We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly hotel in a good location.”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay for two weeks. The food was excellent, as were all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble to sort out any problems which arose, namely the air conditioning which was sorted out very quickly. Jahilda (at the bar could mix a mean cocktail), Bernadette, Clifton, Cotton, Mellanie to name but a few really looked after us so well during our stay. Renato, the General Manager, was often chatting to the residents and made you feel really welcome, which was a nice personal touch.

The sea could be a little rough at times, but generally was okay. It was great to see the cruise liners passing by our windows, almost every day, sometimes two or three a day.

The Virgins Ahoy trip is well worth going on as you are picked up directly from the beach. A thoroughly enjoyable day, sailing right the way around the island, an excellent lunch cooked on board by the crew and an open bar all day. Also the Land & Sea trip - a jeep safari in the morning, followed by a cataraman trip sailing up the west coast in the afternoon, where again the crew cooked us a great lunch onboard, stopping off for snorkelling on Cadde's Reef and later in the afternoon at Deep Bay for swimming.

Also, the Medicine Man nature walk is well worth the time but do make sure that you wear trainers or substantial shoes.

The sand flies were out in force during our stay so remember to take lots of insect repellent.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday which I would highly recommend. Would definitely like to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiejaneRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

What was good:
- all the food was pretty good. The evening meal which was served to your table particularly so. This was more 5* standard than 3*. Often food in Caribbean All Inclusives is very bland; this wasn't
- every room has a hammock and a sea view and the hotel is right on the beach. That's got to be good.
- the bar service and cocktails were always good

What wasn't so good:
- the rooms needed to be updated, everything was there but it had been so for quite a while
- the air con worked, but it could've been better and it could've been much quieter
- there wasn't really any space to sit around the pool. Especially in the afternoon (due to the position of the sun moving away from what little space there was to sit by the pool).
- because the flight was from Gatwick on our week the guests in the Hotel were mainly from Essex. And my word they were a dull bunch.

Overall though if you're fancying a cheapish quiet relaxing time then it's very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Lovely setting and views. Small and quiet but very friendly. The food was great, I am a veggie and I dont think that I have had such good food and choice anywhere else on holiday. The views onto the beach are superb, as is the hammock. Had a couple of heavy downpours and was quite windy, but still had a great week. They have just had some refurbishment completed and work is still ongoing, though this does not impose on the guests at all. The staff were really friendly and great fun. We will definitely go back next year and look forward to seeing further improvements.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddytess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We were recommended to go to this hotel in Antigua when we were in Aruba earlier in the year – the people we spoke to raved about it – so we booked. I'm afraid it was not as good as we expected!

Firstly let me say that the manager and all his staff were delightful and very friendly; they were sympathetic to our various problems and tried to resolve things but, of course, this being Antigua everything takes such a long time.

When we were given our key, we were not given a safe key. It took three days before they found it – despite many reminders – which meant that my partner had to walk around the hotel, and St John’s, for three days with all our holiday money in the back pocket of his shorts.

There were cockroaches in our bath at night and it took three days to get the requested plugs for the bath and sink hoping to deter them – cockroaches are horrid and I do not want them in my room on holiday. We were, however, given an insect repellent room spray to deal with them if they reappeared so they knew they had a problem. We also had lizards but that I could just about accept.

There has been an ‘upgrade’ to the hotel but, where the earth had been moved, and sand put down, the area is now inundated with sandflies. On our first day my partner and I were bitten and, without exaggeration, we had in excess of 100 bites on each leg. We had to go into St John’s (see note re fares below) to buy anti-histamine creams and tablets as it was impossible to sleep with the incessant itching. After we complained, the manager arranged to have the grounds ‘fogged’ several times but the sandflies returned in the middle of the second week and I was badly bitten again. The area involved is the new decked area around the pool and bar. We were given two spray bottles of insect repellent but these did not seem to work particularly well.

Incidentally, regarding the changes, quite a lot of the guests were returners and, without exception, they all said the works – including an infinity pool which overlooks trees and the back of sunbathers’ heads – have been a retrograde step.

We knew in advance that taxis are expensive in Antigua; in the book in the room it indicates that the cost of a return trip to St John’s (literally a ten minute drive away) was $28. However, six of us travelled together and we were charged $20 dollars a couple – making for the hotel a massive $60 for the round trip! Not bad for a maximum of one hour’s work!

There are three wooden and two concrete steps leading down from the bar/restaurant area and on one evening my partner – who had major surgery on both feet last year – fell down one of them because the lower concrete steps were not lit and had no white warning lines. He was badly shaken but fortunately he did not damage his feet or legs. Again, I complained to the manager and suggested that he got white lining done before someone really got hurt. However, the highlighting did not happen while we were there.

On the first Sunday morning, while cleaning my teeth, I heard a gurgling sound and was flabbergasted to find that sewage was coming up the bath waste; it pushed the plug out and the bath half filled very quickly. It took until about 4.00pm for this to be resolved and we obviously could not use our bathroom during this time which was incredibly inconvenient. The cleaner then had the unenviable task of cleaning the bath and replacing the shower curtain! I’ll leave that to your imagination.

As I said before, we were recommended to go to this hotel. One of the things we were told was that the food was excellent. What we found is that although the a la carte evening meals were quite good, the buffet breakfast ‘hot’ selection was very limited and invariably the lunchtime and two evening buffet meals were only lukewarm. I am surprised no-one was ill.

Probably due to the fact that the upgrade has only recently been finished(!), there are no watersports; the wellness centre is not open and there was only one evening of entertainment each week (the same band) who were placed in the new TV lounge, which meant that they could not be heard if you were in the restaurant or the bar and, to watch them, you had to stand on the slabbed stepping stones (put down over the desert of sand to absorb some of the water which lays around the area).

From this you will see that there was a lot of irritating (pun intended) problems. Will we go to this hotel again? No, I am afraid not!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayelkay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelCCB, Manager at Coconut Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

We sincerely regret that your stay with Coconut Beach Club did not meet your expectations.

It was a formidable challenge getting the hotel ready for reopening in very short time following the temporary closure and some of the issues mentioned were clearly linked to this situation.

Our emphasis is on value for money and we target travelers seeking an affordable beachfront holiday with good food, drinks and friendly staff. However, there is no excuse for lapses in service provision. Please be assured that all the basic start up issues have now been ironed out.

On the issue of the taxis, the prices are not set by the hotel. Rather, they are controlled wholly by the local taxi association over which hotels have no control.

If you would like to discuss your experience further please feel free to contact me directly using gm@coconutbeachclub.com.

Sincerely,
R. Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Beautiful setting, very nice beach, great food, helpful and polite staff and an excellant value.
room had a great view and was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandfoxette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Had a very nice stay and the food was,as usual,excellent!Lovely new pool area and dining room.We stay there each time we pass through Antigua to uor home in Nevis and thoroughly enjoy it!
Only one small problem....we booked a specific room 6 months before to ensure we had it and on arrival were told it was not available and were given a "lesser"room.
Still love the place nad the staff!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

There is a lot to recommend the CBC and I'd certainly go again. Wife and I plus teenage daughter had a glorious 2 week stay.

The accommodation was spacious and clean if a little tired. Large comfy beds, air-con that really worked and plenty of wardrobe space plus coffee/tea making facilities and a handy fridge. We particularly loved sitting in the hammock on our veranda and watching the waves lap the beach. The room cleaning was fast and effective tidying up after our messy daughter leaving the rooms spotless.

The beach itself was very clean and very quiet. At times we had it totally to ourselves and swimming was a joy though not many fish (the next beach to the west, a 10min walk max, was better for that).

The meals ranged from good to excellent. A 2-week rotating menu meant we didnt have the same menu twice. At breakfast they cooked excellent omlettes/eggs to order and I enjoyed chatting to the cook as she prepared my meal; sadly I forgot her name but v.friendly. Lunches were simply buffets (cold and hot dishes) and we loved the fish dishes and yes they served curry one lunchtime and it was brilliant. Dinner was in the main dinning room and the food and service was excellent with enough choice on the menu. There wasnt much choice off-menu but I did have the Lobster one night and can highly recommend it. The house wine was surprising good, both red and white.

After dinner we all sat around the bar and chatted. Cotton served wicked cocktails and Jahilda was a mine of information about where to go during carnival etc.

Most people staying there came with Virgin and a rep did come round. We however travelled with BA and booked direct with CBC and it seemed that we got the same deals/service (in one case considerable better!). We used the front desk to sort out our excursions, taxis and they also provided a day room for our departure etc. The little shop was a tad expensive but v.handy for all the essentials.

The downside of CBC, well it's not 5-start and it does need an update here and there, the tennis courts need to be weeded and you have to watch out for the mossies as you do everywhere in Antigua and the internet room was v.small and too hot but non of those negatives really detracted enough from it's charm.

In summary the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food, a beautiful and peaceful location with comfortable but simple accommodation makes this place a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: Pob 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £113 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing