We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Seems to be favoured by mostly middle aged couples who reserve their lounger before breakfast and get to know each other at the bar


Good points

Room opens right out onto the beach only a few steps away
Nice protected beach in pretty bay with good swimming
Clean pool
Food that is plentiful and edible
Staff mostly friendly
Access to kayaks, snorkels, tennis racquets etc


Bad points

suffered from mosquitos and surprised by lack of netting on big windows
Fitted sheets too small for beds and "pinged" off when you lay down on them. Not replaced with flat sheets despite requests.
Rooms a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refurb and only reasonably clean rather than spotless

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for direct beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JaneDSuffolk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two friends and although everyone else was part of a couple the asmosphere was very friendly. As this is a small hotel, you soon got to know people and everyone chats and is very friendly. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely furnished and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. A criticism I would have is that the door to the room had a large gap at the bottom which made it easy for the mosquitos to get in. We had a ground floor room with sliding doors on to a patio with two relaxing chairs and a hammock. The beach was 10 meters from our patio and it was lovely to hear the waves at night.

The beach is beautiful, soft sand and clear blue sea and there is no other hotel on it, so it is mainly used by Coconut Beach guests. The infinity swimming pool is very clean and was never busy whilst I was there. There are two canoes and a small boat with a sail for guest use. The only television is in the communal lounge. Once a week you can go on a guided walk with the Medicine Man who gives you a commentary on local plants. The hotel organises shuttle taxis to Shirley Heights on Sunday nights to see a Steel Band and daily taxis to St Johns (both for for a charge). You can also book excusions via reception or with Frenchie who visits the hotel on a regular basis.

The restaurant was excellent with a good selection for breakfast, we really enjoyed the fresh fruit and the freshly made omelettes. Lunch and dinner were also excellent, with the waiters and waitresses being very attentive and constantly topping up your drinks (wine, water or drinks from the bar).

I would advise people to take plenty of mosquito repellent and room spray as they are a real problem once the sunsets.
The hotel has a tranquil feel to it and was a lovely place to spend a holiday in Antigua. The gardens were filled with pink and yellow flowers and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms all face the beach which is approx 10 meters away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I will preface this review by stating that I just visited the resort for one day while our cruise ship was in port. The resort is very small and quiet with plenty of loungers and shade to enjoy the beach and they provided clean towels. However, that is where the "good" about this resort ends. Non motorized sports are included with the day pass but they only have a kayak and small sailboat (please note, that they will not let you use the sailboat unless you are an "experienced" sailor). The drinks were very small (maybe 5 oz); however, you would not want larger drinks than that as they were almost undrinkable.... in fact... several of the drinks WERE undrinkable. All of the liquor was POOR quality / bottom shelf. Lunch was just ok. The pool is small and does not appear to be heated as it was chilly the day we were at the resort.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Rooms are simple but clean. Phone in room useless.The beds gave us no problems.
Unlike others we did not consider the food to be that great but that is a subjective view. For what you pay it is good value. The staff are not all smiley smiley despite our frequent attempts to engage with them. The reception ladies were very pleasant and helpful. Taxis are hit and miss. We booked one via the hotel and he was an absolute menace. Taking his time and even stopping to get some food with a running commentary calling out to his friends and spitting out of the window.
The hotel has a lot to give. Apart from brief visits to reception the Manager did not seem happy to pass the time with any guests.
People do come back here to enjoy the great beach. Yes the sunbeds are a little tacky but still in the main quite serviceable. Thet are not dirty just well worn but who lies on them without a towel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blazeboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our first time in Antigua having previously been to other islands. I was very impressed with the whole place which unlike a lot of other destinations, is geared up for tourism without being over commercialised. This is evidenced by the cruise ships that come into St Johns most days (take some binoculars - the ships pass the hotel every morning about 300 yards off shore) and the number of T shirt and souvenir shops. Everyone you speak to is friendly, in particular the taxi drivers who are proudly keen to tell you about their island.
The hotel is about 25 minutes from the airport, a bit longer if you get caught in the St Johns rush hour. It is a small place with rooms over looking a wonderful, virtually deserted beach. Walk about twenty yards and you are on the sand.
The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and pillows. Ours was serviced every day. There was an occasional lack of hot water but that happens from time to time wherever you are.
The staff are very friendly, polite and look very smart. The grounds are immaculate.
The food was very good. Breakfast consisted of the usual choices of both hot and cold options and for lunch there was always a selection of hot food and some salad. Dinner was excellent although the portions were a tad small.
Someone has also mentioned the process for booking evening meals - it was annoying as it appeared that all the time slots were being block booked. I am a Wrinkley and it wasn't me!
There are enough sun loungers on the beach although some are very grubby and you might also have to drag one from further down the beach.
For trips Frenchie is your man and he is by the hotel restaurant most mornings. We did a trip to Barbuda on a fast motorised Cat. Be warned if you are infirm or get sea sick easily this is not the trip for you. It's nearly two hours each way and once you get into the Atlantic it's very choppy. However, the beaches on Barbuda are worth going to see.
The other trip we did was round the island in an air conditioned 4 x 4 with lunch included. This was the highlight of our stay. We were taken to some wonderful beaches and sites including Nelson's dockyard, Betty's Hope and Devil's Bridge. Take a map with you so you can see where you are going. Our friendly driver Rebus was also very informative.
This is not the hotel if you want night life. There is no entertainment in the evening apart from the occasional visit of a steel band. For anything more lively you need to get a taxi into St Johns.
Most of the residents were Wrinkleys like me (busy spending the kids' inheritence) who enjoy these kinds of places at this time of year, where there are no kids. Even so a bit more in the way of evening entertainment wouldn't go amiss.
Unfortunately, the main thing that cast a shadow on an otherwise enjoyable holiday was the mossie and sand fly bites. I think this was down to the lagoon at the rear of the hotel. We always travel with every sort of anti bite preparation and plug in you can think of and we thought we were well prepared. We even managed to obtain one of those tennis bat shapped bug zappers which did help in the room. However, this was to no avail - we fought a losing battle and were both eaten on a regular basis.
All in all, good in many parts...apart from my arms and legs!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pegasus534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from two weeks at the Coconut Beach Club,and had a great time. This is a small hotel and on arrival it was so quiet my wife and I were not sure if we would enjoy it.How wrong could we be....when shown to our room you are met with a beachfront view and a large balcony complete with hammock. All the rooms are facing the beach and the only sound is the waves.The rooms have all you need and are very clean and comfortable.It took us a while to relax into the pace of the place but the club really grows on you. The beach is very good however the water was choppy all the time we were there. About a 15 minute walk away is Deep bay which is beautiful and very calm for swimming.When we did walk there we were often the only two people there it was idyllic.The staff and service is first class and all the meals were excellent.It is buffet for breakfast and lunch and dinner most nights is a la carte.There is also afternoon tea at 4. We used the hotel shuttle for a trip to St John shopping. A taxi from the hotel with our driver "Sweet Tony" who gave us a 4 hour tour of the island for $30 each a minimum of 4 people is a good trip. We also took a walk with the medicine man from the hotel which lasted about 1and a half hours and is very entertaining.Be warned you do climb up Fort Barrington so good shoes are advisable.We had a great holiday and most guests had stayed at the club before which say's it all really. Will go back,when you go you know!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DJM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned Feb 2014 - The property has good sized rooms all with sea views. The only problem I found was it is more like an old peoples home than a hotel. Everybody was retired or nearly so. There is nothing to do there unless you are on an organised trip. None of which are what I would call cheap. The food is quite good and so is the service in the restaurant but a negative here is you have to book a timeslot when you want to eat and the wrinklys tend to book in there mates as well as themselves so you end up with no chance of eating between 7pm & 8.30pm . Also, the maintenance staff appear to be elusive as I had to request at reception twice to unblock the toilet as they failed to appear after 3 hours. Also the porter goes missing, as I requested the cases to be collected upon leaving but nobody turned up and the young girl receptionist ended up collecting them herself? Overall it was a good holiday with the exception of a dodgy stomach and the fact that as a result of there being a brackish lake at the rear of the hotel you are eaten alive by the mossies. Beware the Wrinklys ( bed bandits ) saving the sunbeds, they are worse the our German friends and they don't give a damn.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same , just a case of whether you prefer ground 1st or 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,899 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: Pob 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £114 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing