We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont know what all the fuss is about”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont know what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed 19 February 2008

having come back for a 14 day trip to coconut beach i must applaud everybody at the resort for the most fantastic holiday we have had. i cant understand reviews i have read by people staying there around the same time as us. the food was excellent, staff always had a smile what ever time of day. while we were there we sometimes head people nick picking. one night i recall the second tuesday we were there it was the managers cocktail party hence you have a buffet style dinner. there were a few complaints we heard about, running out of food. i don't think this was the case, it was some people piling up their plates and leaving half which i think is terrible, because you could also go back and get some more if you wanted. anyway three cheers to all of you hardworking people their.

  • Liked — very spacious and clean
  • Disliked — marble floors
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rasstis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We have just returned from Coconut Beach, after reading all the great reviews , I cannot believe we were staying at the same resort ! .

We had a booked a Junior Suite, which was more like a 1star bedsit. The room was smelt of damp, was dingy, the blankets had huge rips in , the kitchen units were all damaged and looked at least 20 years old. The bathroom was horrible and dated, the towels stained and a nasty washed out peachy/grey colour.
The only nice thing was the room was about 20 steps onto the beach. Which was good as you needed to be up by 7.00am to reserve a lounger!! The standard of cleaning was very poor and the room was full of mosquitos dead and alive!

The food quality and choice was terrible, apart from the a la carte dinners which were a bit hit and miss, Lobster ( supplement payable was very good). The beach front restaurant served breakfast and lunch, it had long rows of tables which had to be shared , not at all the romantic break we had planned.
Lunch was served at 12.30 but unfortunatey was barely warm by 1.00pm, the choice was very limited and the service surly.

Dinner BBQ consisted of reheated chicken from lunch, and fish which was unidentifiable by the chef ! A la carte menu consisted of just 3 or main choices, with steak ( like shoe leather), or lobster available at a supplement of $18!

The bar area was small and the seating filthy , not enough seats for the guests, just 4 tables with a few chairs. The drinks available were limited and cocktails basically sugar syrup and rum.

The telephones were out of use in the room for our entire stay and all calls had to be made from the front desk.

To be fair the front desk staff and Clifton the restaurant manager were charming and helpful and tried to get things right, the rest of the staff definately had an attitude problem, often rude ignoring us , breakfast was the worst often waiting 50 minutes for tea and toast which sometimes arrived often did not !

Do not go here if you are looking for a relaxing , romantic break save your money and go somewhere else! Having stayed in the caribbean over 30 times, we know the service can be slow, and rooms a little basic, this was definately one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in, So much for it being a Virgin Flagship !

After 5 days we managed to escape to an apartment at the Suites at Jolly Beach which was absolutely lovely. All though self catering, fully equiped with everything you could need.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank justlimin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALMYRA,PA.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Nice little hotel,very clean and comfortable.Not much beach to speak of ,its badly eroding due to high tide.Very quiet even the bar ,service exellent at bar and restaurants .If looking to get away this is the place.Nice beach just 10 minute walk

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank PHWATKINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Coconut Beach. We went for our honeymoon and were looking for a quaint, romantic, peaceful, and relaxing vacation. We were very impressed with our experience!
The staff was VERY friendly, the location very private, the food good and the amenities were very good.
If you are looking for nightlife, and excitement 24/7, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a beautiful location, quiet surroundings, relaxation, excellent staff, and no rush, this is a great spot for you! This resort only accomodates about 50-75 guests which makes for a quaint environment, and the ability to meet some of the other guests during your stay.

Location/Beach: Very private, beautiful beach, and secluded. The lounge chairs could have been a bit better maintained.

Staff: Excellent! The most memborable is definitely Zauda, the bartender. She is very friendly, funny, entertaining, and makes great drinks.
The Manager was very accomodating and welcoming, always ensuring you were taken care of. The agent at the tour desk was also very helpful, knowledgeable and able to book any type of activity you would desire.

Food: The Dinners were very good (much better than expected for an all-inclusive) There was a different selection every night. We left every dinner very impressed. For an All-inclusizve, we were very pleasantly surprised. It is a sit down dinner with selections instead of your standard buffett. The lunches were fair, with a good variety. The breakfast was basic but good, just nothing extraordinary for breakfast.

Room/Amenities: The room is basic, but clean and nice. It is not an extravagant hotel with lush amenities, but everything you would need, very spacious and clean.

Spa: I had a wonderful spa treatment during my stay with a full body massage, facial, and body scrub. The spa is a one-room hut located directly on the beach. No need for piped in music here, the sound of the ocean was wonderful and you could look out directly to the ocean while being pampered.


Mosquitos: They were not a problem for us at all. I had read and heard about many problems with mosquitos and I typically get eaten alive by them. (we were there during the "peak season" for mosquitos). However we did not see many and only came away with a few bites. We did use Mosquito repellant at all times with 25%+ DEET. The one night I went out with only 10% DEET was the only time I was bitten. So, just keep the repellant on and they will stay away! This really is no different than any other location in the caribbean that we have traveled to.

One downside to this resort is that it is a fair distance from most other attractions on the island (except for St. Johns). However, Antigua is not a large island, so it is not too far, but a bit of a drive or taxi ride to Shirley Heights (definitely a must on Sunday nights), Devil's Bridge, Rainforest, etc..

And by the way, there are NO rats at this resort. The reviews that state this, do not know what they are talking about. There are a few mongoose around, but they are harmless.

Overall this was a great experience. We have wonderful memories and even made a few friends during our stay! We highly recommend coconut beach and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank lessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Europe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We wanted to get away from the shopping frenzy of London, and reward ourselves for a year's hard work. We don't usually go for 'all inclusive' tariffs, but there was no choice in this - we've discovered that Antigua has moved so far towards this strategy that good restaurants on the island are closing down - a great shame.
But Coconut Beach does things pretty well; the food was of a much higher standard than we'd expected. There was still the invariable 'all in' problem: guests who avail themselves of 'free' drinks, and are therefore........er........ not the best company.
But the staff - superb [well, we had one cleaner who incredibly rude and surly, but we encountered her only once]. And the best? The wonderful Zauda, and her apprentices Anthea and Jahinta.These women were born to run the best bars in the world - no mean feat. They do it with style, aplomb, warmth - and I say this sober [i.e. before I've drunk anything as mind-altering as the eponymous Zauda cocktail] and they showed great instinct, getting to know individual guests.
This was my third visit to Antigua, and I was dismayed by some things, including the volume of litter and fly-tipping, blighting the beauty of the island. But Zauda and her colleagues reminded me of the Antigua I encountered first, 17 years' ago.
Coconut Beach will have to keep a close eye on these precious staff. If I ever fulfil that typical journalist's dream of opening a bar, I'll have my dream team in mind........................

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — no choice re. tariff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank HurricaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

We had 2 wonderful weeks at this quiet and chilled out hotel .
The rooms were spacious and all had sea views .
The beach was cleaned daily and all the staff were friendly and helpful particularly Antheair but beware of Zauda she mixes some dangerous cocktails , she's great!
We met some really nice people who helped to make the stay more enjoyable, especially Andrew and Del .Also nice to see to see Des and Eve who we had met in Grenada last year.
The only fault we found was the lack of choice of main courses at dinner.
We read about the mosquitos before going and there did seem to be more than other Caribbean Islands
Would recommend this hotel to couples seeking a relaxing break

  • Liked — beach front location
  • Disliked — choice of food at dinner
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oscar stevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

The Coconut Beach Club is recently under new ownership. The owners have an estate next door, so it seems they are truly invested in the quality here. For a resort, this one is really quiet and not one of the "superclubs" with all the beach activity, motor boats etc... We were here for our honeymoon, but most people were not. Not really a young crowd here, but we met some really nice young couples who were on the same page as us....quiet, relax, great swimming etc...
The value of this resort is incredible. The food (great Chef) and attitude of the staff (Cliffton, Benadette, Reny, Melissa, Unela) was superior. You owe it to yourself to befriend the staff and get some local recommendations on St. John closeby. We set out to St. John a few times and went to some little local places for lunch or Dinner (Home Restaurant and Sheer at their sister resort are must sees!!!). The rooms were big, very clean and quiet.
The beach is really quiet here too, but needed a bit cleaning up like all the Carribean beaches these days with lots of plastic bottles, tops and other plastic stuff. We picked it up in about 1/2 hour. This is the only resort on this beach, so it's seems remote.(Antigua has 365 beaches), You can easily explore most other beaches nearby via rental car or cab (which are a little more private for skinny dipping). Just grab a map and go. BTW: when the wind blows off the Carribean, the body surfing is incredible. Otherwise it's flat calm and great swimming.
For an off resort day and a great perspective of the island, take the catamaran trip that picks you up right at the resort's beach, provides lunch, drinks and snorkeling at an outer island, for about $95.00 all included. They even drop you back at the beach at the end of the day (a few people "fell" off). It was a great way to see the island and other resorts which made us appreciate where we were staying. I would return to this resort in a second!!

  • Liked — quiet, only 15 minutes to major city, only resort on beach, only 38 rooms, awesome svc.
  • Disliked — the beach was dirty, but that's not the resort's problem...it's the litterer's out there.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank grittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing