We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL resort GREAT staff...perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL resort GREAT staff...perfect getaway”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Sandals SAVED my wife and I. We went to Jolly Beach to start and it was horrible. After 2 days we transferred to Sandals and it was the best move I have ever made. It saved our Honeymoon. BEAUTIFUL hotel, Beautiful resort, awesome staff, everything was perfect. My wife is not going to ever stay anywhere other than Sandals. We are definitely future customers!

PS....I recommend the Reggae Top drinks...AMAZING

Room Tip: We had a first level walkout and it was SO beautiful, clean and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMunZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,949
    1,690
    607
    334
    257
See reviews for
162
5,660
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,797)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I went to Sandals Antigua from 4/14-4/21 for our honeymoon. We stayed on the Mediterranean side and we were incredibly happy with our choice. You do NOT need to get butler service--you will get reservations and pool chairs just fine without spending the extra thousands.
There was absolutely nothing about the resort that we did not like or enjoy. The food was great (definitely grab a pizza during the day for lunch at least once!)--we particularly enjoyed the beach front restaurant.
We spent most of our time at the pool--there are a lot of vendors on the beach that hover around you and ask for you to book excursions and things with them.
Our main issue was with the front desk staff--when we arrived, our bags did not make it down with us. We were told that they would take care of calling the airline etc so we gave them our paperwork from the airport. Upon checking into our room (an hour later), we called United to find out what to expect with our bags, only to find out that there was no reference number filed with our bags. We went back to the front desk to get our paperwork from the airport and it was missing. After spending time on the phone with United everything was worked out and we got our bags the next day. The night before check out we were given a bill for over $400 because we called a 1-800 number from the room. There were no signs on the phone explaining this. When we went to the front desk to dispute the charge, the woman at the front desk said that "that's why we allow you to use the courtesy phone in the lobby." When I said that no one told us to do that, she said "Did you ask?" and then also told us that the information about the phones was in our welcome packet. I'm not sure about you, but when you arrive on not just vacation, but your honeymoon, and your bags are lost, the last thing I'm doing is sitting down to look through the hotel welcome packet. Sandals discounted us 15% of the bill and that was all.

That was our only complaint with the experience. It stunk that it happened at the end of the trip since it left us with a little sour taste in our mouths, BUT we would not have left if we didn't have to. It was an amazing trip despite having no luggage for a day, which is saying something!

Room Tip: Mediterranean sides, floor 4 or above for a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My girlfriend and I just went to this resort and it certainly wasn't what we expected from an all inclusive resort. Especially for the amount that we paid to go here. The service was absolutely horrible.

The concierge check in is a joke. Don't let the fine print fool you. They offer you beverages because the service is so terrible it takes them an hour just to check you in. The "top shelf" alcohol isn't top shelf. The bottle might say Absolute Vodka but I'm willing to bet money that this was filled with a cheaper version. Also, when I pay thousands of dollars to take a vacation, I'd expect to be able to drink a beer of my choice. not a choice of one local beer on draft.

The food and restaurants were okay... The two "best" ones were booked most of the time, so we were only able to make reservations at one. They seat you and after a while someone will come take your drink order. After you get your drink, you'll probably not see that person again and will have to flag someone down to refill your glass. That goes the same with the food service. Basically, the service is terrible.

They need to let these people work for tips. Which I'm sure would speed up the service and make it a lot more friendly.

The beach was absolutely beautiful but every 5 minutes someone was trying to sell you some kind of trinket. The beaches are public so you don't get much time to enjoy the atmosphere due to the locals trying to sell you things. I understand that they need to make a living. But, I'm trying to relax on my vacation and not trying to be sold something every few minutes.

Now for the good.. The resort is very beautiful. No bad word about it. The island is very beautiful as well. There's nothing bad that I can say about anything that pertains to the beauty of the island or the resort. But, the service is horrendous!! for the amount of money we paid, we could've went somewhere just as nice and probably would've had a much better time! It's not worth the money and don't fall for the "60% off" scams they offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamz523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review, Adam.

We are truly disappointed that your stay at Sandals Grande Antigua did not meet all of your expectations, particularly in regards to service. Our service has been the highlight of many reviews on TripAdvisor, however we realize your experience was not similar and we are sorely disappointed to hear that you returned home not completely happy with your stay. For this, we apologize. Your feedback is a very important tool in our process of betterment and we appreciate the time and effort taken to provide them. I will be sharing your comments with the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Where to begin ...? My husband and I stayed 5/31-6/6. We had a beachfront rondoval and the location was nice but it was along the main path and not well insulated so quiet, it was not. Very convenient to everything though and the Caribbean side was beautiful. If we go back, we will again stay on the Carribbean side but at a quieter location. The staff was always very friendly to us. The food was a 3 out of 5. We enjoyed Marios the best. We had butler service and they were eager to help but we rarely used them. (Felt guilty asking them to do things we could easily do ourselves). It was a nice trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was everything I'd hoped it would be and more. Every detail was covered by the wedding coordinator (Nasasha) to ensure a hassle-free and beautiful wedding. When some late arriving guests were missing, Nasasha ran around the resort until she found them.
As for everything else, it was just as wonderful. The butler service helped a lot, as they made sure great seats were saved for us each day by the pool, along with a cooler with our favorite drinks. They also surprised us with random personal touches in our room, including a bubble bath, champagne, and snacks each day.
Things not to miss...
Food- Mario's for breakfast, the Monday night bbq on the beach, and the OK Corral for pork tacos.
Excursions- there are many free activities, but the sunset cruise was worth the money. The ATV excursion was a great way to see the island if you're adventurous, but the terrain was pretty rough at times. I wouldn't suggest the shopping excursion. We were expecting an open market with locally and hand made items, but it mostly consisted of mass produced trinkets. There were some nice duty free jewelry stores, though.

Overall, the whole experience exceeded our expectations. We'll be returning to sandals for future vacations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet Suite on the Med side. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkoch156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort the week after Memorial Day for our honeymoon. Overall, we enjoyed the trip because it was no hassle and everything was included. The food was average and the portions were really small, but there is enough variety that you can enjoy many types of food over your trip. Coming from DC where we go out to trendy restaurants every weekend and consider ourselves "foodies" you won't come back with anything memorable on this trip in this department. We had the butler service which seemed to be a waste of money for what you get. Our chairs were reserved at the pool, but it wasn't crowded so that wouldn't have been that important and although you get a daily cooler filled with drinks, the swim up bar is right there! The Caribbean side was lush and relaxing and the grounds were beautifully kept. I enjoyed the sounds of nature each night, and we were close to everything within the resort. Everything was clean and nicely maintained throughout the resort, but service was hit or miss. Either outstanding or poor which was kind of odd.

We took advantage of the scuba diving included which is a huge perk and why we chose to come to a Sandals. The scuba team is fantastic! The stand up paddle boards were fun, too. We didn't spend much time of the beach because it had a lot of vendors and we really enjoyed the beautiful pools more.

I think that a little more to do at night would have been nice. They had a few activities like a couples game show and live music, but not much for entertainment. I think because of the time of year, most of the guests were newlyweds in their mid 20's. I'm mid 30's and my husband is early 40's. I'd guess that it's probably more diverse in age if you travel outside of wedding season!

Sandals advertises sales so that when you pay about $850 per night, you are supposed to think that it's 40% off and you are getting a deal. If its always on sale, that's not really a special and when you break it down its average value.

Overall, the all inclusive concept and large suite room allowed us to enjoy each others company, celebrate with champagne, bubble baths and flowers, and relax for an entire week! That's my idea of a honeymoon and that's what we got!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello Jenilla,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay and your time in Antigua. Still, it seems that there are a few aspects of our vacation package that are in need of improvement. Therefore, your concerns and suggestions have been brought to the attention of our Management Team on property. We hope that after addressing your concerns and making the necessary adjustments, you will afford us an opportunity to showcase the true hospitality and beauty of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

1st off yes this hotel isn't cheap but it's worth every penny we stayed on the med side room was massive with sitting area an a sea view. The 4 poster bed was very comfy an the jacuzzi bath big enough for 2 was great for sitting an drinking the free champagne after a day on the beach. The food was top notch as was the branded spirits. Can't wait to try another sandals resort

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeynut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing