alone after a brief no thank you if you're not interested the Hotel is also only 20 mins from the airport and 15 mins from the main town of St Johns

The rooms are basic and in need of some TLC but are clean and airy, new air conditioning units have recently been installed in some and in others new Safes too, the bathrooms though clean are in desparate need of updating (as I have already mentioned) and on this trip there was no hot water for a couple of days due to a burst hot water tank (which I only learned about days after the event). *Note to Manager - people react much better to issues if they're kept informed*

Places to visit whilst in Antigua are - Bettys Hope, Devils Bridge, Fryes Beach, Half Moon Bay, Darkwood Beach, OJ's Restaurant and my absolute favourite Prickly Pear Island you won't be disappointed.

Food at the Hotel is good though limited if you're use to staying in Hotels with 4 different restaurants but it suits me fine, it incorporates a little of the local foods but if you want proper local fare then you'll have to venture further afield, breakfast was my favourite meal of the day with Full English, continental, and local foods to choose from. There was also fresh Danish muffins and pancakes.

The pool on the complex is small and was cleaned everyday but who needs the pool when the sea is only 15 metres away.

There was little Entertainment in the evenings due to lack of guests but I was happy to retire early to my room most nights after a hard day relaxing in the Antigua Sunshine (though the bar was always open till gone 11pm)

So, to sum it up, if you want to experience proper Antiguan flavour, feel relaxed, comfortable and part of one big family then this is the hotel for you, if you want 3 pools, 4 restaurants, 4 bars and showcase rooms then Sandals is next door and will cost you a lot more (and you'll still be sharing the same view and beach as Halcyon). Yes the hotel needs updating. Desparately. But sometimes you need to look below the surface to see that you've found a real gem.

Lastly, if you do decide to visit and you do get any problems then ask for Devon, he's a consummate professional, very personable and does his level best to resolve the situation with very little fuss, a valuable person to have in any team.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay the extra, book an upstairs poolside room, you get great views and an large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NettyNoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Everything was excellent the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was great especially at the Warry Prier, the rooms were spacious and clean, the beach was relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kschana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visiting the Rex Halcyon Cove in Dickinsons Bay Antigua twice a year has become a habit! The most friendly and helpful staff, wonderful food, super setting on own beach. Bearing in mind it's the Caribbean with a relaxed ambience - that's why we go there - on each visit the hotel and grounds have been refurbished and my room is always spotless and any problems quickly rectified if they happen. Please don't visit this resort if you're expecting Bali sophistication or Monaco luxury, just 'don't worry, be happy' or please go somewhere else.
Looking forward to returning in November. As a matter of interest my colleague and I have been in the travel and aviation industry for 30 years, my colleague having owned a travel agency in Docklands and one in Tokyo (been everywhere man) - and we have chosen this resort and this hotel.
H and Twig
U.K.

Room Tip: We love poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squirrel069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

fortunately we only stayed at this property for a few hours. it is far below minimal expectations. food is sub-par, you would be better off sleeping at Beach - if you want any worth for your hard earned money, sorry do not select this resort. The staff is great but property needs a major overhaul. fortunately the Lobby staff was so professional and courteous and sweet. really helped us relocate under the circumstances - Be Happy you have CHEROBIN - she's the BEST.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay in this hotel. We booked with Virgin in store and this hotel was recommended to us by the staff there! We paid to upgrade our room and we were really looking forward to some luxury. How wrong we were - the room was basic to the point of being shabby, the grounds were shabby we had 3 days with no hot water (and the water was often brown) there was no atmosphere in the hotel with only about 20 guests- there was no entertainment at all during the day and hardly any at night - however the staff were friendly and helpful and also the manager was friendly and polite. We booked a lobster and champagne cruise but the rep messed up and they forgot to collect us! I couldn't wait to come home . I was also very disappointed with Virgin cabin crew - we had to divert and land in Bermuda for an unforeseen emergency (which obviously couldn't be helped) and this added an additional 5 hours on to our journey but we weren't offered any additional food or drink! All in all what was meant to be a "special" holiday was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 15 in St. John's
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
395 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, West Indies, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing