We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't EVER VISIT!!!!”
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antigua Village
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
gunnyfb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't EVER VISIT!!!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2008

My husband and I went here for a week this month. The people at the Antigua Village Beach Resort were horribly rude. Neither one of us had ever been to a place where we were treated like this. There were ants all over the kitchen and bathroom. YOU CAN NOT LEAVE ANY FOOD OR CRUMBS OUT!!!! The ants will take over. There was trash (including personal items) in the water and on the beach. We were confronted by the same drug dealer every day several times a day while walking to the condo or reading a book on the beach. Upon checking out, the woman in the office was incredibly rude and not helpful. I wish someone had warned us of not only this resort but the entire island. We'll never return.

  • Liked — Our maid was very nice
  • Disliked — Overall, the people made it a miserable experience. The trash everywhere, the ants and being confronted by drug dealers made for a vacation we will NEVER forget
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gunnyfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    94
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
33
94
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This was our first trip to Antigua, made possible by an exchange through RCI. Antigua Village sits on beautiful Dickinson Bay (found quickly because another TA member -or maybe it was on the forum-wrote to warn us that Dickinson Bay Rd. DOES NOT go to Dickinson Bay-Thank You!). The grounds are lush, the beach is fantastic! We visited in July-the air conditioning is in the bedroom only but with windows on 3 sides of the unit there was a nice breeze that kept the living area comfortable. Mosquitoes were a minor issue in the evening only but we were aware and brought repellent and were fine. The food at both adjacent restaurants was good but do make reservations early in the day. Housekeeping kept our unit spotless! We felt that the staff was on the aloof side(esp. front desk) with the exception of Lloyd-he is friendly helpful and just plain nice! I recommend the "get oriented" meeting-Andrea has lots of information to help you make the most of your visit. We rented a car for the week (prior to going) and were able to see the entire island. Shirley Heights was alot of fun, we thought the snorkeling was the best at Long Bay, and the surf and views at Half Moon are worth the drive! My husband and I agree that the best dining experience was at Broussoli's-and it is very close to AV. And if you are driving to the resort from the airport turn right out of the airport and go north -it is much shorter! But if you get lost-and we did!- the locals are very friendly and helpful! And lastly-you should go on Eli's Eco Tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank pandajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Fl.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

7/7/08-We just returned from Antigua Village. The service from the condo was good. The rooms are not modern. They are adaquate. AC is extra. King beds are actually 2 twins shoved together. Not great for love making. Our room was away from the office and there was the smell of horses and horse droppings. It turns out they tie them up just on the other side of a hedged fence. Pool and beach area is nice, and water is clear. Sandals is next door and you are not welcome on their property or to their amenities. Wifi and internet is available at office for free. If it hadn't been for the woman who had to do her yoga every morning in our view of the beach, it would have been great. Some people think it's all about them. Food is very pricey. Bayhouse Restaurant is close and very good food. New Casino next door which was nice as well. Do get a rental car and get out. See the island. Driving is diffent as it is on the opposite side from U.S. It's worth it. Tours are about $90. US. Rental cars less than $300. for week.

  • Liked — Clean and near the beach
  • Disliked — Proximaty to agricultural animals
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweepygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Antigua Village is a nice place. We stayed in a Studio which was surprisingly very nice. Studios arent my thing! Maid service was good although some days we were only left with one clean face towel instead on two. (whats up with that?) The property itself was beach FRONT but there was really no Beach to lay or play. We did have beach to the left and right of the property though. A short walk which was fine. Two resturants Coconuts (expensive) but good food/the Beach resturant (moderate) but also very good food. If you happend to go down to the Beach resturant ask for Henry the bartender he hooks up a mean rum punch and racing fuel drink! Tell him i said hey mon! Further down the beach (sandals side) Tony's beach hut was very good and inexpensive for the amount of food you get. If you want Jerk chicken or ribs go there. yum yum. The property must have had a recent fire so the noise in the morning from the workers cleaning up the unit was bothersome but i understand the issue. Pool was great but who needs a pool when u have beautiful sand and water to swim in.
The only bad thing i can say about our room was the mosquito issue (omg!) ate alive and our screen door to the balcony did not shut all the way or lock. The glass door did but not the screen. So take plenty of mosquito repelant!

  • Liked — Room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkbeachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I think a vacation is all about perspective...and if you are going just to relax, catch up on those novels you've piled up, enjoy gorgeous views...then this place is great! Antigua isn't an island where 5 stars would mean too much. Part of the charm in Antigua is the simplicity to it, its seclusion, and its realness...so I think the Antigua Village is perfect for someone looking to just relax and enjoy beautiful weather and ocean views.

My boyfriend has a time share there after coming there on a whim one year. He bought the time share on the second day!

There is a Friendly staff, beautiful grounds (well kept) and a good amount of space to spread out. Yes, I agree that the rooms are a tad dated, but I think its cute and charming...and your on vacation!! What does it really matter? You're getting hot, sweaty and sandy. Would a modern room, with a flat screen plasma on the wall and deluxe toiletries make it better?

Also, the Scuba place down the beach past the Sandals Uber Resort Extravaganza, was fantastic. Incredibly nice instructors and the guy sent us pictures via email FREE of charge. That really made it special.

So, basically...if you are looking for a place to relax, with not a lot of noise, not a lot of children (praise the Lord...that can ruin a vacation), OR young singles oo-ing and coo-ing at each other (a la SANDALS), then this is a great place to be!! I'm going again in August!

  • Liked — Simplicity of everything and close proximity of rooms to the beach.
  • Disliked — Beach could be a little bigger...but they can't really help that too much.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank drantigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We stayed in one of the garden view rooms during our stay at Antigua Village. If you leaned over the porch rail you could see the water. Most of the rooms are not oceanfront and it is a short walk to the water. The beach directly in front of the resort was small. To get in the water, you had to walk down a small pier and take a couple steps down. From the water you could walk up onto the beach. The sand area was small, you really couldn't lay out on the beach itself. I have a child so it was a little hard for me to relax and keep an eye on her swimming since the beach chairs were not directly on the beach. The beach to the right of the resort is in front of Sandals (which is open to the public). Then there is a beach to the left of the resort. It is a five minute walk but well worth it (I prefered this beach). The grounds were beautiful and the pool was nice. The housekeepers were great and even did the dishes. Our room was a studio with a nice sized kitchen. There was a sitting area and a large balcony. We enjoyed eating breakfast out there. Every morning we were greeted by bird and lizards. My daughter enjoyed feeding them. We did have a mosquito problem in our room and had to have the unit sprayed by the management. The room smelled like bug spray for awhile. There were two resturants next to our resort. The Beach and Coconut Grove. Both places were expensive, but you are paying for the atmosphere. I packed a suitcase full of non-perishable food for the room and that worked out great. There is a large grocery store on the island and a little grocery store at the resort. We mainly ate in the room.

Things to do:
-Shirley Heights is a must! Every Sunday afternoon there is a get together. While over looking the harbour you can feast on barbque and drink rum punch. Boy, was the rum punch good. A steele drum band played and the view was breathtaking, the best I have ever seen. My seven year old daughter danced into the night.
-Monday night Pool Party at the resort. It was nice to meet all the people who were staying with us that week. Rum punch and light appetizers were served.
-Rent a car for a day. We rented a vehicle for about $60 for the day. It was well worth it. With the help of a lady in the office we mapped out a route around the island. We went to Nelson's Dockyard (not too much to right home about), Devils Bridge, Darkwood beach, through fig tree drive (which are actually bananas) to Halfmoon Beach. Halfmoon beach was the most memorable beach for me. The water was a pristine shade of blue, I can not even describe. This beach had waves that reminded me of the east coast of the U.S. Definitley make a point in going to Halfmoon!
-Prickley Pear Island. One day the resort trys to get all the guest to go to Prickley Pear. I would definitely suggest this. The island itself was not too far off the mainland. Once there we had our choice of beach chairs, lunch and free snorkling equipment. Oh and rum punch (which was again great). We really enjoyed the snorkling as well.
-Take a taxi to St. Johns for the day. Even though I am terrible at it...the key is to bargain, bargain, bargain.

Overall Antigua village was a wonderful vacation. I would love to come back some day.

  • Liked — Resort grounds, powder-like sand, wireless internet by pool, the beautiful island
  • Disliked — Hard bed and mosquitos
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank liscarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We just returned from a week at Antigua Village. We stayed in V8 which occupies the 2nd and 3rd floors. The room itself was decent. On the second level there was a full kitchen, living room (with a pullout sofabed) and two balconies, one overlooking the pool and the other overlooking a parking lot. On the 3rd level there was the master bedroom and a bathroom. It was a bit of a hassel having one bathroom and it being located on the 3rd level. There was daily maid service but it is more just sweeping and taking out the trash. We happened to be in the room during one of the cleanings and I saw the maid use one of my kids pillows to brush the sand off the sheets. I am guessing that the sheets do not get changed during the week. The outside of the condos look very dated. The grounds aren't extremely well maintained. The hotel advertises that they have a beach, but they really don't. The properties on either side of Antigua Village have proper beaches while Antigua Village has a rock wall with steps down to the water.
Overall, the things we liked....plenty of space in the condo, easy access to two good restaurants and lots of beach activities.
What we didn't like....$7 per day charge for air conditioning, very noisy rooms especially when Sandals (next door) or the restaurant next door is playing music until late at night, no wi-fi, old looking rooms and buildings, disappointed that there wasn't a beach.
All in all, it was an okay place to stay but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and would not stay there again.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms
  • Disliked — Old buildings, noisy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.8 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Property: Antigua Village
Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing