We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Antigua Village(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Beach Club(St. John's)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,055)
Filter reviews
7,056 results
Traveller rating
4,067
1,758
627
336
268
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,067
1,758
627
336
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsok corralbutler servicecaribbean sidedrunken duckmediterranean villagemain poolsushi barbayside restaurantcafe de parisred lane spaclub levelcaribbean groveswim up barour honeymoonmediterranean poolpiano barbutler suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,736 - 2,741 of 7,056 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Sandals Antigua was a great romantic getaway for my 40th birthday. The resort was great and all the newlyweds helped bring my wife and i right back to our own honeymoon in Sandals Jamaica 14 years ago. We stayed on the Mediterranean side of the resort (as opposed to the Caribbean) and loved our first floor walkout. The room had a bed, tv, desk, great whirlpool bath and shower, decent bar and fully stocked fridge. The food was decent and the choices robust but the restaurant hours were a little tough to learn. I don't think I'm alone in thinking the drinks served around the resort were a bit watered down. While most of the staff was very friendly I wasn't feeling it from the bartenders who, to their credit, absolutely refused to take tips. The beach was small but a small piece of paradise as well. Crystal clear calm 80+degree water and sand so soft you have to touch it yourself to understand. We went on 2 excursions...zip lining and catamaran around the island. Each cost lasted about 4 or 5 hours and ran us about 120 a person. I loved both. We were offered the same trips for cheaper from people on the beach but felt safer spending the extra 10 or 20 bucks a person to go with the resort sponsored excursion. I don't the decision at all. We also took advantage of some of the free water sports and snorkeling trips which were all very fun. All in all it was a great romantic getaway and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to relax and have a good time.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor mediterranean have a decent patio and allow for 2 entries and exits. The view is lacking as is outdoor privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a fabulous holiday to celebrate a special birthday. The food is such high standard. Our favourite restaurants - definitely Barefoot by the Beach and Eleanors. Take advantage of the waitress service restaurants rather than the buffet options. Egg benedict at Eleanor's yummy. The girls at Eleanors made it a very special birthday night for us. Gorgeous beach, lovely rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smmiles124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I would be hard pressed to find anything negative to say about this resort. The beach and ocean were stunning, the food was fantastic and the grounds were beautiful. They went to great lengths to ensure that every walkway was surrounded by beautiful flowers, trees and shrubs. The beach was kept immaculate and hawkers weren’t too annoying. I’ll mention the few nits: our room was about the 6th category from the bottom which you would think would be a pretty good room. But it was dark, a bit shabby, and opened out onto the volleyball which was loud and boisterous in the late afternoon. They need to improve their check-in procedure because we arrived at 3pm and our room wasn’t ready for an hour, and then we had to call to find out where our bags were. Check out is 11am, so I’m not sure why it took five hours to prepare our room. The restaurants were great and we had only good things to say about Kimonos, Marios and the OK Coral. We never had to wait for a table, and the food was fine dining all the way. The large main pool was clean and aesthetically beautiful. There was some sunbed hogging but ‘when in Rome’, we hogged for ourselves and it all worked out fine. We’re not big drinkers but if you are then you’ll want to get a room with a stocked bar (because not all of them are). Every type of alcohol was at our finger tips. If you don’t want to drop a bundle on this resort, pay for the lowest level and you’ll be completely happy. Butlers and Club-level rooms are a total waste of money. All in all, it was a lovely memorable vacation!

Room Tip: If you want to be be near the big main pool with the swim up bar, choose the Mediterranean side because the Caribbean rooms are a long walk to the pool. Don't bother spending money on a butler room unless you're completely lazy and can't get your own drinks or walk to the lobby to reserve one of the restaurants, most of which don't even need reservations.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I are currently staying at the Sandals resort right now. We booked this as our honeymoon more than five months ago for a room on the Mediterranean side. As we arrived the other day we put into a separate room to meet with someone higher up who went on to explain that the Mediterranean side was unavailable and would be staying on the Caribbean side for the first half of the week. Oh and while this is being explained to us, buses full of conference business people were all checking into the Med side. Don't get me wrong this place is very nice, the location, weather, and food so far have been great. However - to waste basically the first afternoon we had here going over the reasoning as to why we all of the sudden do not have what we paid for and then to spend another afternoon switching rooms is completely unacceptable. We did not get what we expected nor what we paid for. This is our honeymoon and something we will look back on for the rest of our lives and when we look back we will remember the hassle and inconvenience that we had to go through because a business conference was more important. And note to all those who are booking in the future - when they ask you to select or state any room preferences, don't bother. We simply asked for a higher level floor to enjoy the views. Obviously the first half of our week had zero views and when we finally did get moved to the Med side, we of course had a first level floor just like we figured we would after our experience so far. Had we know that we would have had this type of service and not getting what we paid for five months ago - we would have gone somewhere else and after this experience we will probably not book another sandals. We have been on other vacations and never have we been given a downgraded room for half of the week because of poor planning and lack of rooms on the resorts end of it. We didn't get what we paid for, we didn't get what we expected when we booked this resort, and we were the ones that had to go through the trouble and waste more than half of a day to unpack and repack all of our belongings to move rooms. Very disappointed and surprised that a resort that is touted as the best can get away with treating customers this way.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mbblanchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for you for reaching out to us about your stay.
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced thus far and we would like to see if there is anything we can do to ensure that you enjoy the remainder of your time with us. I have left you a private message and I also encourage you to reach out to our Guest Services staff there on-property if you have not already. We always want to ensure that all of our guests are having a wonderful vacation and it would be nice if we were able to turn things around for you.
Thank you for your review. We look forward to making contact with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall the resort was beautiful. Grounds very well kept. I was not too impressed with the beach. Also vendors are allowed to come right up to your chairs, which was very annoying. They offered a lot of activities. The food was average. However, The sushi restaurant was excellent. We had some issues and were upgraded to a fab room with private pool. The staff very accommodating. They are willing to solve any problems that you may have. We had butler service. Julian was excellent. Was there whenever we needed him. He even did without asking. We also had Lincoln. He was not as accommodating. It was hard to get him to do things. He did eventually get it done, just some times had to pull teeth. Overall we enjoyed ourselves. The Hickeys.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chickey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews