We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Food, Excellent Service!”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Food, Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

A warm friendly welcome awaits. The Manager, Renato, personally escorted us to our room and showed us around.
The room was excellent, a good size, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.
All rooms have a private balcony AND a hammock. All of the rooms are sea facing and are only a stone's throw from the beach. Our room was on the ground floor with a spectacular view of the beach. There are plenty of sun loungers available and beach towels are supplied.

The food...wow! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were excellent, with a varied selection, Dinner was more like 5 Star than 3.

The staff were all wonderful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They were all pretty good at mixing cocktails too!

We would definitely return

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We have never been to the Carribean so were a little apprehensive, no need to be. The complex is small and met our requirements. It is not 5 star but it is clean, comfortable, the food is good and the service is excellent. All the staff are friendly and everybody speaks to you. The Manager (Renato) goes out of his way to make sure you are enjoying yourself. We have just come back and Virgin did a great job getting us back only a couple of hours late (shame we wanted to stay) but the hotel said relax, enjoy yourselves and keep the room until you leave, so we did.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The Coconut Beach Club has just been extensively refurbished and is not a true reflection on the description in brochures which we chose the holiday from, but saying that we still had an excellent time at the Club, The food on the whole was very good, breakfast was adequate for choice, evening meals were excellent with a good and varied choice and as someone who adores fish I was more than adequately treated every day. The rooms were kept very clean and tidy.All of the staff we felt could not do enough for you to make the holiday really relaxing.
As an all inclusive which was our first experience the choice of drinks were varied and were freely offered.The Club is right on the beach which was more or less exclusive to the guests.
The only small downside was, when we were at the Club there was no shop or Wellness Centre but I believe that is being dealt with.
I would thoroughly recommend the Extreme circumnavigation of Antigua, a fantastic day out sailing around the island on a catamaran named Excellence, the crew are absoluteley brilliant with drinks flowing all day, Cmon Captain Mango and the fabulous crew..
If you enjoy a relaxing hoilday, being well looked after, then we would thoroughly recommend The Coconut Beach Club

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igwana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2010

There had been a few 'teething troubles' before we arrived at this hotel as it had opened too early, but they were sorted out by the excellent young manager who came everyday to check for problems and that everyone was comfortable. The location was perfect for us - our room which was spacious was situated a few feet from the beach. The staff were nearly all very friendly and helpful. This hotel is quite isolated and you would need either to hire a car or book one of the many trips on offer to see the Island or walk to Five Island Village (15 minutes) and take a bus to St. Johns.
My main complaint was that the food was sometimes cold and the breakfasts were unimaginative. However the dinner menus were attractively served and delicious and the staff more than happy to put things right. Only once a week was there entertainment so it is a very quiet hotel but this suited us. All drinks were included and we made many friends around the bar area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Having beeen to Antigua before, and staying at one of the larger resorts, we decided to look on Trip Advisor for a smaller boutique hotel. Up pops the Coconut Beach resort. Having read the earlier reviews, shabby etc., and one saying it was undergoing a refit, we decided to plump for this. Expecting the worse. Were we mad! Not at all. The reception area was exactly as the website proclaimed. No dissapointment there. The location was stunning, that turquoise sea, powdery sand and fabulous attentive staff. Nothing was to much trouble. The manager must take credit for this well run establishment. No TV in the rooms, great. Air conditioning and celing fan, fabulous. Hot water, a plenty. Clean rooms and fresh towels daily, of course. Beach on your doorstep, indeed. Coctails, a plenty. Children, no of course not, this is adults only. Food, superlative fine dining. You can't metion everyone but I just have to mention a few. Cotton, the colourful bartender,read elsewhere of his coctails. Just ask him for swampwater. Jahilda, she makes a mean coctail to, and is so lovely. Bernadette a real pleasure. We were not dissapointed. We work hard and this was what we needed, the tranquility. There were plenty of walks to do. Wildlife in abundance, apart from those wretched mosquitos but they did fog the resort several times. A deserted beach and no vendors pestering you. It is what the Carribbean used to be like before the concrete unimpersonal holiday camps sprung up. Keep this one quiet or else it will get overbooked.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay for two weeks. The food was excellent, as were all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble to sort out any problems which arose, namely the air conditioning which was sorted out very quickly. Jahilda (at the bar could mix a mean cocktail), Bernadette, Clifton, Cotton, Mellanie to name but a few really looked after us so well during our stay. Renato, the General Manager, was often chatting to the residents and made you feel really welcome, which was a nice personal touch.

The sea could be a little rough at times, but generally was okay. It was great to see the cruise liners passing by our windows, almost every day, sometimes two or three a day.

The Virgins Ahoy trip is well worth going on as you are picked up directly from the beach. A thoroughly enjoyable day, sailing right the way around the island, an excellent lunch cooked on board by the crew and an open bar all day. Also the Land & Sea trip - a jeep safari in the morning, followed by a cataraman trip sailing up the west coast in the afternoon, where again the crew cooked us a great lunch onboard, stopping off for snorkelling on Cadde's Reef and later in the afternoon at Deep Bay for swimming.

Also, the Medicine Man nature walk is well worth the time but do make sure that you wear trainers or substantial shoes.

The sand flies were out in force during our stay so remember to take lots of insect repellent.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday which I would highly recommend. Would definitely like to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiejaneRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanLipton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

What was good:
- all the food was pretty good. The evening meal which was served to your table particularly so. This was more 5* standard than 3*. Often food in Caribbean All Inclusives is very bland; this wasn't
- every room has a hammock and a sea view and the hotel is right on the beach. That's got to be good.
- the bar service and cocktails were always good

What wasn't so good:
- the rooms needed to be updated, everything was there but it had been so for quite a while
- the air con worked, but it could've been better and it could've been much quieter
- there wasn't really any space to sit around the pool. Especially in the afternoon (due to the position of the sun moving away from what little space there was to sit by the pool).
- because the flight was from Gatwick on our week the guests in the Hotel were mainly from Essex. And my word they were a dull bunch.

Overall though if you're fancying a cheapish quiet relaxing time then it's very good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
620 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,316 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing