We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Great vacation. Loved the pool and the beach.
Excellent Customer Service. Staff were very friendly and went over and above to try and make our stay comfortable.
Upon our arrival we were sat down in the lobby area while one of the staff members brought us champagne and they arranged out paperwork for check in. They had us fill out a few papers, were handed the room key and away we went. They took care of our luggage and delivered our luggage within 1/2 hour or so of our arrival.
We were sent a fruit platter and cheese tray on day 1 and then we upgraded to a rondoval suite beachfront and were sent another cheese platter.
Marios - recommend this for breakfast and dinner,
Also Barefoot on the beach for lunch and dinner
Sushi Bar was pretty good especially knowing that we have great sushi here in Vancouver.
Meditterean Village is beautiful but a bit of a walk to the beach and some of the other restaurants in the Carribean Grove.
Rondoval suites on the beach front - Great location, steps away from the beach. we literally heard the ocean waves all night long.It was very soothing. Also close to the pool. We were centrally located between the two areas. However, the rondoval suites looked a bit tired and need a revamping for bathroom, vanity area and curtains, etc. And although beachfront not a lot of privacy as the walk way was right in front of our window.
Overall this is a fantastic hotel and would highly recommend Sandal's to anyone.
I would definately stay in the Meditterean Village next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suedha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,825
    1,638
    592
    332
    249
See reviews for
153
5,485
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,743)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We visited this resort in the first week of November. This was our second Sandals visit but our first to Antigua. The resort was beautiful - lush gardens, palm trees lining the beach and unique looking buildings.

Good

The staff were friendly. Latoya - the bartender from the swim-up bar near our suite in the Carribean Village - was fantastic. She made great drinks and even spent some time providing us with her recipes. Now we have a list that we can use to make the drinks at home. :)

Our room in the Carribean Village (Anthurium Block) was quite nice. The bed was big and I had one of the best sleeps ever there. The view from the suite was trees...which made me happy and we had a pool just steps from our door which for the most part was private. Watch out for the hot tub though - it was 109 degrees one day.

DO get off the resort. We went on the eco-aventure. Our guide named Kenrick was awesome! We learned so much about the island from him and he really made the trip interesting. He took us looking for critters on Bird Island which although we did not find anything - we still had fun. He should have his own touring company - he knows a lot about the island and genuinely cares about his country.

The weather was hot, hot, hot! It was sunny every single day though so I can't complain. It rained at night, but that's it. Definitely take your sunscreen as well as some bug spray for the evenings when the bugs come out to munch on unsuspecting tourists. ;)

Bad

The food was a little disappointing. We were expecting a similar level of quality from this resort as the other Sandals we visited, but we found it to be very "generic" tasting. It looked and tasted like mass produced food - it just didn't have a "homemade" feel about it. This IS a chance you take though with an all-inclusive experience and we realized this. The food at Bayside was by far the worst. One morning I actually had egg shells in my scrambled eggs. Yuck. We DID enjoy Eleanor's though. Mario's was also good. Their tiramisu could use some revamping though - coffee flavoured mousse with a lady finger is not tiramisu.

Drinks - They should offer more than Carib, Wadadli, Red Stripe and Guinness for beer choices. I drank a lot of slushy type drinks but my husband was at a loss for stuff to drink when he exhausted the above options.

The beach - If you don't like seaweed, you wouldn't like the beach. There was a large amount of it all over the beach and in the water. It kind of creeped some folks out while swimming (including me), but I guess that's what the pools are for...

The parrots - There are two parrots in the foyer which I saw one particular staff member harrassing. I found the behaviour to be inappropriate and totally against Sandals environmental policy which they seem so proud of. The same goes for the mosquito spraying.

Overall, it was a nice trip. We do not plan to go back, but we are happy that we tried it out. The island is beautiful. I've never seen water so blue. If you like newer, less rustic stuff, you should book a room in the Mediterrean Village. The Carribean side is much older but it definitely feels more like the tropics with all of the lush gardens surrounding it.

It's a great place for honeymooners - very romantic and the resort has a "young" feel about it.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Melly198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of this 26 acre resort., we stayed on the Med side, in the venetian ocean view suite. we surfed this site quite a bit before our trip. We travelled from Nov. 7th to the 14th 2009. the room was exactly as pictured on line, and was in working order the jacuzzi tub, the double sink, marble everywhere. There were two complimentary robes for use during our stay, and a fully stocked bar in the room which was replinished. The four post bed, the small, but adequate patio was nice to enjoy the view. There's beauty to be found on both the carib side and the med side. It all depends on what you are looking for.

The service; as suggested from this site, as soon as we checked in, we made reservations for the two of the three restaurant that required it. There were a variety of places to eat, and types of food, even if you did not get reservations. If you order something, and it's not to your liking, you can order something else, or go to another restaurant on the resort. You can get grilled lobster from Bare foot by the sea, without a reservation (first come first serve).The wait time to take drink orders at the bars in general, and to bring water to the table once seated especially in the buffet restaurants, was longer than we were use to in the States, at times we had to get it for our selves. My favorite Ice cream is vanilla, and on the menu at a couple of the restaurants, seemingly was not available for most of our stay, my fiance believed that whenever he ordered "Absolute & Cranberry" and was not in sight of the bartender preparing the drink, he would get a lesser vodak, not Absolute.

There are cats on the premises and they tend to roam inside, bayside restaruant. It didn't bother us, but i gather if you don't like cats, it may be a problem. Also since the restaruant is open (not enclosed) there's also birds flying through the restaurant and with almost full access to the the buffet, dessert station. The hotel staff seem to try and hinder this with some sort of netting but it doesn't work very well.

The entertainment was mediocre, don't expect vegas style productions. Nonetheless, it was something to listen to and to do.....There's activities like dance competion, meet and greet manger's cocktail ,and trivia's..most of the answers were in the reading packets in your room and given to you at check-in...ie who's the general manager of the hotel? questions about the island and the resort. We won a bottle of local rum.

We took a day excursion on "Lobster Lunch on the creole cruise" and it was the best, and the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend this trip. they will pick you up up from Sandals. the boat was not overcrowded with people, it was more intimate, there was plenty to drink and eat. the food/lobster was delicious! Capt. Glenn and firstmate Mario provided excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beccamsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My new bride and I just returned from a honeymoon week at this resort, and rather than launch into a series of superlatives about the experience, I will simply say that as with any such resort, the experience is largely what you make of it, but Sandals successfully and expertly creates exactly what it needs to, which is an ideal setting for romance.

From the excellent and attentive staff to the overall design, layout and care given to the property, all one really has to do is indulge. It took us a couple of days to really come down from the hectic pace of the pre-honeymoon weeks, but once we allowed ourselves to just enjoy the setting, we found a perfect environment for a week of pure romantic indulgence.

And as to whether we'd go back, well, we're already planning our next vacation (likely at one of the Jamaica resorts)!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 271Ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manahawkin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

This was our first trip in quite some time. We could not have chosen a cleaner,more beautiful or friendlier palce to stay. The staff was phenomenal. We especially would like to send a shout out to Chantel at the main bar on the Carribean side where we stayed. She was our day bartender and we had a great time with her. She is very personable and very good at what she does. Thanks to her we were introduced to the Chocolate Monkey

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed at Sandals over Christmas 08 and should have been also the New Year.
On arrival we were upgraded to the Mediterranean Block room 5204 instead of the Carribean side.The room was lovely but our room backed on to the road overlooking the towns Nightclub.We suffered several nights with reggee music police sirens etc until approx 4.45am.There is just so much reggee music you can take.I expect this only happens during any celebrations of the year.
We requested a move back to the carribbean side which we originally booked . we were moved to a renovated room 517.First night the toilet was blocked plus other several problems which we reported without success.
The reservation system for dinner was impossible unless you want to eat before 7pm or after 9pm.One night the only choice was burger & chips in the "Cricketers Pub something you do not want to eat over christmas.The butler service takes preference for the dinner reservatons.Service was abysmal unless you have butler service as having to get up early before 7am just to get a sunbed in the shade on the beach or arround the main pool was like taking a cheapy holiday to spain etcThe butlers researve the sunbeds on the beach and arround the pool and sometimes the sunbeds were sometimes not used all day.Beach towels were also a problem.If you cannot find a towel look in the departure lounge on the Med side there was always plenty there.
We have gone through all the right channels i.e.Abta Arbitration etc to complain without success.The hoilday was a 3 star but the cost was 5 star.The Sandals solictors letters were very persuasive as regarding taking the matter any further.We curtailed our holiday by two days and spent News Years Eve on a aircraft but shows how very disappointed we were with our holiday to sandals,We would never take another holiday with Sandals even if we were paid.If you have any doubts about Sandals dont bother there are many other places in the world to visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowshillwitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

well where does one begin to tel you it started on our arrival and seeing the broken down sign to front of hotel. at entranance. On arrival was asked to sign a credit card over even though we didnt want to do this or have our credit card on file the hotel was insistant we did it... so did it relectanly
we booked a honey moon luxery room cabribbean side, it sounded lovely in the title and was told by thomas cook our agents that it was a premier room premier spot premier hotel, how as wrong could they get it. The room was based in the flaymbant buildings of the property and we were told that this was newly decorted and refusbished. Sounded lovely until we arrived to the room. The room was small very small with a simple bed trying to look like a four poster cheap imatation, a warbrobe which was in the bathroom makeing all your cloths damp daily a safe that took most of the space, a clock radio which never worked and several lamps which gave out no light, oh and a sofa that had seem better days for sure. The lizard population had moved on the balcony.
The noise from our so stocked not fridge full of coke and orange only not mentioned in your brouchure made enought noise to wake the dead and the sound of the air con unit right out side our room for the entire block was ear bending
There is no bar no robes no slppers no extras no luxury as stated this is a standard 2 to 3 star room you would find any where in eurpope.
The small pool outside the room was basic with dirty mouldy sun loungers.. so if you still go after this report do look out for the insect .life that lives in them.
on one occasion the pool was closed for treatments in the day time !!!!
restarants: bayside was alive with the birds cats and wildlife with what you ate you had them to share with you, staff almost encouge you to feed them.
food somedays better than others not always hot mind. Sheldene a lovey meat chelf did make me laugh a few times with her roast that you only got a small slice of when you wanted it
marios was the itailian buffet, on the med side which was the only restraant to have it right in our opion, the staff polite the food freshly cooked and dress code was obeyed
Barefoot by the sea seafood come afternoon lunch was a bare faced lie.... closed when it rained which if offend food over cooked and dry and holes in the table cloths chipped glasses and served plastic tumblers at night of this supposely 5 start establishment
the three restrants elenors ok corral and kimons do i really need to tell you
all imature and over rated
always difficut to get reservation for any of these unless you were prepared to get up at 7.30am to 8am in the morning ,
consigerge team some were freindly than others but in general quite helpful
bar staff at caribben side were always over woked and never a lot of time to talk to you
entertaiment or lack of it really, a simple put together band or simlar was annonced every nigjht with no audience partication accept oh forget the mr and mrs show which was hey prodomently american.
the beach was rated 4th best beach hahahaha what a laugh waters were murkey lots of seaweed sun beds old and tatty and lots of pestering beach sellers on beach let alone the water sports people who want your money who dont leave you be
beach not owned by sandals so any one can go on them.
We took two trips oransied by sandals one was a tour of antigua $100 each rip off the guy fish told us he had another pick up to do and we were rushed from one space to another making the whole experince a horrid one.
plus was only 4 hours long not long enought for such a trip.
better off with a taxi cheaper and do what you like
be warned though sandals wont let you get your taxi form inside the hotel unles you get it from them. you have to go outside the hote gate.
we also went on a shopping trip half day thought that wasnt too bad until you get to the town and get told nothing about the pest street vendors and alsorts there pestering you
so be warned ok
internet is not free in your room you have to pay for it
some wines at dinner you have to pay for
I would like to end my review by saying i did approch the managers of the hotel to make things right for us with our room at least after taking a stagging £5.500 from us and not all was 5 star a nd was told we are ful up and no room to move us
so people if you do anyt hing right for your summer holiday please do not visit this hotel its a rip off a con and you dont get what you want.
positive points are few
isabella customer serivices manager was so helpful and did her best to help us as much as possible but very little she could do
karen our room attendant was so lovey and if it wasnt for these two people i think we would have flown home much soon than we did
if you want to know more im happy to have a chat with you.
In one sentance "dont be fooled by a room catagory there are a con" its just a name they use to con you in to the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavencent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing