We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great time !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great time !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a great time this past week at Sandals Grand Antigua. We traveled with a group of friends and met them at the resort. The ride from the airport was 15/20 minutes and we where met at our lobby by the Sandals staff and began the check-in process. Checking in took about 15 minutes and we were off to our room along with our bags and then the fun could begin. We stayed in a Mediterranean Walkout Club Level Suite with a short walk to the main pool.

The overall resort is beautiful and the beach is well worth it's top 10 beaches in the word rating. We stayed mostly at the main pool during the day at then it was off to play some volleyball in the afternoon at the other pool and the sand pit. The playmakers where active but there were not has many has we had seen in St. Lucia the previous year. They did work hard has they seemed to be understaffed. High fives to David, Antonio, Ashante, Ginella and the others.

We ate at all the restaurants and I can honestly say, we did not have a bad meal all week. Kimono's & Eleanor's required reservations but it didn't seem difficult to get days and times needed. Special of the week was Surf & Turf at the Bayside and it was terrific.

We drank a few adult beverages during the week....HA....and all the bartenders were helpful but the drinks sometimes varied from bartender to bartender and a few smiles from them every now and then would have be nice. I would like to pass along a high five to the staff of the Drucken Duck which we seem to close every evening. Andy, Ken, Mario, Ashmaine, Tashana & Chandra. Also a big high five to the best DJ, Sporty, who gave us great music all week but unfortunately for the rest of you is leaving for Canada next week.

We had a great week with great friends and are looking forward to visiting Sandals again next year!!

Mike

PS Mary & Steve,
We hope you got home OK, we heard you might of had to stay 2 extra days. Dates for next year are Feb.19-28 and you know where!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your review of Sandal Grande Antigua! We are delighted to hear about your amazing experience during your stay with us and that you had a great time exploring the property with new friends. The staff will really appreciate your kind remarks and to know that you have many fond memories of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,790
    1,622
    590
    331
    248
See reviews for
153
5,438
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,730)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa Ontario
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is our second Sandals. You provide such great service. The accommodation (Mediterrainean Oceanview Grande Lux Club Level Suite), food, entertainment and your staff are top notch. We chose Sandals again to celebrate our 43rd Wedding Anniversary and you made it so special. On Thursday, February 26th we came back to our room to shower and change for dinner. When we arrived the room was so dark. It was usual that the drapes had not been opened but were we surprised:
- Bed covered in flowers and 2 towels shaped like swans making a heart shape and over the bed with a banner wishing us a happy anniversary along with an anniversary card.
- Jacuzzi full of bubble bath and flowers with champagne in ice bucket with two champagne glasses.
- A towel was in front of the shower and flowers were on it also
- and later a waiter brought a cake with white icing on a white cake along with a grape, strawberry and pineapple decoration to our hotel room with Happy Anniversary written on the plate in chocolate.
Thank you so much for that.
This location is on the outskirts of St John’s not like your Nassau location where there is a bus at the entrance to take you downtown but we survived. There is a Tour Desk on the premises and we did take the Land Tour for Antigua. There is so much to do. In your room the day before you get an itinerary for the day which starts at 8:00 a.m. and ends at 11:00 p.m. You pick what you want to do.
I must tell you that we spoke to various staff and they had nothing but praises on how the Sandals Company treat them
Eleanor’s: The choice offered was good for me but not for my husband as there was no steak on the menu but we loved the ala carte for breakfast.
Courtyard Bistro: The food was very good and it was nice to have a small meal for lunch.
Mario’s: Breakfast & supper was excellent
Bella Napoli Pizzeria: Excellent
Bayside: Breakfast & supper also excellent
Drunken Duck: Dinner really good but was surprised you didn’t have cider
Looking forward to our next stay at Sandals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrostyRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemou
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Review of Sandals Antigua

Grounds/Rooms
First, the location is absolutely gorgeous. The vegetation on the grounds is excellent and well maintained. We were in a concierge room on the 5th floor. Room was nice, clean and well maintained.

Scuba Diving
Did 4 dives. The crew/captains were solid. They ran a tight ship and did things by the book which I appreciated. Overall, the diving was disappointing though. Just not a lot to see to be honest. One small annoyance is they would never tell you where they were going until you were “going”. This resulted in us diving the same spot twice....and we were told they never dove the same spot twice in a week.

Restaurants
Kimonos was excellent. Eleanors was also excellent but a very limited menu. I've always found the food at Sandals pretty good and this trip was no exception. One issue. We arrived Saturday around 4pm. We asked to make dinner reservations at check in time and the two restaurants that take reservations (Kimonos and Eleanors was already booked. Seriously? So, we had to play the “cancellation” game. I called 3 days before arriving and asked to make reservations. They told me I didn't need them. When I arrived, the answer when I asked “What do you mean they are all booked” was I should have called. Get your story straight!

Service
The service was either really good or it was like people were annoyed while doing their jobs. This is not typical for Sandals. We found out that a new Manager was brought in from the Sandals White House 2+ months ago. The general discussion around the returning Sandals customers was that he was being brought in to up the service. It was really a dichotomy. Either great service or the “you are annoying me look so I’m going to just stand here and ignore you for a few minutes”

Getting to Antigua was a tad challenging. Customs took us 1 hour and 45 minutes to clear do to a line that snaked out to the tar mac. They are building a new terminal but it looks like a year plus. We did land at a busy time but man, it was one slow line.

Overall, a good visit. Also, the returning Sandals customer dinner on Tuesday night we very well done.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rduchscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This Sandals is the best! The beach is absolutely beautiful and the people are sooooo friendly. We loved it and could have stayed forever! The sand is white and the water is so blue - the food in almost all the restaurants is 5 star.

Room Tip: Get a butler service rondoval on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sandals Grande Antigua Spa and Resort. This was our second Sandals vacation. We stayed on the Mediterranian side in the main hotel, our room was located on the second floor just off to the side of the main walkway to the pool area. The room was terrific, clean and very nice. We had a couple of small issues with our room upon our arrival. First we arrived in the afternoon and our room was not ready yet, we were told to go get some food at one of the eateries on the property, the only issue was we were not in tune with the property yet and the intern just pointed in the direction of where we could get food. A little disappointing since we were tired and hot from the trip and now have to explore with our carry on bags for security of the bags contents. Maybe that person should have taken us, not that big a deal we found the pizza place which was very good and the host Tracy was excellent. An hour later our room was ready. I did mention we had a couple of room issues, not being ready was one. The toilet plugged once and when we called down we asked if the person could come quickly as it was in the morning and we wanted to use the bathroom, nobody came quickly so we went to the bathroom just off the main lobby. The jacuzzi didn't work and was air locked, this happened twice I will take the blame on the second time, also while filling the jacuzzi the part where the water comes out came off in my hand. This was weird just a little water we had to clean up It was under control. Through communication to the hotel we arranged a tv in the Drunken duck to watch the Canada and Sweden Gold medal hockey game for 8am. We called in a wakeup call for the next morning, but the call never came. Fortunately I woke up up just in time to catch the game. The A/C in the rooms is not very cool but you have a ceiling fan that works quite well and were cool while sleeping. All in all the room rates about and 8 out of ten based on what I said earlier. The grounds and restaurants were excellent, we ate at the Pizza place, the Drunken Duck, Elenors, Kimonos, the Bayside Grill and Barfoot by the sea. All excellent food and fantastic service. 10 out of 10 for restaurants. The pool and drinks were super, Althea seemed to always be at the pool bar and always greeted you with a smile and always was on top of you're drink selection. 10 out of 10. The ocean was pretty cool somewhat cooler than Jamaica Sandals, but still nice when that sun was beating down on you, daily rain showers made you feel cool because of the constand trade winds blowing, but again when the sun comes out you warm up pretty quick. The beach is a public beach and not owned by Sandals, you will be approached by people selling stuff, just say "no" and they will wish you a nice day and move on. No pushy people here and all very nice, you will not feel intimidated or afraid. 8 out of 10. If you are into snorkelling there is no real snorkeling at the hotel beach, you have to book one of three daily trips out to the reef, there is no charge for this just go to the dive hut near where all of the beach crafts are parked right behind the barefoot by the sea restaurant. Although this may seem weak right now, but I think the Sandals team need to get in tune with their customers. I am Canadian and there were many American customers here also. We all wanted to see the USA, Canada Hockey game, I think Sandals should have known that the Olympics were on and there was a possibilty people wanted to see these games. The USA game VS Canada was not available on TV, thats why we were having discussions with the hotel to get the Gold medal game in. From what I understand the hotel had the Superbowl piped in to TV's by the pool, I cannot confirm, but if this is true they need to be preparred for all world sports and have a SAT Dish or Two with this type of programming. All in all it was an excellent vacation at Sandals. Oh, yeah we were always under the impression that no tipping was to be done at any Sandals, we asked an employee here and they said yes they will take tips, but won't ask for them. We did some tipping and it didn't seem to improve our service, I figure if I tip you well, maybe some little extras would be nice like towell sculptures in the room, whatever. So if you think tipping will get you extras you may be disappointed. i'm sure the staff are not paid huge money so tipping may help them personally. All in all the trip was about an 8 out of 10. None of the negatives I mentioned will stop me from booking Sandals again. Having said that we have already paid an advance fee to hold a room in Grenada for next year. That should give you an idea how good Sandals is.

Room Tip: The 7th floor gives you a great view of the site and the surrounding area outside of the sandals res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianSteamer1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I'm sure till they finish their bigger airport you will walk across the tarmac to inside area, once through customs n get baggage then outside off to right a small both for the sandals reps. They'll mark bags with room number and just wait for transportation to sandals which is not that long maybe 20-30 min. Greeted with a smile cool damp lemon scented towel to cool you down, it was refreshing and some champagne to tickle the taste buds.Stayed in the Mediterranean building second floor and you can see ocean, the 7th floor in same building has a spectacular view of the ocean! Leonard our concierge was great guy, got us connected with head of entertainment to try n get Canada vs USA game, weren't able to get it on such short notice, but pulled out all the stops for the gold medal game, they opened the Drunken Duck and provided breakfast, thanks a million to David the guys really appreciated it!!! And made winning gold that much better. Book reservation for Eleanor's ( excellent food and service) and Kimonos ( Japanese also fantastic), try the Dragon Punch mmm and the saki. Mario's serves breakfast great selection and Italian dinner menu, attached to it is a small pizza eatery, also great pizza!! to go or eat there! Traci takes good care of you there, hope your feeling better! Mediterranean pool is big which never makes you feel like crammed sardines,can easily get a spot maybe not always shaded, but u can move loungers around. If you plan on booking a private cabana( $99 us)do it right away, they go fast! can easily get drinks from the swim up bar, Althea is the lady for drinks, all the staff are two thumbs up, pleasant, friendly and smiling! Drinks to try are Regge Cap, Cool Runnings and a Cup Full of Love to mention a few. Behind pool area is Barefoot by the sea where you can stop for lunch and get a salad, burger n fries and wrap to mention a few, excellent food.Then maybe step out to the beach and a quick dip in the ocean, I found the water a little cooler than in Jamaica, but still beautiful, yes there are vendors as it is a public beach, they will ask just say no and they will leave you be, I must say they are pleasant and not pushy and always say have a nice day?if any issues just report if to the security which are at each entrance to Sandals property. Stop off at the Cafe du Paris, it's tucked away in a corner beside the gift shop. It serves cakes, crepes, ice cream, tea and coffees. Drunken Duck serves a super great buffet lunch of Prime Rib,pork slices, salmon, Yorkshire pudding,veggies, large potatoes n gravy,home comfort cooking that is mouth watering again David hats off to you and your staff! bayside Grill also offers a great menu, if you like surf n turf this is for you! If not your thing there are other things to choose from, food there is also lovely! They have a beach party and buffet that too was excellent and entertainment afterwords. You can't say that the drinks DON'T lack alcohol!!! It's there.
The grounds are beautiful well maintained, they do fog from 6-7 each night, you really don't want to be around when it's done as it does smell almost like car fumes, but it's for the Mosquitos, so saying that take some bug repellant. You may get a down pour of rain for a 5 min, but will dry up in no time, no worries just get another drink.We took the Island Routes shopping trip to town driver drops you off and comes back at a certain time. We went from vendor to vendor made deals if not moved on to next one. All the vendors are pleasant and polite I found. You'll see the big cruise liner if docked and all the super high end shops $$$$$ that greets them when they come off. Stopped in at a local open bar for a couple beers and water ($6) cheap. We shopped for about 2 1/2 hrs, that was enough. We had a few bobbles like jacuzzi tub not working ( got fixed) toilet clogging( got fixed) and not getting our wake up call, but those are only little things and it didn't damper our vaca. All in all I loved the resort, the staff, the quality of food and all that Antigua gave to me.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsCanadianSteamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear MrsCanadianSteamer,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Sandals Grande Antigua. It's delightful to hear of the special moments that standout about your recent stay and we thank you for sharing these memories with us. We hope to see you again soon and please do not hesitate to reach out to our staff if you need anything while you are with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

An absolute paradise,beautiful beaches,great property,great food,incredibly friendly service,especially Christine Wright at Mario's.Thank you so much for making this a memorable vacation,i miss it already.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solomon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello Solomon,

Thank you for your review of Sandals Grande Antigua. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and got to explore the beautiful island property. We hope you will return soon and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing