We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turist trap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Realy outdated rooms and too many people. I did not like this hotel at all. The service was slow and the staf was not friendly at all. You expeckt a lot more for what they are charging you. It was llike a stampeed to get breakfast and the barsservice was poor.Internett was bearly working and you had to book in the restaurante 24 hrs beforehand. Not worth what they wheere charging. The bussines center was not working.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kjell magne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Blue Waters Hotel is the most stunning hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff are just all so charming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. We upgraded to a suite which was magical especially as we got married at this hotel as well. Everything for our wedding was organised for us and Mandy was superb! If possible you must go! We went on the 4x4 trip and the boat trip around the Island. Both were such fun. You must also go to Shirley Heights on a Sunday - party night and fantastic views down over Nelsons Dockyard. All in all the trip of a lifetime. Only faint complaint not enough sunbeds and towels still appearing on the beds, although the notices said not too???

Room Tip: Get a room that is on the second floor. Much better view of the beautiful bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SoozEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Waters last November, we still keep talking about it, I have never felt so relaxed on a holiday and we really want to go back. The grounds are kept well, everywhere you look is a nice calming view and everything is kept clean. The staff are all so friendly, they go out of their way to make sure you are relaxed and happy. We were very happy with the quality of the food and the variety. We stayed for 12 days and I noticed people arriving with tense faces and rushing around and they would just gradually be touched by the Blue Waters "magic relaxation dust" and you could see them relax and let go. Just wish we were back there sipping a cocktail watching the sun go down over the sea!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We returned to Blue Waters for our 1st wedding anniversary having got married there lst year, and to celebrate our friends 40th birthday.
The hotel is still as amazing as last year and if anything the resturant service has improved.
Cold towels, fruit and sorbet is delivered to you on your sunbed daily by the most cheerful staff - all of them really helpful and great fun - Madie, Paulette, Pearl and andrew all deserve a special mention for making our stay so special.
We did have a problem with the 'new' spa loosing the booking we had made for our friends 40th which was upsetting but they re-booked for the next day and they were complimentary.
The spa is now really nice and the cove restuarant has moved further down towards the front and is so much nicer now - really has a romantic feel.
We dont understand the negative reviews on here only to say if you are looking for coporate where every one calls you 'sir' (because they dont rememeber your name!) and you want electric curtains in your room then dont go to Blue Waters - if you want stunning views, gardens, amazing staff and a relaxing place to stay then go !

Room Tip: the 100 block balconies are the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JacquelineBoudier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I spent 5 wonderful days at the Blue Waters in early February and I can confirm the positive recommendations that are so plentiful.

1. The hotel is very nice, rooms as depicted, clean and in good repair- a very relaxing space. We stayed in a Deluxe Beachfront in the 300's building, which seemed a bit older but perfectly fine accommodations. Sounds like Cove suits are much nicer from other reviews (and about double the price). Note- you are a bit out from other sites, so plan on tours/taxis or a rental car.

2. The staff are really great- many seem a bit reserved when you first meet them, but really warm up once you chat with them a moment. So many times/people went the extra step to make sure we felt like family and were well taken care of (like introducing us to Mrs Bartley, who has been with the hotel for 49 years, and for whom the restaurant was re-named). Everything from the welcoming to the departure was handled professionally, efficiently and in a very warm and inviting manner.

3. Restaurant service at the Palms is mixed- we had prompt and attentive service and a night where the wait staff seemed confused as to who was doing what for which table. A little patience and gentle reminders was all it took, and I do note the hotel was fully booked at the time. The Cove service was more consistently very good. Didn't dine at Bartley's.

4. Food quality- Don't have much experience at all-inclusive resorts, but the food was about as expected. There was always something of interest, generally prepared well but not fabulous dining. Some may be cultural differences as well- I was surprised to receive a tuna steak well-done (I am used to it simply coming out seared as a standard) but easily corrected by ordering it the way I wanted it next time.

5. Bars/nightlife: the bartenders are very friendly, and the rum punch fantastic- our favorite on the island. The music in the evenings was fun, but not always quite my taste. When we were there the majority of others seemed to be retirees from the UK (there were a few younger couples with a child or two, and a couple of parties from the US)- I don't know if there are seasonal differences in the composition of fellow travelers, but my wife and I found everyone very enjoyable to chat with, and many seemed to be repeat customers. Additional nightlife can be found going to one of the casinos.

6. Beach/water sports: As noted, lovely but small beach, so no long romantic walks. The watersports guys are fantastic- great personalities and loads of fun! Roberto taught us to sail a HobieCat in under 60 min, and it was great to run out their on our own (with a little encouragement and a salute from Owen!). Snorkeling from the beach didn't look very promising, but the guys will run you out to the reef for an hour or so, or to a private beach on the other side of the rock cottage.

TIPS/Suggestions:
1. rent a car, if you have at least 2 in your party- it is a great way to get around, see the sights and meet people on the streets. One person will need to read the map, count streets or otherwise try to find the landmarks. Streets are largely not marked and the driver will be too busy avoiding potholes, animals, etc to read the map.

2. If you like snorkeling from the beach, Long Bay Beach was recommended at it was pretty decent. There is a restaurant at one end of the beach, La Tartaruga, that rented beach chairs, and served pretty good food (and drinks, of course!). The other end is dominated by the Grand Pineapple resort.

3. Lunch at Admiral's Inn at Nelson's Dockyard was my wife's favorite meal- service was extremely prompt, the food delicious and hanging out at the dockyard was very nice.

4. The Donkey Sanctuary was a fun stop, although don't plan on spending a lot of time there. Visit the donkeys and adopt one- it is a good cause, and worth a small detour.

5. Although it is obvious, the more you reach out and chat with people, the friendlier they will be and the more fun you will have. We had a great time buying local coconut ice cream straight from a churn on the side of the street...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HapPdadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great hotel, superb location, friendly & efficient staff! Cove Suites excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for middle suite as it has larger balcony with a sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Back from our 5th visit to Blue Waters, third time in our favourite beach-front room, just up from the infinity pool. Always impressed with the staff friendliness, and their ability to recognise us by name from one year to the next -- the biggest welcome on arrival and huge smiles every day! Can recommend the new Bartleys restaurant too. We love the garden and the brilliant colours of the hibiscus and bougainvillea, and coming back home to temps well below zero was quite a shock.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwheatley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
634 reviews
10.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
493 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,343 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
994 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £241 - £1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing