We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Catamaran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We are still staying here but sadly leaving tomorrow....this is a wonderful and quiet place to stay if you want to totally relax and look out to the sea from your verandah. We had everything we need and if not the friendly staff and owner Feona were here to help. They arranged car hire for us and recommended fantastic restaurants from OJ's at Turners beach, to our local Sweet T's 2 minutes away. Even though we have encountered rain storms, we just sat on the verandah and played dominoes until it passed!
I'm sure we will return to Antigua everyone is so friendly and we will come back to Catamaran Hotel, Falmouth.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms on ground floor and 4 above. I recommend ground floor as you step out onto the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights in July and we had a wonderful time thanks to the excellent staff and Fiona (the owner) being so accommodating and helpful. The first night we arrived rather late and Fiona was kind enough to help us find a place for dinner that was still open. She gave us great trips about Antigua as did the rest of the staff. It was so amazing to wake up every day and hear and see the sea right in front of us. The second we stepped out of the front door, we had the beautiful Caribbean Sea in front of us. All rooms have hammocks so you are able to sit, relax and read a book as you gaze out to sea. The setting was very peaceful and relaxing. You can also use the kayaks for free if you wish to spend an afternoon doing that. The girls at the front desk helped us organize a day trip to Montserrat. The hotel also works with an excellent taxi service, called JB's. We used them every single day as we were there during the off season and had not rented a car. The prices were very good and the service was excellent. We are so happy we chose The Catamaran Hotel for our stay in Antigua and want to thank Fiona and all the girls for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingtalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you feel the need to be pampered, waited on day and night, and need constant entertainment, this is NOT the place for you. However, if you enjoy a tranquil setting, enjoy making your own plans, and want to relax on a beautiful little beach secluded from almost everybody, this is DEFINITELY your spot!

Our stay was in February of this year, and we stayed in one of the first floor units as my wife has difficulty with stairs. Just a few steps off of the patio is the beach with chairs and sea kayaks that are free to guests. You only need to sign a waiver that you are responsible for your safety and if the kayak gets damaged. They also have a couple of sailboats. The beach overlooks Falmouth Harbour, and we spent many days relaxing and watching the big sailboats come in. Often times we were the only people on the beach. Swimming is ok, but the bottom is shallow with silt and some muck.

The room was very nice, small and cozy. Very clean and the cleaning staff visits daily. Air conditioning worked perfectly if we wanted to use that, or else open the windows for some island breezes. The room also had a small kitchenette and a refrigerator so those interested in cooking can feel free to do so. The accommodations are nothing elaborate, but everything is comfortable and clean and all of the appliances are in good working order.

Regarding dining, there are very few options in the immediate area. Cambusa is the only restaurant in walking distance, we ate here a couple of times and enjoyed our meals. Sweet T’s is a short walk to the end of the driveway and a right on the main road. We found that to be a good place for lunch and snacks. There is also a small local cook house at the end of the driveway that serves lunches where you can get some delicious local cuisine and mingle with the locals. The main road is also serviced by the local bus that will take you to either St. John’s or English Harbour, or the hotel will easily arrange a taxi.

Bailey’s Grocery is slightly past Sweet T’s and the place to stock up on drinks and snacks if you’re lounging around the beach, since there is no on-site beach bar/restaurant, and foods if you choose to cook in house.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating, with Feona Bailey the owner, who is a very gracious host who helps make sure that everybody has a great experience! We will definitely choose the Catamaran for our next trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I travel to Antigua en route to the USVI a couple of times a year. We had a one night stay with our daughter and son-in-law due to flight connection difficulties and were very pleasantly suprised with this charming hotel. We arrived late due to a flight delay and received a very warm welcome from Eric who was very helpful in settling us in to our rooms. It was off-season so the on-site restaurant was closed but on recomendation from Eric we walked to the local bar, Sweet Ts and had a lovely meal, served with delicious fruit crushes - this place has a great atmosphere and the staff were wonderful. The rooms at the Catamaran, whilst not luxurious, were very comfortable and had everything we needed. What a bonus to be able to hear the gentle waves washing up on the beach - very relaxing. The next day we spent on the small beach and had lunch on the verandah outside our room - the kitchenette has all that you need for self catering. It was lovely relaxing in the hammocks whiling away the few hours until our time to depart to the airport. Feone, the manager was very lovely and we will definately return to the Catamaran Hotel when we return again in October.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffany61_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Catamaran Hotel for 5 nights. Service at the hotel was great. The girls in the office were always willing to help us with our plans. The housekeepers, grounds keepers and security were all very friendly and did a wonderful job at keeping the hotel looking nice.

There is a laundry service available at a very reasonable rate. It is sent out but it was returned to us early the next morning.

Sleeping was great. The hotel is very quite. The chairs and hammocks on the veranda are wonderful to relax on.

There is a BBQ grill on the grounds that we used to grill some fresh fish. Kayaks are also available for free. It was nice to kayak in the harbor and look at the beautiful boats coming in and out of the harbor.

There is WIFI at The Catamaran but we found that in order to get a good signal, we had to walk to the beach or near the office. They let me use a computer in the office to check in for our flight and print our boarding passes.

The only thing I regret is that I didn't have time to jump in the pool.

If you stay at The Catamaran, eat next door at Cambusa. Great Italian restaurant.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaicajeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Only spent two nights here at the end of our trip and we did have a hire car as we were bird watching inland and swimming on a different beach every day.

The room facilities are reasonable and everything for preparing simple meals is provided.

The owner/manager Feona is hands on and wants you to enjoy you stay.

I endorse the review by AlliecatOOB as been similar to our experience of this hotel.

Do not stay here if you want what Sandals offers but it you want friendly, small, comfortable, laid back and very local then give it a try.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We’re comfortably perched on the veranda of the Catamaran Hotel at Falmouth Harbor in Antigua, watching bananaquits and bull finches compete for crumbs we set out on the railing. Waves lap the beach – one of 365 the island boasts – and coconut palm fronds rustle in the breeze. We’re the only guests about and it’s so quiet and relaxing that it’s meditative. Next door, the marina’s many yachts barely move.

The ideally situated and slightly weathered two-story 14-room hotel exudes an Old Caribbean/British West Indies charm, down to its white columns. Our modest beachfront room with the requisite kitchenette is just steps from the soft white sand and from a deck and swimming pool. A massive ceiling fan plus screened door and windows make air conditioning superfluous, even during this hot, dry season. An unobtrusive staff keeps the place shipshape and immaculately clean.

A short gravel lane leads to a neighborhood grocery store and Sweet T’s Ice Cream Parlour and Snackette, an island version of DQ that became our nightly haunt for a refreshing and delicious scoop of rum raisin, coconut or peanut.
A couple miles down the main drag, English Harbor draws yachties from around the globe and bustles with numerous bars and restaurants. Just beyond is the richly historic and impressive Nelson’s Dockyard, built in the 1700s as a hurricane hole for the British navy. High above, Shirley Heights affords spectacular views.

Each afternoon after a morning of sunbathing, we ventured farther afield in our trusty Nissan Almera, repeatedly getting lost on the narrow, rugged, unmarked roads and occasionally dodging errant goats and chickens. Large green directional signs sprout up sporadically, their words too faded to read. The exceptionally scenic Fig Tree Drive – named for the ubiquitous banana trees ¬– winds through quaint villages, hills and rain forest before descending to hug the west coast.

At Jolly Harbour, we embarked on the unforgettable daylong Eli’s Eco Tour aboard a 52-foot power cat, learning about Antigua’s turtle sanctuary, its dwindling deer and snake populations, its migrating pelicans and the importance of conserving mangroves and flats systems. We snorkeled above coral heads; explored the incredible rock formations, cave and natural bridge at Hell’s Gate, where the Atlantic and Caribbean mingle; and hiked to the top of Great Bird Island. Lunch brought plenty of tasty barbecued chicken, salads, fried plantains and banana cake, and the locally made passion-fruit and tamarind juices flowed liberally.

Other memorable meals during our weeklong vacation included West Indian chicken curry; mahi mahi, both grilled and beer-battered; tilapia in tacos and sandwiches; and wahoo in garlic sauce.

As usual, we made the obligatory pilgrimage to the typically chaotic capital city and cruise-ship port, in this case St. John’s, where we minced along crowded, broken sidewalks just long enough to procure a highly anticipated chicken roti from the acclaimed Roti King. We then bolted for more low-key and interesting locales: the well-preserved sugarmills at Betty’s Hope; the waves crashing dramatically at Devil’s Bridge, another natural formation; and Priscilla Looby’s colorful hilltop gallery, where we bought a vibrant oil painting she had completed that morning, our souvenir of another amazing tropical vacation.

Room Tip: Choose beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlliecatOOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
0.9 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
249 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Antigua Village
Antigua Village
#9 of 16 in St. John's
217 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,076 reviews
10.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: £125 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing