We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended for honeymooners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended for honeymooners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

My new bride and I just returned from a honeymoon week at this resort, and rather than launch into a series of superlatives about the experience, I will simply say that as with any such resort, the experience is largely what you make of it, but Sandals successfully and expertly creates exactly what it needs to, which is an ideal setting for romance.

From the excellent and attentive staff to the overall design, layout and care given to the property, all one really has to do is indulge. It took us a couple of days to really come down from the hectic pace of the pre-honeymoon weeks, but once we allowed ourselves to just enjoy the setting, we found a perfect environment for a week of pure romantic indulgence.

And as to whether we'd go back, well, we're already planning our next vacation (likely at one of the Jamaica resorts)!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 271Ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,740
    1,596
    581
    330
    245
See reviews for
151
5,363
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,703)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manahawkin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This was our first trip in quite some time. We could not have chosen a cleaner,more beautiful or friendlier palce to stay. The staff was phenomenal. We especially would like to send a shout out to Chantel at the main bar on the Carribean side where we stayed. She was our day bartender and we had a great time with her. She is very personable and very good at what she does. Thanks to her we were introduced to the Chocolate Monkey

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed at Sandals over Christmas 08 and should have been also the New Year.
On arrival we were upgraded to the Mediterranean Block room 5204 instead of the Carribean side.The room was lovely but our room backed on to the road overlooking the towns Nightclub.We suffered several nights with reggee music police sirens etc until approx 4.45am.There is just so much reggee music you can take.I expect this only happens during any celebrations of the year.
We requested a move back to the carribbean side which we originally booked . we were moved to a renovated room 517.First night the toilet was blocked plus other several problems which we reported without success.
The reservation system for dinner was impossible unless you want to eat before 7pm or after 9pm.One night the only choice was burger & chips in the "Cricketers Pub something you do not want to eat over christmas.The butler service takes preference for the dinner reservatons.Service was abysmal unless you have butler service as having to get up early before 7am just to get a sunbed in the shade on the beach or arround the main pool was like taking a cheapy holiday to spain etcThe butlers researve the sunbeds on the beach and arround the pool and sometimes the sunbeds were sometimes not used all day.Beach towels were also a problem.If you cannot find a towel look in the departure lounge on the Med side there was always plenty there.
We have gone through all the right channels i.e.Abta Arbitration etc to complain without success.The hoilday was a 3 star but the cost was 5 star.The Sandals solictors letters were very persuasive as regarding taking the matter any further.We curtailed our holiday by two days and spent News Years Eve on a aircraft but shows how very disappointed we were with our holiday to sandals,We would never take another holiday with Sandals even if we were paid.If you have any doubts about Sandals dont bother there are many other places in the world to visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowshillwitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

well where does one begin to tel you it started on our arrival and seeing the broken down sign to front of hotel. at entranance. On arrival was asked to sign a credit card over even though we didnt want to do this or have our credit card on file the hotel was insistant we did it... so did it relectanly
we booked a honey moon luxery room cabribbean side, it sounded lovely in the title and was told by thomas cook our agents that it was a premier room premier spot premier hotel, how as wrong could they get it. The room was based in the flaymbant buildings of the property and we were told that this was newly decorted and refusbished. Sounded lovely until we arrived to the room. The room was small very small with a simple bed trying to look like a four poster cheap imatation, a warbrobe which was in the bathroom makeing all your cloths damp daily a safe that took most of the space, a clock radio which never worked and several lamps which gave out no light, oh and a sofa that had seem better days for sure. The lizard population had moved on the balcony.
The noise from our so stocked not fridge full of coke and orange only not mentioned in your brouchure made enought noise to wake the dead and the sound of the air con unit right out side our room for the entire block was ear bending
There is no bar no robes no slppers no extras no luxury as stated this is a standard 2 to 3 star room you would find any where in eurpope.
The small pool outside the room was basic with dirty mouldy sun loungers.. so if you still go after this report do look out for the insect .life that lives in them.
on one occasion the pool was closed for treatments in the day time !!!!
restarants: bayside was alive with the birds cats and wildlife with what you ate you had them to share with you, staff almost encouge you to feed them.
food somedays better than others not always hot mind. Sheldene a lovey meat chelf did make me laugh a few times with her roast that you only got a small slice of when you wanted it
marios was the itailian buffet, on the med side which was the only restraant to have it right in our opion, the staff polite the food freshly cooked and dress code was obeyed
Barefoot by the sea seafood come afternoon lunch was a bare faced lie.... closed when it rained which if offend food over cooked and dry and holes in the table cloths chipped glasses and served plastic tumblers at night of this supposely 5 start establishment
the three restrants elenors ok corral and kimons do i really need to tell you
all imature and over rated
always difficut to get reservation for any of these unless you were prepared to get up at 7.30am to 8am in the morning ,
consigerge team some were freindly than others but in general quite helpful
bar staff at caribben side were always over woked and never a lot of time to talk to you
entertaiment or lack of it really, a simple put together band or simlar was annonced every nigjht with no audience partication accept oh forget the mr and mrs show which was hey prodomently american.
the beach was rated 4th best beach hahahaha what a laugh waters were murkey lots of seaweed sun beds old and tatty and lots of pestering beach sellers on beach let alone the water sports people who want your money who dont leave you be
beach not owned by sandals so any one can go on them.
We took two trips oransied by sandals one was a tour of antigua $100 each rip off the guy fish told us he had another pick up to do and we were rushed from one space to another making the whole experince a horrid one.
plus was only 4 hours long not long enought for such a trip.
better off with a taxi cheaper and do what you like
be warned though sandals wont let you get your taxi form inside the hotel unles you get it from them. you have to go outside the hote gate.
we also went on a shopping trip half day thought that wasnt too bad until you get to the town and get told nothing about the pest street vendors and alsorts there pestering you
so be warned ok
internet is not free in your room you have to pay for it
some wines at dinner you have to pay for
I would like to end my review by saying i did approch the managers of the hotel to make things right for us with our room at least after taking a stagging £5.500 from us and not all was 5 star a nd was told we are ful up and no room to move us
so people if you do anyt hing right for your summer holiday please do not visit this hotel its a rip off a con and you dont get what you want.
positive points are few
isabella customer serivices manager was so helpful and did her best to help us as much as possible but very little she could do
karen our room attendant was so lovey and if it wasnt for these two people i think we would have flown home much soon than we did
if you want to know more im happy to have a chat with you.
In one sentance "dont be fooled by a room catagory there are a con" its just a name they use to con you in to the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavencent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Md.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

We had a fantastic time at Sandals Antigua. We've been following Sandals and Beaches around the Caribbean for the last ten years. We've seen them all and so glad that we saved the best for last.

We stayed on the Med side which is really like any deluxe hotel anywhere. I wondered if I made a mistake when I saw how colorful and and Caribbean like the other side was, with the lush foliage and flower gardens. After seeing the rooms over there I was very happy we were in the Med. Village. The rooms were beautiful and the views breathtaking.

As a returning guest, all expectations were surpassed. The dinner was the best one I've ever been to. All of our meals were amazing. The food was fantastic with a great variety and selection. The only thing I wasnt crazy about was the fact that you could only make reservations 2 days ahead. The restaurants filled up fast and you were out of luck if you didnt think of it first thing in the morning.

The staff was attentive. We never waited for anything and were greeted by name daily.

The turquoise color of the ocean was breathtaking as well as the beach in general.

The grounds were immaculate.

The entertainment and nightlife was a blast. We were out every night until the wee hours of the morning. Not really like us, but, it was that much fun!

Overall a totally awesome resort!!!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Charynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

My wife wanted to celebrate her 50th b'day someplace special. I suggested Antigua since everyone seems to go to Jamaica. After researching Sandals, we decided to stay there. The island itself is beautiful and the aquamarine colored water is so beautiful. We arrived at the Mediterrean village section which is very nice. This is where the red flags about this place should have went up for me: We waited an hour and a half for our room (What, they didn't know we were coming?), then discovered the safe in our room would not lock, the sink would not drain, and the fridge in the minibar didn't work. We called the concierge and about 15 min later they came to fix the safe and sink. Well, 45 min later they were still in the room working and since we had dinner reservations, I told them to come back tomorrow. Next day they fix the sink and safe, bring in 2 other fridges before finding 1 that worked, and after all that...We discovered the fridge came with ROACHES! Yes, you heard right! We had to repack our things and move to another room on another floor. I must give Albert King a big thanks for seeing to it our vacation was not ruined after that fiasco. Albert is a supv with the concierge team and a great human being. The resort is very nice and the food is great. We liked Kimonos and Eleanors best. Why they wear white gloves at Eleanors is still a mystery to me. The "entertainment" at Kimonos is not nearly as good as other Japanese restaurants I've been to. If you want breakfast at the Bayside or Marios, get there early if you want hot food. Once it's out, there doesn't seem to be any attention to keeping it HOT. The pool is huge and the swim-up bar is great. The grounds are kept up very well and the beach is combed every morning. Don't waste your time at the casino next door, you don't even get the feeling you are going to win anything. Overall, Sandals is a 3 1/2 to 4 star resort at best. Not recommended if you really know 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lugzurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We truly had a great trip from the time we arrived at the hotel. The check in was easy, relaxed and very professional. When you travel the last thing you need is stress and this was not that at all.

Our room was exactly as I had hoped very clean and comfortable we stayed in the Med side of the hotel in a Honeymoon concierge suite.

I really appreciate being a repeat guest they do little extras such as "welcome back" notes in your room, an added touch that makes you feel as if you are their special guest.
The return guest dinner was really well done very professional and every detail was thought of.

We will definitely go back, we have been to 3 other sandals in the Sandals Family ,our first trip was to The Grand In St Lucia then a year later we got Married at Sandals Dunns River Villagio (Wow that was the best experience for a wedding ever) we then honeymooned at Sandals Negril and now we came to Antigua to celebrate our 2 year anniversary ,each time was an excellent experience and as good as the last.

The staff were all very friendly and a lot of them we made friends with this added to the day and to the trip
We are very fussy travelers and have high expectations and I will tell you this that this hotel did not disappointment me the only tough part was having to leave, I look forward to going back soon.

Cheers

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianHappyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing