We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical resort.”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical resort.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have just returned from our second year running at Coconut Beach and we plan to return another year. If you want a relaxing holiday in a magical place then look no further. This hotel claims to be on the beach and frankly if your room was any closer you would be swimming - what a fantastic view from the room and so close to the beach you don' t need to worry about packing that beach bag as everything can be left on your own private veranda. We stayed in a Junior suite on the ground floor with direct access to the beach from your sliding patio door - brilliant. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, you are made to feel very welcome but without any pressure to spend any money as this is an all inclusive resort. The meals are excellent made with local produce and local dishes so that even when eating you feel that you are in Antigua and not Europe or the States. Some reviewers have mentioned small portions for evening meal but what a change for it not to be a buffet you are served with proper food that the chef is clearly proud of and after four courses we were full. The bar is well stocked and it's all included. The accommodation is very clean and you have everything you need. We liked the fact that the hotel has no children under 12 nothing against them but it means the place is very relaxing and the guests get to know each other well. We also did a few excursions and can thoroughly recommend the circumnavigation trip on the Excellence, great trip, great staff and flowing rum punch. All Antiguans very friendly especially the taxi drivers (Rodney) who a thrilled to tell you all about their country.
K and E.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I went here from July 29 - August 5, 2014 and loved every minute of it. The hotel is not your standard all-inclusive -- it's not a giant place with a ton of restaurants, and it was still amazing. The food was delicious! The menu was different for each meal every day, so it didn't feel like the same restaurant. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and fun. The beach and pool were so beautiful. The hotel itself has an old-world Caribbean charm. Everything is clean and nice. Because it's small, you never had to worry about not getting a spot by the pool or beach. It was super relaxing. There's still plenty of excursion options to do, but you can also just chill out. The only thing to be mindful of is tipping -- it was very difficult to get change, so come prepared with your own.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff here was incredible and the hotel is located on very nice stretch of beach. It is a smaller establishment and the buildings aren't brand new but the ambiance, the view, and the service was top notch. There are no TVs in the room but there is a big screen TV in the lounge. If you are in Antigua, it better be raining for you to be watching TV! I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean, which is about 25m away. The first floor rooms are nice so you can wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tidwtr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

If you want to completely relax, a beautiful private beach (for hotel guests only) with no one selling you things and a chilled out vibe getting to know other guests and all the staff then this is the place to go!
NOT a place to go if you want tacky music every night and lots of activities. No children allowed at the resort either.
It had tennis, snorkelling and kayaking there if you wanted. Lots of tours from the hotel also. Certainly book your tour with Frenchie who you will meet at the hotel. A fantastic day out.
The hotel Could do with a lick of paint in places but clean with a beautiful beach and infinity pool. Very safe area.
The room (delux suite) was spacious (huge!!) and had a lovely view with a hammock on the balcony.
There are no tvs in the room which initially I was apprehensive about as it's nice to have background noise when getting ready but I didn't miss it at all and it adds to the relaxed holiday vibe to the hotel. Your never really in your room anyway. There is a tv downstairs with comfy chairs so you can keep up with news etc.
Breaky and lunch were buffet and were okay-meat fish and veggie dish to choose from. Dinner could be better with only a meat fish and vegetarian dish to chose from and small portions. Dinner was always a la cart except BBQ night.
Overall I would absolutely return and I would suggest you avoid the busy resorts on the island and book here for a relaxed paradise holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Starzbubbles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The luxury in CBC is the simplicity of it. Once you get there its paradise. The grounds at the entrance are open with many tropical flowers with many different colors. The staff (all staff) were very friendly and eager to make our stay even better. Our room had a great magazine type view to the beach from the bed or balcony. The rooms aren't updated but were clean and everything worked great. The rooms were always clean.
We spent only 3 nights here and they were excellent. Lounged on the beach, bathed in the sun and floated on the clear waters.
The all inclusive could be better, but very good for the price. Breakfast very good. Dinner was poor. Small portions and bland food made us go eat out (which is excellent).
FYI, bring long pants for dinner. They are very strict about this.
A bit of a warning...there are mongoose everywhere in the resort just like there are squirrels in disney...they wont bother you unless you bother them. It was somewhat frightening the first time we saw them, but then you get used to them.
The drinks at the afternoon/dinner time are great and a great time to mingle with the other guests.
Overall we had a great time and brought back some very good memories...We will be back.

Room Tip: Bring long pants for dinner. You can wear flip flops with long pants to dinner, no problem. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirFrancis787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

During our 10 day holiday my wife was taken ill and had to spend a number of days in the hospital, which extended our stay by 6 days.
The help and support I recieved from the staff and the hotel taxi driver was just amazing. There was nothing they wouldn't do to help me, with arrangements, calls to the UK and early and late meals etc.
We will definitelyhave to go back to this hotel and do the normal tourists things.
The photo's on the hotel website are totally accurate.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms due to the extended stay and both were comfortable, spacious and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful small quiet hotel with private beach which suited us perfectly.
Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and a lot of fun. Smiley happy people and made our stay one to remember.
Definitely go back one day when life calms down.
we traveled in 2010

Room Tip: They're all good but we preferred being on the ground floor instead of the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing