We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with outdated interior...very disappointed”
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antigua Village
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

These are individually owned condominiums. As a result, a guest is subject to how well the owner maintained the unit. I stayed in 31A and was very disappointed. The decor in the room was not pleasant, the furniture was outdated, the bed was not comfortable, there were mismatched appliances, the cable did not work and there was a funny odor in the room. I don't feel like I got my money's worth at $200 USD per night. I was extremely disappointed with this resort and would not return or recommend it to anyone.
The only positive comment I have about this resort is that the exterior of the units are immaculate and tropical with flowers and tropical fruit trees and the beach is excellent. This is all you really get for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been renovated within the last two years. Avoid unit 31A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esther7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

We arrived at the airport on time, but our prearranged taxi driver, Eddie, was late. The ride to the hotel was ok. We arrived at the resort safely and check-in was a complete breeze. The reception staff and porters were very friendly. There is a little store on site which has your basic needs at reasonable prices. For $24 US the taxi will take you to the Epicurean market if you choose to buy groceries for your stay. We dined at LaBoussala Italian Restaurant as our anniversary celebratory night out. The food, atmosphere and staff are phenomenal! During our stay, we ate at Pepperz N Lime a couple of times. It's located on the beach just outside our resort. The food and staff were great! We also ate once at Coconut Grove, located on the left of the resort; the food was ok and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: We had a garden view and partial sea view. It was a nice unit for the most part; however, there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cottagelovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was our first visit to Antigua Village Beach Resort and having read some of the reviews we were a bit worried about what to expect, however, we were pleasantly surprised. The resort is directly on Dickenson Bay beach which is a superb sandy beach. There is a lovely clean swimming pool with loungers and the most beautiful gardens we have seen in this type of apartment complex. We stayed in a studio in the garden area and we are so pleased we were in the garden area as it was by far the quietest part of the resort. During our stay there we heard lots of complaints from people staying in the poolside apartments about the noise coming from Sandals and the small restaurant on the other side of the resort, however, we could not hear anything from where we were. Almost all the rooms in the garden area have sea views from their patios which was a bonus we were not expecting, as it is not advertised on the website - perhaps it should be.
The only disadvantage we found with having a studio was having everything in one room, so we could hear the fridge switching on and off during the night and when friends dropped by we had to entertain them in the living room/bedroom - not very convenient.
We had such a good holiday, we hope to return very soon, so we took a look at some of the other apartments and decided we would definitely spend a few extra dollars and rent a suite, which has a separate bedroom and a proper living room area instead of a studio. The best suite we looked at was suite 46A which is really close to the sea and is so well furnished and decorated and only a few steps from the beach, we would love to stay there next time.
There are restaurants on either side of the complex and an English style pub just across the road, but we mostly dined on the patio which was lovely.
This is a very friendly resort and they have a free drinks evening each week where guests can meet one another. We made lots of friends while we were there, some of them timeshare guests who have been visiting for many years and we hope we may meet some of them again next time we visit. We would thoroughly recommend this beach resort.

Room Tip: Garden area rooms are the quietest, most with sea views from the patios and some very close to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunloverforever52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Visited the ABV in Sept/Oct which is the quiet season in Antigua - and it was quiet !. We exchanged through RCI (apartment 19B) which was clean and tidy and with all the normal amenities but did look tired and in need of make-over. The maids visited daily and kept the room spotless - towels and linen changed twice a week. The ladies in reception were very helpful and answered all our questions.

As I said earlier, the resort at the time of year was very quiet with only a handful of people around, other than the weekly rum punch party no other events were organised. However, with Sandals next door we got our daily 'fix' of music - regardless of whether we wanted it !

Dickenson Bay is a lovely area, beach vendors do try to sell their wares - but a polite no thanks gets no further intrusion.

I recommend a car hire - 3 days will cover the whole island - but be aware of the lack of roadsigns and lots of pot-holes (all part of the Island charm).. Note - the Island is drive an the left (great for UK visitors)

Restaurants - Coconut Grove is really nice and next door, across the road Putters is good value for money, further afield on the north of the island try Ocean cafe - really good and worth a taxi ride.

There is a large Supermarket (1st Choice) approx 3/4 mile away - 20 minute walk and a taxi ride back with all of your provisions.

Other than trying to visit as many beaches as possible I would recommend visiting English harbour and St Johns (dont go when there is a cruise ship in). Also take the Wadadli catamaran trip around the island a full day of fun. A do not miss the Sunday evening party at Shirley Heights - great food and music.

If you are visiting between June - October there is a little known trip to go turtle watching on a small island. This is run by the EAG (Environmental Awareness Group) which are based in the Museum - Friday evenings really educational and different, We got to see a hawkbill turtle lay her eggs :-)

To sum up - quiet friendly location, functional apartment in need of a make over - would we return Yes - but there are so many other places to explore in the Caribbean !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This place was a nice mellow resort. We got it as an exchange for a timeshare so I can't say anything about the price. The rooms were clean and comfy although a tad outdated. Because it was off season there were only 3-4 other couples here although we felt that was a bonus because it was nice and quiet. U can occasionally hear the music from sandals which is next door but we did not mind much. One negative was the snorkeling. The vis could not have been more than 3 feet. We were told that is normal for this part of the island.
Overall it was a nice place to spend a week w someone but if u are looking for a spring break crazy house go to sandals next door.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Antigua is one of the greatest islands to visit . Her people are warm and friendly . I have stayed at Antigua Village going on 6 years always weeks 9 and 10 its just a super place . Next door to Sandals . Two minutes from one of the best resteraunts on the island Coconut Grove . Ten minutes from St Johns which offers excellent shopping and five minutes from one of several large supermarkets which carries everything you would want in the way of Wine , Beer , Meat and General Groceries .

Room Tip: My room is on ground floor area faces swimming pool . Any room in the place is good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dennis45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were at Antigua Village for two weeks in February. We always like to stay in a self-catering apartment with one bedroom close to the beach with restaurants within walking distance. We got all of that at Antigua Village. Apartment 46B was excellent as other reviewers have reported (thanks!) and everyone was very keen to book it for next year! The grounds are beautifully kept, the strip of beach a bit narrow but good for swimming. The village shop was good for essentials but the huge First Choice supermarket is just 5 mins busride away on the road to St Johns. You are aware that the huge Sandals resort is next door. They take up most of the Dickenson Bay beach and can be noisy. Their keen-eyed security guards make sure that only Sandals guests are allowed on their grounds! Antigua Village has many guests who come back year after year - maybe we will too!

Room Tip: 46B is an apartment with flowery balcony overlooking garden and beach. 46A is on the ground floor. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,926 reviews
11.3 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#5 of 16 in St. John's
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £148 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing