We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The first time we were here was in 2009 and in 4 years not a lot has changed accept a new great pool. As with most of the reviews we agree the staff are great the food and bar also. Another addition is internet available via a router in your room at a small price and if available. We again went on the Wadadli catamaran, a trip not to missed booked via the ever reliable Frenchie.
The beach is still kept clean and the sea fantastic as ever. We arrived here on Xmas eve and were checked in within minutes after of course a welcome rum punch.
We hope to make a third visit.

Room Tip: All rooms good as all the rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PaulB186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the 1st time we have reviewed anywhere, we felt we had to as we booked this hotel based on the reviews we had read. We were at CBC for the first 2 weeks in December for our wedding. The hotel's location is idyllic on it's on own beach. We had 2 junior suites on the ground floor as we were travelling with my dad and son. We booked this hotel out of all the hotels in Antigua as it only has 38 rooms and was looking for a more intimate and personal touch, which we got. It would not suit people looking for entertainment every night as there is none really but this suits us fine. We go on holiday to relax and do nothing much else. If this is you then this hotel is perfect.
We never had trouble finding a sunbed on the beach and it there were 5 people in the pool it was busy, most of the time we had it to ourselves. The rooms were clean and basic, but then we only slept there but the beds were very comfortable.
Food in the restaurant was buffet style for breakfast and lunch, good choices but not always hot. A la carte of the evening was excellent, compliments to the chef. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and can't do enough. Clifton who is the restaurant manager, Brent and Cotton were my sons favourites. All the girls in the hotel, Roselle and Anya on reception, Cheyenne who helped with the wedding, Rene, Shaneze, Samantha, Bernadette are all very friendly. Nicole and Cheyenne organised everything to do with wedding, all we had to do was take a trip into St Johns and sign the paperwork.
As advised on all the reviews look out for Frenchie, who is not hard to find for all your trips. He'll do you a good deal! Also the morning of the wedding, we had a couples massage $180, which is quite pricey but is well worth every penny, in the wellness cottage right on the beach. A very nice English lady named Angie is on the beach most days giving massages for a very reasonable price.
We went on a catamaran round the island and to Stingray City, both well worth it. We also got the local taxi driver to take us around the island $120 for the 4 of us, quite safe and he took us to places that you wouldn't normally see on a organised trip.
This resort is very well kept and tidy, I would not hesitate if I found myself back in Antigua to stay in this hotel.
My 13 yr old son says that this is an awesome hotel with kind and friendly staff. The food is gorgeous and rooms are comfortable especially the hammock on the balcony. Look out for Brent and Cotton they are the bros! His favourite drink was a coconut crush.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites better access straight onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was my second trip to CBC. The first time was on a Groupon deal. I had had a good experience so booked a longer stay. I had a a truly excellent stay.

The rooms - quite basic, but definitely not dirty or run down. A bit dated? Perhaps. But on a beach vacation, you should really only be in your room to sleep and to shower for dinner. I appreciated that the rooms don't have TVs. All rooms face the ocean and feature a balcony with one or two chairs (depending on size of the room) and each balcony has a hammock (a pre-dinner snooze on the hammock is recommended by this traveller). I was on the ground floor, which meant my "balcony" was rather a terrace which allowed you to walk right onto the beach, some 10 feet away.

The food - there's breakfast, lunch, tea time and dinner all at set times. Unlike mega-resorts where you can get filet mignon at anytime, as a smaller resort you need to eat at the prescribed times. As a quiet resort, meals tended to be the only way to break up your day or at least let you know when to get out of your beach chair. The quality of the food was good. Many resorts err on the side of caution and present bland, tepidly spiced foods so as to avoid the angry no-neck from a square state coming on TA complaining on the food. Which is a shame b/c Caribbean food is spicy and flavorful. CBC's food isn't full-throttle spicy Caribbean, but at least some dishes are in the flavor profile. I was a fan of the coffee at tea time.

The beach - just tremendous. Big, clean, a bit oversized to the resort. This meant it never felt crowded. If you like the idea of getting your beach chair and doing literally nothing all day with almost no distractions, this has to be the beach to do it.

The service - As a place with "nothing to do" by design, it creates a small town feeling. Fellow visitors get to know each other in a day or two. You talk to different people and develop relationships rather quickly. This extends of course to the staff which are really what makes this resort shine. The bar staff in particular are outstanding - all are easy going and keep after dinner drink time hoping by virtually being the entertainment. Renee has to be my hands down favorite - the girl is full of life and belongs in Movies. She just sparkles. I also loved Kemoy who made the best Old Fashioned Rum Punch.

The visitors - It's a heck of a lot of Brits. I would say it was a good 70% Brits, 15% Americans and the rest other Europeans: Germans, some Russians and Italians.Americans will have to decide if this is a pro or con for themselves. I think if you are proud to be American but aren't a d-bag about it, usually you are fine and most Brits like talking about America and US culture. It's when you are a show-off or a drunk jerk, you end up having the Brits look at you like you have 10 heads. I will say this - as a Solo Traveler, I NEVER felt uncomfortable, and I attribute that to the fact that most ppl were British.

The long & short - if you want a total stress detox vacation, this is the best it gets. No kids, no TV. Pure relaxation.

Room Tip: All Rooms Face the Ocean with Balconies. If you like more privacy, ask to be on 2nd level or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just returned from our fifth visit to the CBC, having last been there two years ago. Since then, they have a new chef and the food, especially for evening is exceptional. Clifton is managing the restaurant and nothing is too much trouble for any of the hotel staff. There is also a new manager who is a lower profile compared to her predecessor, but is always keen to talk to the guests at the manager’s cocktail evening.

Met a few people who were unhappy with the beach and the mosquitoes, but due to the wet stormy weather before we arrived it brought a certain amount of rubbish to the beach and brought out the mosquitoes. The hotel ‘fogged’ the gardens etc ever other day to try and control the large amount. However the hotel is not responsible for the weather and they always try their best.

The only other thing of note that has changed since our previous visits is the clientele include some Canadians and Russians in what was previously a place frequented by British holidaymakers.

It's also worth pointing out that it only takes one hour from landing at the airport to being in your room as the transfer time is very quick. Other resorts on the other side of the island can take much longer.

Still great value for money and will definitely return again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms and all are only a few steps from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Berkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband & I were able to secure a day pass for the resort as a cruise passenger last week. The resort was quiet and totally relaxing. Beautiful pool and beach! Enjoyed chatting with a few onsite guests who reported very favorable experiences leading us to consider a stay of more than a day in the future. Plentiful drinks from the bar and a delicious lunch buffet were included in the day pass. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaCruzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Back amongst great people and a lovely environment.

This is the third year that we have travelled to Coconut Beach Club and once again it is great to see the staff.

The rooms are basic but functional, the cleaning service efficient, the grounds well kept, and the food of a good standard with the catering staff only too happy to fulfil any requests. Please remember this is the West Indies and as such you will need to fend against mosquitoes, sandflies and other insects. Don't fall into the trap of educating yourself on your holiday, do the research before and protect yourself from bites. Sit and relax whilst watching the stunning wildlife at CBC, a range of hummingbirds, lizards, birds and butterflies.

I am pleased to say that not much has changed over the years at CBC. Why change a resort where you can go to relax and talk to likeminded people from around the world without all of the graces and noise that sometimes comes with larger resorts. If you want somewhere unpretentious and simply aim to relax in a beautiful country, then CBC is the place to go. There are a number of room type choices for those with a bit of work to do during the rainy weather, with a range of facilities wifi, coffee & tea, fridge, air conditioning, driers, etc. During the sunny periods which are the majority of the time, new wooden sun loungers and beach shades can help you collect your tan.

On this visit the hotel was busier than usual bringing a variety of characters, some looking to have fun others simply to find fault with what is a beautiful venue. This hotel does not purport to be 5 stars, but it has all that is required for those that wish to relax, converse with fellow visitors and spend time finding out about the country they are visiting. The Antiguan people are very accommodating and polite. Woe betide anybody who is narrow minded and can't chill, there is nothing here for the busy body, no tv's in the room, no planned excursions, no beach vendors - if you want to go on holiday and relax go to CBC and just simply relax.

It was pleasing to see the hotel still has its limited watersports facilities. Utilising the small sail boat brought many hours of exploring the coastline in the baking sunshine with the flying fish and rays swimming alongside. As always I was happy to teach those that have never sailed before, adding a different dimension to seeing the island.

For those that wish to head off running in the morning to keep up their fitness, 6.30am is a good time to start before the sun makes its appearance. A few good hours running will see you down to Jolly Harbour, Sandalls or English Harbour and back for breakfast. The roads are polite with drivers making way for you and wishing you well beeping their horns.

Its a lovely little place, out of the way. If you want somewhere quiet then this is the place. If you want somewhere to be vocal and be busy amongst large numbers of guests then this is not the place for you. You won't find an all inclusive wrist band here as the numbers of people are so low. What you will find is a quiet place where being an individual matters to the staff, and they will do everything within their power to ensure you enjoy your stay. The golden rule is to be interested in the place, the country, and more importantly the people. Do this and your holiday will not only be something special, but it will be a place to remember and one that you will want to revisit and say hello on a regular basis.

Great little resort.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are larger and come with additional items. All room types are functional, and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dozibloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 week stay here, food superb, staff great fun and friendly, rooms spacious and clean, all you need !! And as many Piña Coladas as you wish ...aahhh. The gardens and beach are well kept, one day an overnight storm brought a lot of rubbish and debris onto the beach, but we all soon had it cleared, the groundsman, myself and everyone on the beach. The beach was kept clean all the time in front of the hotel, and who needs to look under decking? Being a small resort makes it so friendly, everyone is sociable...a great mix of people from different countries. Please everyone, buy from Iris the jewellery seller who sits on the steps leading to the beach, even if you don't buy, she is a wonderful lady to talk to and pass some time with, and she loves a Coconut Crush!! We had a great trip around the island with Tony, just ask at reception.
A big Thankyou to everyone, you all made our holiday special. And hello to Linda and James, hope you get to Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyLinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,899 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: Pob 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £114 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing