We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total chilation”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Queenborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Total chilation”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Absolute relaxation such a cool little hotel the staff are brilliant and very very friendly from front line to back room. It's not Sandles but This hotel would be spoilt by all that false glitz. Yes the place is tired but that is part of its charm, we found everything was clean the food was great, close to fine dinning and there was a good variety. We enjoyed this place and we will be back this year.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RovingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California, United States
Level Contributor
370 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We bought the day pass for $50 which included lounge chairs, towels, all beverages, and a buffet lunch.

The property is a bit run down but it served our needs quite well, we moved the lounges to a quiet part of the beach and just relaxed. The pool was wonderful also, and lunch was surprisingly good.

The most negative issue is that the cove is a haven for the island's trash, this is where it all makes landfall! They need to have staff clean the beach regularly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Initially I was hesitant to go to Antigua as I thought there was not a lot to explore. I also wasn't excited about this value resort. I was happy to be proven wrong!!!
The resort itself is a little dated, but everything was clean and we had everything we needed. There was a bit of a mix up with the room but the manager set things right. In any case, we were shown to a room immediately upon arrival.

There was never a problem getting a beach towel, or a lounge chair on the beach. It is quite a large beach for the size of the resort. We took a kayak out one day and on another walked to a nearby beach where the water was calmer. We did not encounter jellyfish in the water or debris on the beach while we were there. We did, however, meet the mosquitos and sandflies. Thanks to some suggestions from a previous poster we went well prepared. The evenings are quite cool so long pants or skirts help and a little bug spray on the ankles went a long way. We didn't have problems with insects during the day at all. We did spend five minutes each night before bed looking for and killing any mosquitos in the room. They were usually on the ceiling.


As stated in earlier reviews, the food is excellent. The buffets had more than enough to choose from, and the food was very tasty. There was a good selection of fruit at breakfast, and fruit and salads at lunch. The hot food was tasty. There was often something being grilled at lunch which was a treat.

Dinner is outstanding. We felt like we had 5 anniversary dinners in our five night stay. I wish I had time to try every offering. On our last evening we met the chef and he took the time to tell us about his training and history. It was much appreciated. The house wine was fine. The sparkling wine was French and surprisingly dry and delicious.


Each member of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and ensure we were having a great time. Renee is so cheerful it is contagious and Karl certainly made you feel secure.

The one and only suggestion I would have for management would be to try to find a way to seal the sliding doors in the room as the gap in ours seemed to be the source of mosquitos.


We spent a day exploring the island, a day out on a charter and the other 3 on the resort. It was exactly what we needed. We actually were totally relaxed by the time we left. The other guests were friendly and there was always someone to chat with around the bar. The sound of the ocean waves were constant which was fabulous.

While I would usually prefer to go somewhere I've never been for our next trip, I suspect we will be back.

Room Tip: The ground floor was perfect for just being able to walk out of the room and onto the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveeasytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in Dec '13 and had a great time. First time on Antigua, a beautiful island and CBC is paradise personified, palm trees, blue sea and white sand, very quiet, less than 40 rooms, so easy to talk to everyone.
Pros: staff are great, Renee, Jahilda, and Cotton, the food is excellent, quality and presentation.
Beach is empty, grounds are very well kept, our Virgin rep was great, superb day out on the Excellence Cat.
Cons: rooms are a little tired, fairly standard for the Caribbean, cleaning of the rooms could be better. No egg chef in the morning. Pool is good but could be bigger. Isolated position and taxis are v expensive on the island.
All in all, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilledout12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have just got back from a lovely 7 day holiday at CBC over New Year and had a fantastic time. The hotel is perfect for a quiet, relaxing break as it only has 38 rooms. The beach is big enough to feel like you are on a private beach and a short walk away is Deep Bay beach which is stunning and much less wind.

Thanks to everyone at CBC for a great stay, the staff were excellent and very friendly. The food was fantastic for an all inclusive resort. My only negative comments are the mosquitoes are a nightmare, even with the spraying of the bushes expect to get bitten a lot! Plus I think free bottled water should be provided in the rooms, as the tap was not powerful enough to fill a large bottle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natty_noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this as a day pass while on a cruise and were thrilled when we arrived to a Beautiful beach, that was fairly quiet. We were greeted by very friendly staff and given towels for the beach. We spent the morning swimming and sitting admiring the Gorgeous view and snapped a few shots. We found great value in the price for a day pass, as it included a delicious lunch and drinks throughout the day from the bar. We definitely would recommend this to anyone and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eilin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The first time we were here was in 2009 and in 4 years not a lot has changed accept a new great pool. As with most of the reviews we agree the staff are great the food and bar also. Another addition is internet available via a router in your room at a small price and if available. We again went on the Wadadli catamaran, a trip not to missed booked via the ever reliable Frenchie.
The beach is still kept clean and the sea fantastic as ever. We arrived here on Xmas eve and were checked in within minutes after of course a welcome rum punch.
We hope to make a third visit.

Room Tip: All rooms good as all the rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PaulB186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing