We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the bounty advert!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Broadstairs, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just like the bounty advert!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

My husband and I returned with our children (aged 2 & 10) to Dickenson Bay after spending a very memorable day here during our honeymoon carribbean cruise in 2004.

We booked a Standard Room, RO Basis. We were Upgraded to Superior Pool Room. This room was lovely although it did not have enough beds for our family. Reception was very helpful and took us along to view our new room before moving us in. Our two weeks was spent in a very spacious oceanfront apt, a stones throw away from the waters edge (room 306). Not the most modern apt but the view was heaven!!

Most people seemed to be AI. The stafff at this hotel were so laid back that most of the time they just could not be bothered to charge us for our drinks. I did try but they always said not to worry. Who needs AI???

Restaurant is very very hot so I feel sorry for any person feeling that they have to eat there twice a day. Breakfast was lovely but we were always so hot and flustered. The Coconut Grove - "A room with a View" as described by the Times newspaper (UK)was a much preffered option for breakfast and dinner.

The Beach, The Lobster Shack and the restaraunt at Tradwinds were really lovely so it seems such a shame to go AI and miss out on all this lovely places with idyllic settings.

We met so many lovely people here. The staff and local people were so friendly. They always had time for everybody, especially the kids, you really could not pick a better place than Antigua for your holiday. Our children had a holiday of a lifetime. Jake (10)and Mackenzie (2) would like to say "Respect" to everybody that they met in Antigua.

Book now - the Halcyon Cove is brilliant!!!!

  • Liked — Our Oceanfront apartment
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Littlemac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    768
    355
    181
    132
See reviews for
407
953
71
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

This was my first stay in the Caribbean, and hopefully not my last. Hotel situated on a lovely stretch of beach, nextdoor to the Sandals resort. It was a cheaper alternative to Sandals, and although clean and comfortable, the rooms could do with a re-vamp. We went for the all-inclusive which was well worth it as there were few other restaurants within walking distance. Food and staff were lovely. Entertainment was laid back and minimal, but this could reflect the fact that the hotel wasn't very busy when we were there as it was just before the more popular carnival season. Lots of trips on offer, the island circumnavigation was excellent. A good place for couples and families and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — The bed was enormous plus fully air conditioned room!
  • Disliked — The decor and furniture needs replacing.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Hamoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

I only had a week at the rex halcyon and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were excellent, good variety of restaurants and food. All inclusive had everything we needed. Room could do with updating decor but large, clean and good standard of housekeeping service.

  • Liked — large room, separate dressing area and good size bathroom
  • Disliked — dated decor but clean
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

Halcyon Cove is based in the beautiful area of Dickinson Bay in Antigua. It is situated a few paces from a wonderful beach with fantastic facilities including Jet Skiing, Paragliding, Canoeing, among many others.

The Hotel itself is average. I personally stayed in an upgraded room which had a lovely pool side view and our room came equipped with a phone, a hairdryer and a fridge. The room was spacious, fresh and modern. Bathroom facilities left a lot to be desired for, as they needed a revamp, but it's manageable to stay in. Plus, you don't spend your holiday/vacation in your bathroom, do you?

One of the main highlights of my holiday was the fantastic group of staff members. They are extremely friendly, humourous, helpful and joyful. I made friends with many of them and it seemed that they would go out of their way to help in any way possible, which made me feel at ease when staying there. The beach that the hotel is situated by is public, so anyone can use the sun beds and the sea. My only complaint about the whole holiday is the local people selling products. The majority of them would leave you alone after you have said 'no thank you', but there was the occasional Antiguan who would get a little aggressive after hearing such an answer.

Catering facilities were very good, there is a Pier which is run by the Hotel and the food was well presented and very well cooked. Other restaurants nearby (a beach bar/night restaurant called 'The Beach' was a particular favourite of the family) which all served delicious food. Prices are not cheap, and are the sort of prices that one would expect to pay if you were dining at home, and may be expensive if you are not All-Inclusive and are needing to dine out every breakfast, lunch and dinner for the duration of your stay. Catering facilities are above average at the Hotel, but I recommend venturing out of the hotel grounds for a variety of other restaurants nearby.

Entertainment and night life at the hotel is quiet, and personal, so is great for those who are needing a quiet break in the gorgeous Island of Antigua. Entertainment includes Karaoke, Quiz Nights and Live Music. However, if a loud night out is desired then the beautiful site of Shirley Heights is available with a charge for a shuttle Bus to escort you there every Sunday nights. Nightclubs are also situated around the Island if wanted.

Plans to renovate the Hotel are underway and a drastic face lift is soon to be, so watch this space, the Halcyon Cove will soon be a major contender to be one of, if not the most desired Hotel in Antigua.

  • Liked — The Staff Members
  • Disliked — Bathroom Facilities
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank xziare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

Like many reading reviews about the Rex Halcyon we were not sure what to expect but were very pleased once we got there. It seems most of the more recent reviews are reflecting that the hotel is improving all the time. The location is already excellent but the room we stayed in was also very nice with everthing we required and more.

Our booking was room only and although it may cost a bit more in the long run, we enjoyed being able to go out to different restaurants. We tried the Arawak Terrace in the complex, where most of the all-inclusive meals are based, once and although the choice of food was good, it wasn't that great in terms of quality. The restaurant itself was also very humid and there wasn't much of an atmosphere.

Of those outside we visited we would highly recommend the Beach, Pari's Pizza, Coconut Grove and particularly the Lobster Shack. This last one was a very short taxi ride from the Halcyon but was worth it for the setting (right on the beach) and the excellent food. Unfortunately they don't seem to get the business they deserve being a bit hidden away but if you see Wesley handing out flyers on the beach, take his advice and check it out!

Overall, Antigua is a beautiful island with friendly people and something for everyone and the staff and facilities at the Halcyon are perfect as a base from which to explore or stroll straight onto the beach.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room towel service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

My family and I stayed at the Halcyon Cove for the week for my aunts wedding. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! The staff was awesome and helped you with whatever you needed. We did the all inclusive and it was well worth it! The food was okay. Breakfast and dinner were really good, but the lunch was okay. The beach was absolutely breath-taking and the activities loctated on the beach were so much fun! The wedding was really cool. Since it was a destination wedding it was really different from the traditional wedding. But different is always good! The staff was really helpful in making my family, especially the bride, feel comfortable. I read some reviews before I went down and I was expecting a crappy looking hotel with bad service and Sandals resort just towering over the little hotel. HOWEVER! My friend and I walked down the beach and I didn't even know that the hotel next to ours was sandals. I was not impressed at all! But anyways, the people of Antigua are very friendly! They say hi to you and are willing to have a conversation with you! I absolutely loved my vacation down in Antigua and can't wait to go back there!!!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank honest1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottingdean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2007

Stayed at this hotel after recommendations.
Ok it's a 3 star, so as the saying goes, you gets what you pay for.
The location was fantastic, right on a wonderful beach in beautiful Dickinson Bay.
The hotel itself left a lot to be desired, very tired looking, and could seriously do with some money being pumped into it.
On the plus side were the staff and food, these were fantastic and the saving grace off staying at this hotel.
The staff are extremely friendly and so so helpful, having stayed at top quality hotels before and found the staff rather clinical, the staff at the rex make you feel like one off the family.
By all means try the rex, but don't expect much from the accomodation.

  • Liked — staff and quality off food
  • Disliked — tired decoration
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mr.whitey!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#11 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.6 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, West Indies, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing