We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful experience”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Just got back from an eight day trip at the Coconut Beach Club (from Nov. 18-26). Overall all we had a great time there with just a couple of snags. Here is an overview of our experience.

Arrival: after spending nearly an hour in line (queue) at immigration, the ride to the resort is a 30 minute trip. Upon arrival at the resort the receptionist had a cold towel waiting for us and a nice glass of rum punch. It took only three minutes for check-in and a porter brought our luggage to the room.

Room: we had a third floor room. It was basically a one bedroom apartment with 2 beds and 2 decks and ample closet space. It had no refrigerator, but once we let Reception know we had one the next day. The frig, however, does not get filled. Had to go to town to buy some soda. Found out at end of trip that you can buy a package to have beverage stocked, Air conditioning worked well. Hammock on deck was nice and was used at twilight each evening. The shower's pressure and temperature was hit or miss. The cleaning staff did a great job of keeping the room clean.

Beach: the selling point for the resort. It was gorgeous and it was kept clean by the staff. It was also the only resort on the beach and it never felt crowded. It was not hard to get a beach chair at any time, although one day they did run out of towels early in the afternoon.

Meals/Bar: I would agree with most people about breakfast being a disappointment. The breads were good, limited on fresh fruit and the only eggs were scrambled. Again found out at the end of the trip that you could request an omelet. Lunch was good, something different every day. Dinner was the highlight, but limited menu. Two appertizers, one soup, and three main courses ,unless you wanted lobster or steak for an additional charge. The chef did an excellant job in preparation and never had a bad meal. The bar was a nice place to visit before dinner to socialize with the other guests. The variety of drinks were somewhat limited, no peach schnapps or amaretto, but what you did order was very tasty and strong. Watch out for the Diet Coke, very weak in syrup.

Staff: they were great! They would bend backwards to help with anything you needed. They helped us book all our trips off the resort and made sure we had a taxi for the trip to the airport. All were friendly with a smile anytime you said hi to them. Ask for Tony if you need a taxi, gave a great trip around the island.

It was a great time just to sit around the resort and meet the other guests, Being the only Yanks there, it was great to talk to all the Europeans about their lives. A special shout out to Paul and Debra and Mike and Philippa who were great couples to hang out with and made the time even more enjoyable.

Conclusion: if you like a quiet, restful place, with no loud music playing, no pool games, and no timeline, this is the place to go. It was a good price for what you got and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good, peaceful time. It is really the staff that made Coconut Beach Club a great place to stay.

P.S.: for those who mentioned about the two dogs, they were picked up by the humane society right before we left.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Beautiful resort with amazing food and the friendliest team make this an excellent choice for holidays in Antigua.
Ideal for adults looking to do nothing much but chill out. Sand flies are a nuisance, but this is Antigua in general.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Youngkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Just spent 2 weeks at the CBC and found it better than I expected. I agree with most people the rooms are a little dated and it has a rustic feel, but there is a new manageress, and she is trying to update the rooms and hotel.
Food was good, breakfast could get a bit same old same old, bacon, sausage, eggs, beans, fruit and cereal. Lunch was always salad, soup, and something hot like pasta or curry. Now the evening meal was good, you got a choice of 4 starters, 4 main meals and 4 puddings, and you can pay extra for lobster and steak.
The week before we got there 2 stray dogs arrived, we called them Bruno and Polly, they were so funny, they would walk up the beach with you and sit with you at your bed, and all they asked for was a tickle behind the ear and possibly a morning sausage or bit of bacon. Now the ground staff did not like the dogs and used to kick them, one our last day I caught one chasing one with a shovel, so I chased the guy and yelled at him, other guests also had words with them after seeing them hurting the dogs. Lots of guests mentioned this to the manageress and still nothing was done.
The hotel staff are great, and go out their way to make your holiday special, bit it's a shame the ground staff don't have the same attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scubawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just returned from a weeks break at the CBC, a lovely place, lovely people, though the meals were disappointing, especially breakfast which was not very good. All rooms have sea view which is the best part of this hotel. The beach itself is quaint and tranquil and the sea can be a little rough at times so go careful when you go for a dip! There are 2 dogs that plod about who are harmless and are pleased to see you, they just come and say hello, though we were concerned about the ground staff that did seem to be aggressive towards them, Keep your eyes out if you do see anything nasty towards Mr and Mrs Dog and report it to the manageress.Most of the guests loved them. Rooms are kept clean and tidy, and the staff seem to enjoy their jobs. A week here is more than enough, sunbeds were on the thin side they need a few more, and the beach towels were always running out, For such a small hotel these things should not be happening. Evening meals have a time book system, quests become greedy and go in regardless which the hotel should manage this effectively but they dont, so guests will be waiting a while for their meal, This happened to us frequently, and Clifford was constantly apologising for this, on the whole this could be a fab place to go just needs tlc and constructive management.

Room Tip: high floor rooms have the better view, aircon seems to be much quieter, and the bugs dont seem to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morleyjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had a week at Coconut beach but it wasnt long enough! We had the best time just relaxing in the sun.

We only had one entertainment night but we knew by the other reviews there wasnt going to be much. They aslo do a cocktail night with the manger, the only negotive thing we have got to say is that she spoke to everyone but us, she just walked pass us to the guests next to us, we wasnt sure weather it was because we were younger then the other guests or not. But saying that she was pleasant when we saw her before we left.

The bedrooms are facing the sea which is great and you all get hamocks on your balcony which is quite nice. Our bedroom was massive and we couldnt fault a thing, we were really happy with it.

The staff are fantastic, at meal times you are never with out a drink, be it wine or water and your plate is never empty. You can choose what time you would like to have dinner in the evenings which is also quite helpful!

On the beach we had two dogs, the staff do not like them, but they are the most friendly dogs i have meet, so dont be put off by other reviews! they just need food and love.

We went on a trip called adventure antigua, it was great we had such a good time, we would definatly reccomend it.

We took both US dollars and Eastern C Dollars, and we really struggled to use our Eastern C Dollars. All they deal in is US dollars even in their gift shop, so i would advise you just take US Dollars.

All together we had an amazing honeymoon an would definatly go back!!!

Room Tip: deluxe junior suite room. Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 548Samm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

....... your idea of a pleasant holiday is a quiet, rustic and quaint location right on a beautiful curving beach, WITHOUT 3 restaurants, 5 swimming pools, kids club and noisy nightlife! Entertainment here amounts to a weekly manager's cocktail party and a steel band on Sunday evenings. At other times, being a small hotel, there is the opportunity to meet other guests around the outside bar all through the day, not forgetting afternoon tea at 4 p.m. The staff are excellent and rooms very clean, but the bathrooms, although functional, could do with a little up-dating. We booked excursions on the Jabberwocky yacht which was fantastic, a helicopter flight around the volcano on Montserrat and a cat to Barbuda. My wife and I spent 2 weeks here celebrating our 55th Wedding Anniversary. The only downside was the presence of sand flies but the hotel did a 'fogging' around the grounds every other day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colgwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Cannot fault this Hotel---very very relaxing,tho you can get bored. Staff are very good. Evening Meal excellent.
All rooms face out to the Sea --a stones throw away.

While we where there two Stray Dogs invited themselfs which most people fed---HOWEVER the ground staff would mistreat these Dogs---glad to say most guests made their feelings known.

That said the Hotel Staff were excellent--ie those that worked in the Bar and served the food.

Very relaxing time. Met some very nice people also.

If you go ---enjoy---look out for the Dogs

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,884 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,338 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £113 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing