We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AmAZING - were coming back..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AmAZING - were coming back..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

This review is around 10 months too late. Both my partner and I have been to Antigua on 2 other occasions and loved it, this time we brought our friends to this beautiful island of 365 beaches in September 2009.

The hotel is right on the beach and you are sent to sleep by the sound of waves lapping on the shoreline. We didn't experience the sand flies as others did but did go in September - jelly fish season - you can see them though, so no big deal as you can avoid them! The other visitors to the beach were a heard of cows and horses one morning - which was amazing to see and not at all a hassle!

The food is great, of course if you are a fussy eater then you will find fault with everywhere you go, I am not said fussy eater and therefore was often stuck for choice from the evening menu as is so varied including lots of local fish - yummy!. It is not a nasty buffet with screaming kids, hot dogs and plastic cheese, so if this is what you are looking for then best stay away! Entertainment was supplied on 2 nights in our 7 day stay and was fabulous local music on steel pans. I am an adult and therefore don't need to be entertained after my dinner with hideous array of karaoke, bingo or whatever goes on in those kind of resorts - again if this is what you like, stay away.

Breakfast is eggs cooked to order, fruit in abundance and your usual European continental breakfast options - brilliant!

The staff can't do enough for you from Delvanice who I booked through to Jahilda on the bar and Cotton (we named our cat after him on our return!) in the restaurant - wonderful people, warm and happy to share their country with you -more than can be said in a lot of European resorts I have visited!

We visited St Johns, in the taxi organised for a number of guests (making the trip very inexpensive) not much to do in the capital but lots of shops catering for the massive cruise liners that come in every day.

The resort is wonderful - a great price and you certainly get much more than you pay for, tranquility is the central theme at this hotel and my partner and I are are very much looking forward to returning later this year!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franspeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and myself went to the Coconut Beach Club, when we first arrived we were taken to our first room on the 2nd Floor, how disappointed we were, the room smelt awful was dull and old. We decided that we couldnt and wouldnt stay in this room and asked reception if we could have a room on the ground floor as there was plenty that were empty. Luckily they were very helpful and we were in our ground floor the next day. This was alot better, but still out dated, only one plug worked, the air conditioning was so noisy you couldnt have it on during the night.
Unfortunately Coconut Beach Club is very run down and neglected, it is in a poor state that needs a major refurbishment. In some parts of the resort it is very dangerous, raised decking, exposed wire on the beach barrier, holes in roofs leaving tiled floors very dangerous when it rains. The Wellness Centre is a dilapidated Hut that looks like it hasnt been used for 10 years, same with the Watersports and Tennis Courts.
What can I say about the food, well I am not a qualified chef but I have eaten in a variety of restaurants across the world and if you consider Beetroot with Pineapple or Bubble n Squeak with Dried Apricots a la carte then I stand corrected, the food is just a ridiculous mixture of as many ingredients the chef can put on the plate made to look pretty. The cuts of meat are of the cheapest quality, everything were possible is out of a tin and microwaved until its turned to rubber. Lunch was not much better, Beef Curry in sweltering heat, Breakfast and Lunch just looked very unappealing like it had been sat there for a day or two. We were told that they had staff cuts because of the lack of occupancy and we suffered because of it.

Because of a neighbouring resort, we didnt get the piece and quiet we were expecting, although this is not Coconut Beach fault, they didnt tell you that the other resort played heavy base music from 3pm - 5am the next morning.

We had read other reviews and took them into account and knew that this was not a 5* resort, but we were more than disappointed with this resort, it was mentioned by other guests that they would be reporting this resort to Trade Descriptions and I think they would be within their rights.

The one good thing about Coconut Beach Club is the location, it is absolutely stunning, it is in a cove with the beach and sea infront and a Tropical Forest out the back... Beautiful!!! the wild life is amazing!!! beware mosquito`s, they are relentless.....

We went with Virgin and I have written a letter of complaint as we were surprised that Virgin would recommend this resort. We are sure Richard Branson would not take his wife there and be happy!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dell44Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Definitely not worth its rating. The rooms were clean but the whole of the hotel was very run down and a lot of repairs were needed, including the small swimming pool and the surrounding area and sunbeds, which were dirty. I could go into much more detail but I, and most of the other guests, could not wait to get back home.

The food and drink was very basic and with no variation. The evening meal was served 'nouveau cuisine' style but if you pulled the pile of food apart there was no substance to it. There was a bar but most of the time there was no-one serving. If you wanted tea or coffee mid afternoon you had to make it yourself.

When I mentioned the shortcomings to the rep, especially about the food, she suggested the lack of choice was because there was only about 20 guests there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Coconut Beach Club is like a fine gem set in a worn, outdated piece of jewelry. The gem is the meals provided. Definitely choose all inclusive. The star is dinner, a semi-formal affair where mean must wear pants and a shirt. Every night was a delicious four course meal. Breakfast was a standard American buffet style. Lunch varied (eg, burgers + fries, spaghetti) but also included salad, soup and desert.

The beach is nice and only trafficked by resort guests. The resort provides towels and beach chairs. You can snorkel, just watch where th pelicans are diving.

The extreme disappoint is the rooms. The view is directly onto the water but the rooms are outdated and worn. Most discomforting is the bug problem. Some in the kitchen and bathroom is a big nuisance but finding a few in the bed made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

As a young couple looking for a really relaxing break away from hectic city living, Coconut Beach Club hit the nail on the head. Beautiful quiet beach, very well appointed room with more than enough space and a huge bed, a super view with lovely hammock, but above all total peace and quiet.

The food was excellent - as my first all inlcusive experience I was very dubious as to what the food quality would be, but it was all excellent from the egg station at breakfast to the four course dinners. We drank plenty of the red wine on offer - it was Chilean and very decent.

My only suggestion for improvement is that the decor is a little bit dated, but that's really the last thing you are thinking about when you can see the ocean and hear the waves lapping on the beach about 20metres from your balcony!

We would most certainly return to this resort, excellent value, excellent service, excellent holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NessieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hoathly, East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We booked at the Cocobay hotel but due to a mix up were not allocated a beach front room but another room which was a major trek uphill (beware if booking for Cocobay and you arent fit!) - we were then transferred to the apparent 'sister' hotel the Coconut Beach.

The Coconut Beach hotel is quite nicely situated with a relaxed atmosphere and very helpful staff (the manager spoke to us at dinner about any improvements that could be made and wrote the results on his wrist!). The room we had was like an apartment with cooker etc yet the hotel is all-inclusive (a throwback we understand to when it was in other ownership). The staff do make a big effort to keep guests happy and this added to our enjoyment of the stay immensely. The food - well this is very good indeed with the exception of the desserts where no imagination is shown at all in the land of coconut and bananas! Fruit salad, fruit salad and stodgy tarts were served up every day for lunch, evenings were marginally better - overall though the food was of a good standard.

Do you love water sports? Dont rely on any here! We were told that the 'sunfish sailing' was off because of bad weather but it looked like the tiny boat hadnt been used for yonks - there was one kayak so my wife and I couldnt go out together. Entertainment was provided by some very bored looking calypso singers, a steel band was an improvement but the seating was so far removed from them that there was no atmosphere with most guests just ignoring the wonderful music.

Points to watch for if staying: most guests were bitten badly by sandflies etc and it is most important that you watch for this; taxis are ludicrously expensive (£60 to go not far) and this put us off some excursions where you had to taxi to the venue to start the trip. Best bet is to hire the wonderful Capt Spencer at the hotel and let him drive you around all the best spots (brilliant!); we were nearly scammed on the beach by a convincing local (who actually got quite a lot of money out of other guests before escaping) - we were told that all Antigua beaches are public and they couldnt arrest him on the beach only on private grounds - beware, these guys are very convincing! (Yes I know scammers are everywhere!)

I agree with a previous reviewer that this hotel lacks a certain something but for a relaxing, laid back and children-free experience its not bad at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

There really ought to be a category for food. This is an all inclusive hotel so my expectations were not that high. I was amazed. From breakast to dinner I was given options of te most delectible foods imagineable. The chef can definitely compete with those of five star restaurants in NYC and SFO...

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing