We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, the best part of this hotel is the view.”
Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trade Winds Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yes, the best part of this hotel is the view.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I only chose this property because we were meeting friends from another country who were already booked at the Trade Winds. I normally book beach front properties. I read the reviews so I knew what to expect and not expect from this hotel and most of the reviews are accurate. Yes, the view is nice and the property is on a hill which we didn't mind since we both are athletic. We actually ran up and down the huge hill every morning which was a great workout before breakfast! The beach is within walking distance for us but we are very athletic and walking back up the hill may be a problem for some folks.

The room needs a complete overhaul / update. The bathroom was pretty old and gross. The quality of housekeeping was okay. Several times we had to go to the front desk for soaps and lotions and towels that weren't replaced. One thing I do have to mention is that I was in a rush one morning and forgot to lock up a valuable little diamond necklace and accidentally left it on the dresser. I was nervous when I realized I left it out but when I got back to the room at the end of the day and after the housekeeper had been there, my necklace was laying on the dresser! I was so relieved and pleased that it wasn't stolen!

Be ready for the pace of a snail restaurant staff. I have been to many Caribbean islands and am accustomed to the pace of the Caribbean. This restaurant wins the gold medal for the laziest and unfriendliest staff. The food ranged from okay to pretty good. We ate breakfast there every day because we bought the breakfast package and you would think after a week of being extra kind to the wait staff, extra smiles, pleases, thank yous, etc, they would be a little more kind to us. Maybe everyone was having a bad week...we didn't let it bother us but it certainly didn't make us look forward to being in their presence. We noticed the displeasure of the other guests as they experienced the same poor service. There was not one time we had to get up and go ask for our check at the end of our meal. If we hadn't, we may have had to wait until almost lunch time before someone brought it to us! Heehee!

My advice is that if you want to rent a car and drive around, don't care about being right on the beach, can tolerate slow and lazy wait staff with attitudes, mediocre rooms with a nice view, this is an okay place to stay. Do not pay full price for this place! I got an amazing deal so I am actually satisfied. Had I paid full price, I would be pretty upset. I would not recommend this hotel for more then one night nor would I ever book it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at the Trade Winds Hotel. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had with toiletries not being timely replaced and the poor customer service experienced in the restaurant. Your complaints will be addressed and corrective actions will be taken to prevent and improve these areas.

It is nice to read your remark the about the hotel's view and that our hillside location offered you a great workout option.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    92
    44
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
66
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just got home from our wonderful vacation where we stayed at the fabulous Trade Winds. Our family felt so welcome by the friendly staff especially Marcia and Steven. I can't wait to come back! The view is breathtaking and the food at The Bay House was delicious. Steven and Marcia gave us so many wonderful tips about the fun stuff to do on the Island. We will be telling everyone about this wonderful hotel! See you next time! Bebe and family

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megangonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Trade Winds Hotel and your kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. We are also happy that you appreciated and enjoyed the food and the views.

We are very happy to hear that our staff was able to give you great activity tips and you enjoyed your stay in Antigua.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Trade Winds Hotel...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We planned a trip to Antigua and booked a place for the entire 25 days. Unfortunately we were kept awake by the neighborhood dogs who barked incessantly every night. They we found the Trade Winds Hotel, looked at a few rooms, toured the facility and booked our final week there. The new glass walk-in shower was a treat, the view from our balcony overlooking Dickenson Bay was beautiful, the staff were helpful and very friendly, the food was good and we were in walking distance to the ocean and enjoyed the walk there and back every morning with a swim in the pool on our return. Whether you are on business, spending a few nights before heading to one of the other nearby islands or want to chill and relax for a week or more, the Trade Winds Hotel is economical, very comfortable and in a wonderful location close to everything. We will be back when we make a return trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and for choosing Trade Winds Hotel. We are very pleased that were able to provide a relaxing vacation environment. Glad to hear you enjoy the daily walks to the beach and found our pool a refreshing escape after.

We really appreciate the positive comments and the kind words about our staff who works very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and satisfied with their stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Antigua...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Was in Antigua for business, absolutely loved the staff at this hotel. My room was perfect for what I needed, and wifi was strong everywhere. Steve at the bar makes a strong old fashioned rum punch, and jamaican patties were awesome. If you are in Antigua for business--this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Great view from room 54.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for recent review of your stay with us at Trade Winds Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that our amenities and staff has made an outstanding impression on you during your stay.

When your travels bring you back to our hotel we do hope you will take sometime to discover and explore our island paradise. We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Antigua...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We only spent one night at this hotel so difficult to review, the rooms were very clean and well kept,it was along way from the beach and the pool was rather on the small side.. As other reviewers have said the water pressure is appalling; as my daughter said ' she could wee faster ' and the water was tepid so not very good really. The breakfast was fabulous especially the fruit bowl, the views from all around were quite spectacular and a lovely spot to sit and let the world go by.Would I return ? no I don't think so ; I also think it was rather expensive for not much , apart from the views .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's view, your room and meals.

Regretfully however I took notice of your comments regarding the water pressure. Unfortunately there are certain days where switch over of water may not be immediate and seamless and we sincerely apologize. This issue has been discussed and reviewed by Management and a solution has been implemented to prevent any further poor water service.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments. Only by receiving comments like yours are we able to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Hotel is not Handicap Accessible plan on hauling you luggage up and down about 50 steps. Hotel does have a nice view but it is far from the beach. Hotel rooms have hard beds with springs popping through. Water pressure in the shower is nonexistent and hot water is intermittent. Your better off taking a sponge bath. Wifi is located on poles outside of the rooms however it is very slow and does not work in the rooms. Food is expensive and not 5 star although the restaurant has a nice atmosphere and view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear to found our view and hotel atmosphere and do apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying with us.

The water pressure and temperature problems have been investigated and steps taken to correct. Should you need assistance with luggage our porters/security personnel are always available to assist. We are sorry that our WI-FI service wasn't sufficient for your needs and recently have had our ISP providers increase our bandwidth.

We also do not advertise being a beachfront hotel and we do offer a FREE shuttle service to and from the beach.

We do hope you give us a second chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our travel agent put us into this hotel, and assured us it was the best on the island. We did not even have an ocean view, breakfast was not included (altho we had been told it would be), and when we left we were double charged. I have spent two weeks already trying to get the extra charge off our credit card statement.
I complained to general manager who took the meals we had charged to the room off our bill because of the poor condition of the room and the lack of a view (we looked onto the back side of another row of units). We ended up being charged over US$1300 for two nights stay in this place. Our travel agent had told us it would be $280 per night with breakfasts.
We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulsagal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.2 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Property: Trade Winds Hotel
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trade Winds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing