We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day at the Beach!”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to this resort for the day while in port on a cruise. It was a great day! Prior communication was quick and easy. After about a 15 minute cab ride from the port, we found ourselves at a very nice resort with wonderful staff. After checking in, we were given towels and shown to the pool and the beach. The beach is about 300yds long with white sand. It is pretty secluded and there seemed to be plenty of chairs in the shade to go around. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beach was clean with and the water was clear. Our kids enjoyed the pool as well as the beach. The cost was $50US for the day was a great value and included lunch, drinks, towels and snorkel equipment. The area is very quiet and totally relaxing. The area around the resort seems a bit run down, but grounds were well kept and clean. Certainly it is not a 5 star resort, but it is really a good place to relax for the day. There was a very nice lady that came around and offered massages and manicures. If I was staying for longer than the day, I might have indulged. At lunch time, there’s a nice buffet, with fish, curries and other local treats. The seating at meal time is open air, so you do have to shoo away the sparrows at times, but not a major deal. There’s also a couch area for relaxing and a nice bar. It was a great way to spend the day, and I would definitely return at some point for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just got back last night from our stay at the Coconut Beach Club in Antigua and I have to say what an enjoyable relaxing time we had! We Stayed From April 12th till the 17th and Couldn't have asked for a more relaxing time. No young children...more adults only. We stayed in room 102b on the ground floor and out the back slider and deck the beach is really like only 30 feet away! Everything was clean and the grounds were cared for everyday, and the people were all very nice to us. If you are going looking for a Sandals type resort... this is not it! This is Peace and Quiet...Beautiful Beach...and a wonderful breeze most of the day. It was like we had the Beach to ourselves, and the Ocean water was Fantastic!
Look for" Frenchie "for booking any excursions you might want to do... He was terrific.
The food was nice and tasty...Buffet for Breakfast and lunch...and a la carte for dinner. Men bring long pants with you and collared shirts for dinner most nights. Drinks were anything you would want in a tropical resort and they had bottled water for sale and free refills in the gift hut.
Don't believe the Cruise ship people that were there for a day in these reviews...the resort although older and could use some paint ...it is a real Diamond....But don't tell anyone...I want it to be the same when we return....the Best kept Secret in Antigua!!!

Room Tip: Although people had said in previous reviews the bugs and mosquitoes were bad...we didn't have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We found this gem online. Have gone back every year for the last 5 years! Love it! No it's not near as fancy as Sandals or the other BIG name places. But it is clean and friendly and relaxing. And with only I think.32 rooms it is NOT crowded at all. Never had a problem with the pool or with the staff that worked there or with the guests staying there. Made some really good friends from our visit Everyone is so friendly. We did have a problem with a few people coming in for the day off the cruise ships. Fellow Americans that were VERY rude, demanding and nasty! A few were kind of drunk when they arrived and of course it just got worse. Getting sick on our beach then using a lounge chair to hide it so no one would know until they left. Actually setting on our deck and when I asked them to leave acted like I was in the wrong! I have apologized to the guests there for the way SOME of my fellow Americans have behaved while being there. Hopefully the future cruise ship guests WILL be nicer! Don't forget to take spray to keep the mosquitoes away. Remember you are on an island. Not at home. We will be returning soon and I just can't wait.

Room Tip: We think the ground floor rooms are better. No steps and you have a clear beautiful view of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mimma843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Where to start.
Hotel - clean and tidy. I would describe it as Shabby Chic.

Food - very good. All you can eat breakfast and lunch. Dinner ( must wear long trousers and collared shirt. Polos are ok) is "a la carte" so if your looking to stuff yourselves silly, I can tell you this not going to happen. It is good quality food served in nice size portions.

Rooms - see review below but very good.


Drink- there are plenty of choices. My wife's favorite was Pina Colada but i must recommend the Coconut Martini. Got a kick to it. Even bought some Coconut Liqueur back with us.

Bar,Dining areas - open plan and a nice breeze blows thru. Service in both areas are excellent.

Pool - is great. Not to big and is never used. No idiots splashing around and making a fuss. You can take a leisurely swim or do a few lengths.

Beach - is the cherry on the cake. It is great. It is clean and half a mile long. The water is so warm and clear. Some people say it is a bit choppy but my wife has hip problems and found it easy to swim in. Gently shelving so no surprises. Plenty of sun loungers and you do not get people putting towels out at night or early in morning saving them. BUT I MUST TELL YOU the best beach is 15 mins walk from hotel, Deep Bay. Even the locals will you it is. It is fabulous and no one on it. There are no amenities on the beach but there is a hotel at the far end (hardly used) and you can bluff your way in if you need the loo. The water is calm as it is out of the breeze and it is beautiful absolutley beautiful.

The Staff - fantastic.

Trips - see Frenchie around the pool area. He can sort out any trip you want with a no hassle. He does not pester you just give you all info you need and if you want to book one he's the man. Tip - all trips are same price where ever you go the same as taxis. They are controlled by the Government. We did the round the island trip on a cat. It actually pulls up on our beach and then drops you off. No taxis involved. Great trip with snorkelling when you stop at an island (kit provided) food and drink. Toilets on board. Great crew. Gets a bit choppy on Atlantic side.

Hotel transfers - i pre-booked ours and to be quite honest you should just get a taxi $20 each way. I paid double that. Hotel will call taxis for you


All in all great Holiday. Peaceful, relaxing, great food, great beach. If you want noise then go to somewhere that has 100's of rooms and people to match. This place has 38 rooms they are all beach facing ( 20ft from it) and you can listen to the waves all night. This review is a true reflection on this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in a top room. Beautiful views thru palm leaves and all the birds will come to you as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to this hotel for the day when we were in port on a cruise. It was wonderful! They had plenty of chairs and palapas to go around. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beach was clean with hardly any rocks and the water was clear. The pool was great as well. The cost to go there for the day was a great value and included lunch, drinks, towels and snorkel equipment. The only thing they could work on is the bartender didn't seem to have very much experience so the drinks were hit or miss.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny0343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent the day off the cruise ship with friends and had a wonderful time, the staff was very friendly and the food and drinks just kept coming. Really nice to go to a beach and not be bothered by locals selling their wares.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimWinnipeg_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just returned from a fortnight at this idyllic location. The staff were delightful and made you feel special at all times with their non stop friendliness. Each and every member of staff would help you in any way they could with a smile and a "you are welcome" after each request. We met lovely people from all nations and all were friendly and enjoying themselves.On occasions cruise liners passed and passengers spent a day at the CBC. Unfortunately on a few occasions the majority were Americans who were obnoxious rude and downright disrespectful to the staff. Many were so obese they couldn't get up off the sunloungers when laying on them and just complained whenever they could. There were two young American people who were staying at CBC and they were absolutely lovely. They even apologised to us around the bar for their fellow countrymen and women. As far as the bar is concerned there was never a shortage of good cocktails and drinks of your choice though a choice of beers would have been a godsend. Overall we thought the whole holiday was amazing and the views were superb too. Go there and find out for yourselves, you wont be disappointed. Nigel and Mandy. Wales.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bestmate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,884 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,338 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £113 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing