We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing.....”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at this resort the staff is super friendly and I must commend the bartenders at the pool bar they are the best. The food at barefoot restaurant was great and dinner at Mario's was emaculate

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Davia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,877
    1,662
    595
    333
    249
See reviews for
159
5,553
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We love staying at Sandals and Beaches resorts. Sandals Grande Antigua is beautiful, the rooms are exquisite (at least in the Mediterranean Village where we stayed). The staff was very kind and helpful. We SCUBA dived every day. The dives down the coast were much better than the shallow dives in the bay.

We got snowed in and had to stay at another all inclusive (Jolly's Resort). The difference was night and day. Sandals truly shined!

We will continue to visit the various Sandals as we have always been treated well, the rooms have always been excellent, the staff friendly and the "no tipping" policy is delightful.

Room Tip: The newer Mediterranean Village looked to be in better shape than the Caribbean Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

For our honeymoon, we chose Sandals in Antigua because it was a locale that neither of us had ever visited, and because the reputation of Sandals is that it is ideal for couples, and especially relaxing because of its all-inclusive nature; we wanted a vacation in which no decision-making or planning was necessary, as we'd done so much of that when planning our wedding. The first week was relatively good. The food was certainly not stellar, but we were fed. The beach was close to perfect (with the exception of peddlers swarming us with jet ski and fishing trip offers,) and the pool was relaxing. It was extremely difficult to find chairs at the pool and the beach throughout our stay, which was a bit annoying each day, but it wasn't a tremendous issue. Housekeeping also proved to be an issue; I had to leave a note each day with instructions such as, "please leave more shampoo and bar soap," or "please fix the sink drain," (as it jammed shut each time our room got cleaned.) On our eighth day there, things took a turn for the worse. At the main pool, a large group of couples (about 10 or 12 people) arrived and completely disrupted the peaceful, relaxing, and luxurious precedent that had been set during our first days there. They were rowdy, and as the tequila shots flowed, their raucous behavior escalated. At times, one would go to the swim-up bar and yell across the expansive pool to his friends, demanding that they do more shots. They would also shout over to the wait staff around the pool, complaining that there were no good lunch choices. The group also joked around about all the illegal drugs they were offered on the beach, and how they'd like to buy some and give it out to the other hotel patrons. At one point, one of the gentleman went inside the hotel building, ascended to the top of the tower, and was yelling to the group in the pool, approximately 1,000 feet away. The group responded with a loud, resounding, "Wooooooo!" The hotel went from being a luxurious and relaxing paradise to a trashy back-yard hoedown with the arrival of this group. My husband and I, who had purchased a cabana for the day and were therefore forced to stay in this environment, first asked our waitress to ask them to settle down. She refused. I then asked a security guard to help, but he refused as well, saying his role was to make sure non-hotel guests don't enter the property from the beach. So we went inside and asked to speak with a manager. We were sent to speak with Brett, the general manager of the hotel. His response was that he'd spoken to them when they were behaving this way in the lobby, but that was all he could do, as they paid to stay at the hotel also. He did give us our cabana fee back, and suggested we go to one of the other pools at the resort. He also suggested we ask other people to complain, as that might persuade him to do more. We were with 2 other couples (who had also rented cabanas) when they had called and complained earlier, but he insisted he hadn't heard of any other complaints. This response by management was unsatisfactory. The following day, we attempted to go back to the pool, and it was nearly the exact same experience. We did attempt to go to some of the other pools there, but they were much smaller and therefore had no chairs available, and both were completely in the shade. The service, overall was poor as well. We ordered several drinks from our cabana on the several days that we'd rented one, and they never came. When we checked in, our jacuzzi in our room wasn't working, and when we called to have it fixed, we were told they'd be right up to fix it. It was not fixed until the following night. Turndown service would come at 6:00 each night, and on the third night when I asked them if they might come back later because we were showering and getting ready for dinner, she showed me her list of rooms that she had to do, explaining how she had so much work to do. Overall, our impression of Sandals was somewhat sour. Being that we'd never been to a Sandals resort, we were excited about the reputation it carries; relaxing, luxurious, service-oriented, etc. We felt that the staff there was inconvenienced when asked for anything, and the management was incompetent when asked to help with a problem. It is unlikely that we would return to this or any Sandals, and we will encourage our many friends who are getting married to look elsewhere for honeymoon options.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank Sara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Sara.
We regret to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your honeymoon stay at Sandals Grande Antigua. We are disappointed that while you had a good time, there were some aspects of your trip that did not seem to meet the high level of service that we expect each guest to receive when staying with us.
I have sent you a private message for a few additional details so that I can follow up with the resort management team.
We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I just returned last night from a fabulous vacation at Sandals Grande Antiqua. One word will describe our experience 'Amazing'. We stayed in the Mediterranean Village, their newest hotel there. Totally awesome, one of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in at properties such as Sandals. The staff there was incredible, all very friendly and always helpful with a smile on their face. I especially want to thank Ken, the host at Mario's Italian restaurant there. He was most friendly, made sure we were pleased with our service and meal, and he is quite the wine expert! :) Thanks Ken!

We will say that the food quality was less than we expected. A few dishes were 'very' good, most of the food was average, and only a very few dishes were really bad. So that is an area they can improve on.

Anyway, we highly recommend Sandals Grande Antiqua for a wonderful R&R vacation! All in all extremely nice!

Room Tip: We first were given a room that had a palm tree right smack dab in the middle of our ocean view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello and thank you for your review, Wayne!
We appreciate you taking the time to share a bit about the wonderful time you had at Sandals Grande Antigua. We truly value our guests' feedback as we realize there is always room for improvement and will be sending your suggestions to our Food and Beverage Team for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the butler suite poinsettia building. We could hear the waves in our room which was relaxing and nice. The Caribbean side is a little dated but the building we were in looked newer. The staff was all very nice. Room 711 was our room and I would recommend that or any thing close to that number. They had some good vegetarian food options and they have soy milk so I was happy. Mario's had the best breakfast and dinner but ur inside in what looks like the Cheesecake Factory. Bayside was the better view but the food options were not as grand. Dinner was nice there. Eleanor's as my husband put it was pretty much the same food but smaller portions. Kimonos was scary some of the rolls are pre-made we skipped the hibachi. My husband liked the steaks thought the lobster was cooked to death at Eleanor's. I had the veggie roti which was delicious at Eleanor's. Oh and don't forget the pizza they serve on the side of Mario's and the French little bakery on the other side. The drunken duck smells like a drunken wet duck not sure what's going on there. They do have a nice beer selection though. Had lunch everyday at barefoot they had a nice salad and tofu nugget things that were good. Oh and they also have good fries!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We escaped Christmas and winter for a week of sun & sand in Antigua. We stayed in the Caribbean part of this resort and believe we made the right choice. The Caribbean part is a little older but our room was clean and felt big enough. We had a walk-out room and were five steps from a pool that was rarely used (except by us) and another five steps away from the beach. We were also close to most of the restaurants. We did walk over to the Mediterranean side which was larger,newer and more of a party atmosphere. We are usually beach people and while there were an okay number of chairs on the beach, I was unable to stay on the beach due to the noseeums. I was getting quite a few bites and had to retreat to the pool area. We've been to the Caribbean several times and to places where other people were getting bitten but this was the first time it happened to me. My husband was fine. It was not a big problem as our chairs on the patio faced the ocean. We swam in the pool and the ocean almost everyday. I did not find the water was crystal clear as other places in the Caribbean. We had heard concerns from others about the locals bothering guests by trying to sell them things. We did not find this a problem. The sellers were usually happy that you took a look at what they had to offer and they did not hassle you to buy. I was impressed with the quality of the food at this Sandals. We've stayed at another Sandals and did not find the food to be great but it was pretty good here for all our dinners and we ate at every restaurant except Mario's. Lunches were a little more hit and miss. Drinks were always good - especially the Mojitos! I'd recommend the Caribbean rooms if you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing beach vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KerrySudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review, Kerry!
We are so pleased that you had an amazing time at Sandals Grande Antigua and enjoyed celebrating your holiday with us. It was our pleasure to have had you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our 2nd visit and we loved it even more. This time we stayed in the mediterranean tower which we preferred from the caribbean side. The view and privacy in the tower was perfect for us. The staff, fantastic. The resort, pool, beach, etc are perfect and kept immaculate. Our only issue, which had nothing to do with sandals, was the waldadii catamaran day cruise, which was the day cruise from hell. It's advertised as a ride to a beach party with snorkeling. Well, you are the boat for over 2 hours, on the beach for 45 minutes, lunch is on the boat, and then 3 hours to get back, on very rough seas I might add. The spa at sandals is a perfect way to end a day. Also, we were here for New Year's Eve and sandals through the perfect party, great food, NSC and fireworks.

Room Tip: We were in 7608 which was perfect for us. It's a grand luxe mini type of suite with separate sho...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sundancesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello and thank you for your review.
We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your second stay at Sandals Grande Antigua and that you had a great time exploring all that the resort has to offer!
We look forward to welcoming you back and to creating many more unforgettable moments with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
612 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing