We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even worth it”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not even worth it”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My first impression was alright. Though the resort was less luxurious looking than many other resorts we passed on the way, it was staffed with friendly people and we were informed about everything in a friendly way. The room wasn't too bad, but whenever it rained (which it did quite often), you could hear the water VERY loudly through the air conditioner. At mealtime, the food was mediocre. The serving sizes in the a la carte meals were pitiful. Traveling with 4 German men typically means food is a frequently needed item. With such small serving sizes, it was hard to make it to the next meal feeling well fed. The selection for buffet-style meals was not a large one. Almost every day, the same things were served, and if you didn't like anything, you were pretty much s.o.l. On New Years Eve, they had a party, which was fine, but the loud music kept us up long past midnight, which was not appreciated seeing as I was exhausted and wanted to sleep as much as I could before leaving the next day. The service declined, and even if I would ask for water at breakfast time, it would take 10 minutes before I got water, which they didn't have out and available. Most of the time, we had to get our own drinks from the bar because no one would be there. One night, at one of the a la carte meals, we waited for over an hour for our food. We were about to call a taxi and eat at KFC because we were starving. Overall, the stay was not all that enjoyable. Next time, we will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are conveniently facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Briteedubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We got married here last year, and it was a bit of a learning experience. Our steep learning curve was shortened by the people that we met there on holiday who had been many times and all knew they were going abroad - paradise does come with some demands, such demands made all the more easy by the staff of CBC. Our experience has led us to come back here again this year, meeting once again people who have been here for many years some going back as many as 10 years or more.

Its a tropical climate so expect to have at times a humid climate. There is air conditioning in the rooms, with the rooms having a character of their own. This is not a top of the stop hotel for the rooms you get, but the rooms are clean, well looked after and the staff ensure that regardless of how much sand you drag in with you from the beach, its back to its high standard every day. This place is not about the hotel, its about the people i.e. you and your fellow travelers.

The rooms do not have TV, they do not have radio, this hotel is there for those individuals that want to do little more than be together, meet other humans, interact and relax. Upon your arrival there is a lovely reception with your bags taken to your room, a fridge awaits you with local beers, ginger beers, sparkling wines, coffee, gin, tea. The staff here really do want you to enjoy your experience.

Morning sunshine can sometimes be replaced with torrential rain, its warm, there is the sea, there are a few boats that you can take out, there is wifi and a tv area should you need to do some work, restaurant and bar area and the brand new swimming pool and aging tennis court. There is the beach, many local beaches and many walks if you want to head off on an adventure. 

Each day will see the hotel visited by a vast array of what tropical nature has to offer, lizards, dragon flies, many types of birds including the ever so popular antiguan crested hummingbird, mongoose, mosquitoes and sandflies - albeit the last two on this list don't come visit from 4pm onwards in the main. The days are great, the staff brilliant and the other guests have always been interesting and able to enjoy company.

From 4pm most people head to the bar which is on a decked area, this is the time when you come off the beach and spray with the jungle formula 50% deet. A few hours chatting and relaxing with others catching up on what people are about, with drinks frequently refreshed by the efficient staff, are really what its all about. Most around 6pm head off for a refreshing shower after a swim in the pool and then wear shoes socks and trousers for the evening or more deet to keep nature at bay. Come prepared and you won't have issues. Come without any protection and then find you have to then buy sprays etc and you will be on the back foot and may be uncomfortable. 

If you find you get caught out with lack of coverage with your sprays for the evening then you can use the usual bite creams or go one step into the land of the learned. Take some anti histamine tablets and put pile cream (anusol) on your bites, they don't come up and they don't itch. Life is well again.

This place really is one of the hidden gems of Antigua. The beach is not the best, the hotel is not the best, but they are so much more than you need to relax in. The staff, the setting and other travelers are what make this place. 

Meal time has been mentioned in some reviews. Breakfast has a selection of cereal, fruit, baked products, or cooked hot items (note the hot items are always the same every morning so employ your imagination and vary your choices in the mornings)

Lunchtime meals are plentiful with choice and evening meals are great. Some of the creations in your three courses are simply imaginative and tasteful, my favourite of all time has to be the starter for gingerbread slice with fresh salmon ontop with a swirl of antiguan chili - sounds odd at best but the taste buds really did drop me to my knees. Top marks to the kitchen team.

There are so many great staff here that make the place one of the places to bond with - don't let the reviews of those who were unfortunately prepared or lacked knowledge put you off. We hope to be going again next year - its the doing nothing with such a limited number of interesting people (as its a small hotel) which is so unique and great. Visit their facebook page Coconut Beach Club for more information and photos

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank dozibloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed first 2 weeks in November and yes the hotel is a little tired, but the manager appeared to be looking to improve any deficiencies and I feel confident that she will. Not a 5 star but we had a really relaxing time, which is what we wanted and expected. Staff were excellent along with the food and the general atmosphere of the hotel. Beach was excellent, although did not use the swimming pool. Expect a totally relaxing experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1radders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had a 14day break at this resort and found it absolutely lovely. The fact that it is small and friendly is part of its charm.It isn't trying to compete with the 'big boys',but what it may lack in facilities,it more than makes up for in warmth,charm,friendliness and atmosphere.As has been said,the staff are Brilliant,and cannot do enough to help you - Much better than some of the soulless,offhand 4 and 5 star places we've had the misfortune to stay at in the past.Furthermore,there is a 'genuineness' about CBC and its staff and (very visible and hands on) Management that is sadly lacking in the bigger resorts.We had a 'Junior Suite',which was both spotless and palatial,and we were delighted with the huge balcony with seaview and the hammock! The food was brilliant - 5star quality and service. The drinks were copious and you didn't have to wait all night to be served.Because it is small,all the guests get to know each other and chat,which is also really nice.Beach was cleaned every morning and the grounds were well maintained and attractive.We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return.A very small gripe was the lack of a snack bar offering food outside set mealtimes,as we didn't always make it back in time but this is minor and had we asked,I'm sure the staff could have organised something for us.Drink is available anytime! The insects are a problem as has been stated,but the hotel is addressing it and we met several people from different resorts who had suffered just as much,so the hotel can hardly be blamed for the insects in the Caribbean!,,We'd recommend CBC to anyone - just don't forget the DEET.

Room Tip: A 'Junior suite' is a bit bigger and nicer that the standard size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gymbunny730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My other half and I stayed at the Coconut Beach early november, and feel a a little compelled to write a review in its defence.

Plenty of people have mentioned CB not being 5 star and it needing a little TLC so wont dwell on those bits too much - agree the hotel is a little tired however we felt that was "rustic" and in someways quite charming.

I can not say enough about how freindly the staff were. very attentive, smiling and happy. the new manager had only just when we were there but seemed to be crakcing the whip :)

We stayed in a supirior suite (301a) and as mentioned before, not upto the standards of a suite at the four seasons but again, clean, tidy and perfectly good enough for our stay.

Sand flies.... ok, my other half is a magnet for mossies (normally) so we stocked up on DEET. the strongest you can get hold off (Deet 100 I think) and we came away unscathed. Thats not to say other's didnt but we were ok. We took precautions outside of the sprays and creams...such as not sitting outside uncovered at dusk.

Also AVON do a cream containing Citrona oil... get that for when you want to stay sandflie free... and smell nice too

I know there have been some bad reviews and everyone sees the world through different eyes (and expereinces) however we had a great time at the CB and would go back again.

Rich & Lisa
Berkshire

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We returned on 4 Dec from a wonderful holiday in this secluded private resort. Do not have expectations of more than 3 star accommodation, but the food and drinks are really excellent (including for vegetarians) and the staff exceptionally friendly. To avoid the distress voiced by other recent commentators you will need a DEET containing insect repellant, as many (but not all) people are susceptible to sandfly bites. Swimming off the sandy beach is safe and warm in a secluded bay. The internet services and tennis court are free of charge (bring your own racquets if you want better quality). We look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach. We were on the top (2nd) floor and had no problems of security or wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TennisMadBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was our third visit to CBC and we feel the hotel has lost all of its charm and character
The new bar area and layout ( with the painted dining chairs ) makes it difficult to get a drink without leaning over people and some of the staff are not interested in serving you
The restaurant has lost all its appeal and magic - NOW NO CANDLES AND TABLE CLOTHS other return guests we spoke to agreed with this and the standard of the food whilst still quite good was not up to our previous visits.
For some reason we were put into the same room on all of our visits and there has been no improvement, we had a problem with water dripping onto our air conditioning unit this was resolved with the use of a flipper (see photo) and security is poor with cleaners leaving doors unlocked
The gardens have always been well kept but now the grass is over grown and flower beds filled in
The major problem is sand flies (something we have not experienced in the past) they appear to come from under the new decking area and this problem must be resolved without delay
Who ever thought of building the infinity swimming pool got it totally wrong and with the reorganisation of the bar, restaurant and sitting area it has totally disjointed and spoiled this lovely hotel
We feel some strong management is needed to bring this hotel back to it's previous standards

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oscar stevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
622 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,002 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,320 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing