We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day !”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We ended up here by mistake we think , perhaps there is a different Coconut Beach somewhere . But having said that , we loved it here ! We said we were there to use the beach and they welcomed us right in free of charge . But once I saw the infiniy pool and the lounge chairs , I stopped there . We ordered drinks from the bar , swam in the pool and beach and had a perfectly lovely day ! It`s a nice quiet resort with friendly staff .
We were in town for a day on a cruise and it was a beautiful way to spendthe day !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrisMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here 27 March to April 10 with no expectations other than peace and quiet.

The location is good with close proximity to St Johns but no public transport, so it meant either a $US15 taxi ride (so cheaper if there is 2 or more of you and the hotel will call a taxi for you) or hotel shuttle at $10 per person. In St Johns, there are buses running all over the island and are cheap and cheerful. Just ask at the station which bus to get for your destination and when you get off, ask the times for going back.

The hotel is in, what appears to be a rural baren area but having hired a car we discovered most of the island is much the same apart from the resorts and public attraction areas.

The grounds, pool and garden areas were kept very clean, attractive and tidy. The public area furnishings are rustic and a little dated with bold flowered covers and white painted chairs (which comes off onto your legs if you have mosquito spray on!) but sort of added to the charm of the place.

Mosquitos are not a problem if you use repellent after 16.00. Earlier in the day it's not a problem at all. The only time we were bitten was in the TV area using the internet and we had forgotten to spray. The reason for the mosquitos is a swamp area at the back of the hotel which houses some wonderful birds (great for the bird watchers). However, I don't think it is any more infested or a problem than other places with tropical weather. The hotel also 'fogs' the grounds at least weekly to minimise the issue.

When we arrived, our room had an extremely old and noisy AC unit so we asked to be moved. The manager was very obliging, apologised and accommodated us in another room the next day, with a new AC unit. There is a programme of replacement and whilst we were there, at least 3 more units were replaced, so it is happening and probably by now, they will all be new.

The room furniture and bathrooms are also dated but functional, comfortable and adequate. This reflected what we had paid so no complaints. The rooms had been freshly painted and were kept reasonably clean (long hairs were a problem and it's always hard getting rid of sand). One small issue was that our room was often not cleaned until after lunch so if we wanted to shower before lunch, the housekeeper was either in the room or the bathrooms were still dirty. There was a difference when another housekeeper did it for a couple of days. The bed was a bit too soft and bouncy for us but again it's personal preference. The bed on the first night was much frimer and more comfortable, so there is a variety.

We chose a room on the first floor for more privacy but all the rooms had fabulous sea views and were right on the beach with hammocks.

The food was more than adequate. Good breakfasts with a choice of hot and cold dishes. I'm not sure what more they could have provided when some people say the variety wasn't enough. Lunches were always soups, salad and a choice of 3 hot dishes. Again the variety was good and always a vegetarian option and a pasta. Fresh tarts/fruit salad/creme caramel/icecream etc. for sweet. Dinner was a sit down, table d'hote with a choice of 3 starters, mains, sweet. Portions for me were more than adequate but some people seem to think they are small. Given that there are 3 cooked meals a day.....? A small afternoon tea was served everyday at 16.00 with sandwiches, cake and coffee/tea. Again, you didn't have to rush, there was always an adequate amount for everyone. Overall, the quality was fine with some exceptional dishes, many average to good and one or two to improve on but that's personal taste. The lobster ($US25 extra) was very good and large. This price is actually quite cheap when you compare it to other restaurants, we paid $US90 each in Frigate Bay.

One tip, don't leave food or drinks on the table uncovered, the banana quits and finches will help themselves, so put a plate on top or serviette when you go to the buffet. The same in the bar with your cocktails. Some people stupidly feed the birds sugar on their balconies and then wonder why they have a room full of birds when the doors are open!

The cocktail bar was super with virtually anything you wanted to drink and the staff would adjust them to taste for you. Water is provided free at the bar, just take your water bottle to them and they fill it up everyday. It closes at 23.00 but you can order a few drinks or ask for a bottle of wine to sit longer or take to your room. This generally adds up to a very lively fun environment early on in the evening but quiet and peaceful at night. Most people seem to be up early walking on the beach for the sunrise. A small problem was people sitting on the upholstered chairs in wet swimming gear (particulary visiting day cruisers). A small sign at the bar or a gentle reminder by the bar staff might help. People staying there were generally more careful about this because they had to sit on them in their evening clothes later on.

The staff are excellent and it's obvious the manager runs a tight ship with good training. The staff overall seemed to happy and worked well together. I could name a few who were exceptional but it would be unfair really because all of them were good. The bar staff were really good fun and capable of taking some joking and giving it back to the guests.

One disappointment for us was the sailing dinghy had a broken rudder and it wasn't repaired the whole time we were there. They said it was a part that was needed but a local boat yard could have fixed it in a couple of hours. Perhaps 2 dinghys would be a good idea. There were 2 canoes to use and snorkel equipment.

The beach was kept spotless by the groundsmen and many guests also picked up plastic bottles etc. on their morning walks on the beach. The sea was rough on occasions which would bring in bits and bobs. The rest of the time it was more calm and it was fabulous to swim in the warm sea. There are plenty of sunbeds and sun shades for everyone.

The visiting day cruisers did feel intrusive and we avoided going into lunch until they had finished because it was like a cattle market. I would recommend they didn't take cruisers but I do understand it generates incomes. However, two lost future guests (i.e. us) is probably not worth the income from cruisers. We would possibly return if this stopped.

Some real positives for us were the fact that there were no children under 12 allowed (in fact we only saw 2 off a cruise) and the entertainment was very low key with a steel band on Sunday bbq night and a singer one night. The manager also holds a cocktail evening with a lone steel drum player.

We normally don't mix very much with others on holiday but we met some great people and had some fun evenings around the cocktail bar, it just lends itself to this.

Overall, a fabulous holiday and we would recommend the hotel to others if you don't mind having day visitors.

Room Tip: 1st/2nd floor rooms are more private. Ground floor just a few steps on to beach. All rooms have a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The entrance to the hotel has an almost open air low key reception. Only about 36 rooms and adults only. We had a lovely room with 2 very large single beds, plenty of toiletries etc in the bathroom and with a fridge, safe, 3 piece suite and a verandah overlooking the beach with the ocean only feet away.

There are sufficient sunbeds all over with special large ones by the infinity pool. Great views to sea and when any cruise ship comes past then it is stunning.

Beach is small and lovely and if you like the surf then the sea is great. If want anything calmer then just 15 minutes walk out of the hotel and across the road through a huge and almost deserted hotel is a beautiful beach called Deep Bay which is equally deserted.

All meals are served in the open sided restaurant that has the bar & seating area as well as the infinity pool next to it. Service was friendly and welcoming particularly by Bernadette, Renee, D’Andra, Cotton, Brent & Tanza.

Breakfast was a feast. There were cereals, toast, juices, fruit, yoghurt etc then cold meats & cheeses along with eggs served as you like them with bacon, sausage and a variety of others items served hot every day. Jams & marmalade, tea & coffee including decaf!. Cold drinking water is available all the time and they will fill up your bottles here or later at the bar.

Lunch changed everyday with 3 courses including soup and if the dessert was not to your liking you can always ask for their lovely ice creams – strawberry was my favourite.

You had to book in a time for dinner as this was 3 courses with 3 varieties, each course, served at your table. Never an issue with having a time that we wanted - always seemed to be easy.

Food was excellent in both choice and taste and we did not mind the extra cost of the lobster – it was worth it. The house wines were extremely drinkable – the red being a Chilean Merlot. Two nights a week there were buffets and BBQ night was great – Oh those ribs! – and a great steel band.

There was low key live music on several nights and good evenings with other people by the bar.

Any downside? – only if you like going out at night because then you are a 15US$ cab ride from the town but we were very happy to stay at the hotel.

Note that if you want to go on any of the boat trips then the boats will actually come onto the beach in front of the hotel to collect you and return you.

Room Tip: Room 110 is at the end of the hotel and is best if you like peace & quiet – A/C is new and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LewNottingham15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to this resort for the day while in port on a cruise. It was a great day! Prior communication was quick and easy. After about a 15 minute cab ride from the port, we found ourselves at a very nice resort with wonderful staff. After checking in, we were given towels and shown to the pool and the beach. The beach is about 300yds long with white sand. It is pretty secluded and there seemed to be plenty of chairs in the shade to go around. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beach was clean with and the water was clear. Our kids enjoyed the pool as well as the beach. The cost was $50US for the day was a great value and included lunch, drinks, towels and snorkel equipment. The area is very quiet and totally relaxing. The area around the resort seems a bit run down, but grounds were well kept and clean. Certainly it is not a 5 star resort, but it is really a good place to relax for the day. There was a very nice lady that came around and offered massages and manicures. If I was staying for longer than the day, I might have indulged. At lunch time, there’s a nice buffet, with fish, curries and other local treats. The seating at meal time is open air, so you do have to shoo away the sparrows at times, but not a major deal. There’s also a couch area for relaxing and a nice bar. It was a great way to spend the day, and I would definitely return at some point for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just got back last night from our stay at the Coconut Beach Club in Antigua and I have to say what an enjoyable relaxing time we had! We Stayed From April 12th till the 17th and Couldn't have asked for a more relaxing time. No young children...more adults only. We stayed in room 102b on the ground floor and out the back slider and deck the beach is really like only 30 feet away! Everything was clean and the grounds were cared for everyday, and the people were all very nice to us. If you are going looking for a Sandals type resort... this is not it! This is Peace and Quiet...Beautiful Beach...and a wonderful breeze most of the day. It was like we had the Beach to ourselves, and the Ocean water was Fantastic!
Look for" Frenchie "for booking any excursions you might want to do... He was terrific.
The food was nice and tasty...Buffet for Breakfast and lunch...and a la carte for dinner. Men bring long pants with you and collared shirts for dinner most nights. Drinks were anything you would want in a tropical resort and they had bottled water for sale and free refills in the gift hut.
Don't believe the Cruise ship people that were there for a day in these reviews...the resort although older and could use some paint ...it is a real Diamond....But don't tell anyone...I want it to be the same when we return....the Best kept Secret in Antigua!!!

Room Tip: Although people had said in previous reviews the bugs and mosquitoes were bad...we didn't have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We found this gem online. Have gone back every year for the last 5 years! Love it! No it's not near as fancy as Sandals or the other BIG name places. But it is clean and friendly and relaxing. And with only I think.32 rooms it is NOT crowded at all. Never had a problem with the pool or with the staff that worked there or with the guests staying there. Made some really good friends from our visit Everyone is so friendly. We did have a problem with a few people coming in for the day off the cruise ships. Fellow Americans that were VERY rude, demanding and nasty! A few were kind of drunk when they arrived and of course it just got worse. Getting sick on our beach then using a lounge chair to hide it so no one would know until they left. Actually setting on our deck and when I asked them to leave acted like I was in the wrong! I have apologized to the guests there for the way SOME of my fellow Americans have behaved while being there. Hopefully the future cruise ship guests WILL be nicer! Don't forget to take spray to keep the mosquitoes away. Remember you are on an island. Not at home. We will be returning soon and I just can't wait.

Room Tip: We think the ground floor rooms are better. No steps and you have a clear beautiful view of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mimma843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Where to start.
Hotel - clean and tidy. I would describe it as Shabby Chic.

Food - very good. All you can eat breakfast and lunch. Dinner ( must wear long trousers and collared shirt. Polos are ok) is "a la carte" so if your looking to stuff yourselves silly, I can tell you this not going to happen. It is good quality food served in nice size portions.

Rooms - see review below but very good.


Drink- there are plenty of choices. My wife's favorite was Pina Colada but i must recommend the Coconut Martini. Got a kick to it. Even bought some Coconut Liqueur back with us.

Bar,Dining areas - open plan and a nice breeze blows thru. Service in both areas are excellent.

Pool - is great. Not to big and is never used. No idiots splashing around and making a fuss. You can take a leisurely swim or do a few lengths.

Beach - is the cherry on the cake. It is great. It is clean and half a mile long. The water is so warm and clear. Some people say it is a bit choppy but my wife has hip problems and found it easy to swim in. Gently shelving so no surprises. Plenty of sun loungers and you do not get people putting towels out at night or early in morning saving them. BUT I MUST TELL YOU the best beach is 15 mins walk from hotel, Deep Bay. Even the locals will you it is. It is fabulous and no one on it. There are no amenities on the beach but there is a hotel at the far end (hardly used) and you can bluff your way in if you need the loo. The water is calm as it is out of the breeze and it is beautiful absolutley beautiful.

The Staff - fantastic.

Trips - see Frenchie around the pool area. He can sort out any trip you want with a no hassle. He does not pester you just give you all info you need and if you want to book one he's the man. Tip - all trips are same price where ever you go the same as taxis. They are controlled by the Government. We did the round the island trip on a cat. It actually pulls up on our beach and then drops you off. No taxis involved. Great trip with snorkelling when you stop at an island (kit provided) food and drink. Toilets on board. Great crew. Gets a bit choppy on Atlantic side.

Hotel transfers - i pre-booked ours and to be quite honest you should just get a taxi $20 each way. I paid double that. Hotel will call taxis for you


All in all great Holiday. Peaceful, relaxing, great food, great beach. If you want noise then go to somewhere that has 100's of rooms and people to match. This place has 38 rooms they are all beach facing ( 20ft from it) and you can listen to the waves all night. This review is a true reflection on this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in a top room. Beautiful views thru palm leaves and all the birds will come to you as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,885 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,338 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £113 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing