We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Catamaran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Catamaran Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My Husband and I along with Our Four Children decided to take a two weeks Vacation to Antigua. We stayed at the Catamaran Hotel which was one of the most beautiful and Peaceful place. The Catamaran is definately a 5 star,Feona is amazing and goes to extremes to make sure that Her Guests are ok,She made us feel so at home,the hotel is beautifully maintained and very clean Atmosphere. When we would wake in the Morning it is to the sound of the waves from the beach,just a calming and relaxing experience. The Catamaran has it's own private beach which is very clean and just a beautiful site,I enjoyed,My children enjoyed and My Husband most definately enjoyed. It was a experience that I would do all over again. Thank you to Feona and staff for making this a great experience for My Family and I.


The Martin Family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TessamFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    44
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
66
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maldon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous trip to Antigua. It helped that the weather was wonderful (whilst UK covered in snow) and that we were meeting very good friends who have a boat there and were celebrating a 60th birthday. But the other main ingredient for our "best holiday ever" conclusion was the location, vibe and staff of the Catamaran Hotel or "Cat Club."

We have both travelled to Antigua before plus a host of other lovely destinations and had a firm idea of what we wanted from our accomodation this time. We didn't want "all inclusive," it has it's place but not this time. We didn't want a pretentious boutique hotel or a larger impersonal corporate edifice. We didn't want to be "in the thick of it," obliged to join in other people's ideas of fun at three in the morning or to be forced to listen to the latest in noisy exhaust systems as the proud owner demonstrates to a captive audience.

We did want a smaller, friendly, independent hotel with some basic self catering facilities so you could make breakfast and keep beers and wine cold. We did want a location near the action (in this case Falmouth Marina and English Harbour) for all the boaty stuff but off the main road and by a beach with a view. We did want a pool, the sea is lovely but clear water can be so refreshing, free wi-fi and perhaps use of small sail boats or kayaks. And that is precisely what we got.

We also got incredibly well looked after by Feona and Vilma and by Robert, who helped out with the Sunfish dinghies. Service at all times was top class. It was also lovely that other guests were so nice, making for a very social environment, though at times we seemed to be on our own as others toured the sights, and many guests stayed just a night or two as they passed through.

There is a supermarket (Baileys) just up the road (a 3 minute walk) that can meet all your practical needs but shuts on Sunday. Then you need to walk a little further to the Crab Hole Liquor Store. Beers and Wines are reasonably priced and we found a perfectly nice Chilean Sauvignon for 14ec about £3.50! For a light lunch (or dinner) do try Sweetee's, next door to Baileys. They serve burgers etc and daily local specials, the police and bus drivers all pull up for takeaways and dad's bring their children for wonderful ice creams. The girls behind the counter are a hoot and I still maintain they serve the best fries ever...as good as my mum's!

There's loads to do, places to eat and drink at the harbours and it only costs $8 by taxi. But then you could jump on one of the Sunfish and be on Pigeon beach in 5-10 minutes drinking a perfect rum punch at Bumpkins.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simonbMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

we booked a week at the Catamaran Hotel loking for relaxation and chill out from our hectic lifestyles. We got exactly what we wanted. The resort could not be better placed with out room right on the beach. Nothing was too much trouble for Fiona and Thelma. We usually dont return to places we have stayed always seeking new experiences but we will make an execption of the Catamaran and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rampila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We started and ended our trip here at the Catamaran Hotel. We thought it was a great place to stay. Small hotel, very quiet and relaxing, staff were very friendly and helpfull. It is an older hotel but was very clean and right on the beach with amazing views! We had our own porch with lounge chairs. The restaurant (Captain's Quarters) on site was terrific, we ate all our meals there. The food was very good and the owner & staff were great fun! We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We just returned from spending the holidays at the Catamaran Hotel. Even before we got there, I had many questions because i was traveling with my elderly mother. Velma and Fiona, the receptionists were SO helpful. every e-mai i sent before we even went was answered within teh day and I felt so comfortable going. When we arrived the hotel was just perfect. It was just a few steps to the beach, restaurant or the reception area. Everyday, Velma or Fiona made dinner and cab arrangements for us and always greeted us with a smile! On Christmas day, they delivered a black pineapple and a card to our room first thing in teh morning! It was such a nice touch. We enjoyed the view of the "mega" yachts from the beach and the atmosphere was so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. We got to know Martin and his chef at the restaurant and the food was delicious. We will certainly be returning to our "HOME AWAY FROM HOME" at the Catamaran Hotel! Michelle D. NEW JERSEY

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The location is excellent, particularly if you enjoy looking at the yachts in the local marina. The accommodation needs some modernisation and the family suite could be better laid out. There is a beach directly in front of the hotel with free kayaks and dinghies available. You will need a car/boat unless you are happy to use local transport.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Lovely hotel located right on the beach with lovely views over the bay. We stayed in a beach front room which had a lovely verandah complete with loungers and a hammock and step on to the beach...highly recommended. The staff here were really friendly and very helpful. The night we stayed the restaurant adjacent the hotel has just changed hands we did stay for bbq dinner which was great however the breakfast wasn't so good... still I think the staff where still finding their feet! The rooms are clean and air conditioned. The kitchen is well equipped and each room has a large refrigerator. The bathrooms although not huge are well equipped too. It is a short taxi ride into Falmouth Harbour takes around 10 minutes for $20. There is also a small supermarket a short walk away for all your provision needs. There is also a very small swimming pool. Would recommend this place!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
10.7 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.1 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
1.4 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.1 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Property: The Catamaran Hotel
Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing