We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly An All Inclusive Luxury Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have been to the Sandal's St Lucia and at first did not think that it would have the same standing. It exceeded our expectations in every way. If you like snorkeling, we did it 5 times at 5 different locations, one was a ship wreck. If you like a variety of dining experiences, there are 13 different experiences from Japenese Steak House to lobster, Carribean.

The room, beach side suite, was fabulous.

Highly recommend this one, it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aggiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,973 - 3,979 of 6,874 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from the Sandals Grande Antiguan and loved the property and everything about it. This was our third time to the Sandals Antigua and found that the property has greatly improved from our last visit about five years ago. The food in all of the restaurants has greatly improved in quality as welll as variety. The service has also greatly improved since our last visit. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The beach was beautiful as well. The staff for the most part was very friendly and gracious. However, some of the tours they offer are better priced if you seek a taxi driver. Sylvester was our taxi driver and her was great. The rooms are all well maintained and very clean. I give this property two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Choose the Hibiscus group of rooms. Very quit and pool right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was our 5th time to Antigua, first time to Sandals, all of the above points were brilliant, the varieties of the restaurants and the standard of food was some of the best we have found and we have done many All Inclusive - 4 & 5 Star hotels.
Loved the coffee shop, we tried all of the restaurants apart from OKCoral and found all of them very good, friendly staff and good choice on the menu. Loved the sushi bar being able to try all the different fish, good to go for an apertiser before your evening meal. Breakfast in Mario's was excellent and not your usual canteen that you often get in other hotels when it is a buffet, it was never that busy but think this is because you can go to other restaurants for breakfast.
We stayed in the Mediterranean side and had a great room with a good selection of drinks in the mini bar, lovely big bathroom, small balcony and big comfy bed, everything worked.
A lot of people were moaning about not having free wi-fi for the price of the hotel and if we had needed wi-fi we would have felt the same, most hotels now do not charge for it so thought it was a bit mean to charge so much.
Liked the choice of a several swimming pools, some were very quiet if you wanted that, the large pool was a bit noisy but most people seemed to gather around this pool.
Did not use the gym, but took part in the aqua aerobics but found this was disappointing, could have burned up more energy walking to the bar and back, would be okay for people over 75 who wanted to do a little workout. Beach was nice, it fails not to be in Antigua but not the best beach on the island, personally prefer the smaller coves that tend to be a bit more exclusive to the hotel even though all of the beaches on this island are public.
I would def recommend this resort to everyone, just go if you like good food, good service and a nice clean, pretty resort. JUST GO!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aruba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Went to Sandals, Anitgua from 4-16 through 4-23 for our honeymoon. The resort was AMAZING!!! Food was phenomonal staff was amazing. We booked the rondoval ste with plunge pool and butler service. Everything was immaculate our Butlers Maureen and Craig were the BEST that we could ask for. I highly recommend this resort to anyone especially for your honeymoon. I could have not asked for a better honeymoon location!!! Spa was great as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just returned from Antigua vacationed from 4/21-4/28. My husband and I had a relaxing wonderful vacation. It was our first trip to Antigua and not disappointing. It was beautiful-beach was nice-resort was gorgeous. We opted to stay in Romeo and Juliet suite with butler service. The room was a little disappointing as furniture was rather worn looking. Our butlers were Wendell and N'Kosi. They were both wonderful made our trip. I dont think we would have enjoyed it as much had we not splurged for this because they made all reservations and saved pool chairs, brought us snacks in the afternoon etc. Overall Elanors was wonderful for dinner and we did the beach dinner which was also great. There were some bad things like service at some of the places but overall not worth complaining about. Would go back if could request my same two butlers!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 499kel499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to the Sandals in Antigua and it was amazing. We had the best time! The staff was amazing and very helpful. We loved all the excursions we went on, the best one was the xtreme circumnavigation. We got to go around the whole island and swim with the stingrays. Our tours guides were fun and outgoing. I cannot wait to go back, we are coming up on our one year and looking to save to go next year!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Sandals Antigua in January 2012. I’m 63, have traveled the world for business and pleasure and this was the finest vacation I (or we) have ever had for just relaxation. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite (without asking for an upgrade). We were on the second floor overlooking a large, private pool (shared with a dozen units). The open area around the pool was completely enclosed by the most beautiful tropical plants and followers imaginable. For our deck above the foliage we could see the ocean. This was a real Garden of Eden stetting.



The entire staff was pleased you were there. I’ve never been anywhere everyone was so happy. Every one of the restaurants was excellent. We are talking $100 + meals in the states (only better – and all part of the package).



If you’re younger or looking for nightlife, there is a large new hotel with a pool on the beech that could easily accommodate 500 people if that is your thing. There is always something going on somewhere but if you’re seeking everyday adventure, going places and seeing things perhaps Antigua is not the place. It hasn’t been invaded by corporations, builders or other development. Great views and places to see on a trip around the island.



For those that want to kick back, swim, drink by the pool, read, feel the trade winds, walk a beautiful beach and discover the most relaxing place on the planet, this is it. If you like large hotels, a new one is there for you. If you want to go back in time to immaculate rooms buried in the lush gardens and simply enjoy being alive in paradise you will find that here. All rooms have a full bar…if a staff member is passing by and you happen to be out of rum, just mention it and you will have another bottle in your room in no time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,885 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,338 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £202 - £1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing