We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Everything you'd expect from a 4* beach hotel with good service.
January is a good time to enjoy the nice private beach, although it is on the small side. The separate cove beach can be windy and gets flooded at high tide, but usually is less crowded. Beach bar offers nice cocktails and snacks. There are no roving vendors, just a small, friendly shop.

Breakfast buffet offered many good choices. I did not take the all-inclusive option but can recommend dinner at the Cove restaurant with sunset view (although the sun sets behind the hill, not over the sea).

My room did not have internet connection, so I was offered a switch to another building, but declined after comparing the rooms. Wifi was almost always available in the lobby and there are two guest computers available too.

Room Tip: the Cove villas/suites with private pool are more upscale and private than regular rooms, but a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

Perfect getaway! Our second trip here, and already planning on next year. All inclusive food is first-class,delicious and recommended choice for a care-free vacation (includes watersports, bars, etc). The staff here out-o themselves in every respect, with friendly & excellent service. Cove Suites overlooking the Caribbean are divine.

Room Tip: Cove Suites are spacious, new, and look over the Caribbean Sea. Ocean-facing rooms are also very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaranewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

just returned from 7 nights at this fabulous hotel. stunning location, great food and friendly staff. could find no faults at all! the sunbeds were the most comfortable i have ever lain on!!

Room Tip: deluxe beach front rooms very comfortable and had good air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tavolta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Having only returned from Blue Waters on Sunday AM, my partner & i are already missing it & craving another holiday!
After a long flight & a bit of a long wait for our transfer at Antigua Airport arriving at Blue Waters was a breath of fresh air.
We were welcomed straight from our taxi, sat down in the Reception & offered a refreshing cold flannel & a drink; we knew at that point that this was going to be a good week!
We were shown around the grounds of Blue Waters & taken to our room, which was so much more than we were expecting. With a balcony overlooking the perfect gardened grounds & the sea. The room was a great size, with a huge bed & a large bathroom. Sheets & towels were changed daily.
The minibar is stocked daily with free drinks (not including Evian water), my partner & I enjoyed returning from a day on the beach to sitting on our balcony with an ice cold drink from the mini bar ready to watch the sunset; perfect!

As a vegetarian I often struggle with food when going abroad, I couldn't fault breakfast at Blue Waters, there's so much choice, from fruits, cereals, yogurts, porridge, bagels, pancakes, toast & a cooked breakfast. Eggs are cooked to order, with a choice of scrambled, poached, omelettes & fried. Staff in the Palm restaurant are very attentive & nothing is too much trouble.
Lunch was either buffet or a choice from the lunch menu, again there was plenty of choice.
As a vegetarian dinner became a little repetitive, every night was a different version of a pasta dish, although I couldn't fault taste or quality of the food I will be avoiding pasta for dinner for a little while now. Pasta overload. My partner however loved the steak on offer in the restaurant & had no problems always finding something to eat. He also found a soft spot for the lava cake, although it takes 15 mins to prepare & cook I was told it was worth the wait! A special mention to Debbie who works at the Palm, she was fantastic!
We had one evening at the Cove restaurant which we'd recommend to anyone staying. Perfect setting looking over the water, fantastic food & service! Perfect way to spend your last evening at Blue Waters.

Our main reason for the visit to Blue Waters was because our friends got married on March 5th at the hotel, the wedding was amazing! Staff couldn't do enough to ensure our friends day was perfect! It was like a fairy tale!

While in Antigua we took a trip on a yacht called the Yabberwocky, which I believe can be booked through Virgin. Our hosts Nick & Kaye were fantastic!! The views, experience & memories are ones that'll stay with us for a LONG time!

We spent most of our holiday on the beach, in the sea & pool! The perfect setting. The beach is clean with plenty of space. The pools were clean & perfect for a cool down after sizzling in the hot sun.

The staff & guests at the hotel were friendly. Shane & Dale in the bar were fantastic, both making great cocktails!

I would love to go back one day in the future, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

A holiday that'll I'll remember forever!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Our trip to Blue Waters, Antigua was a much needed and long-awaited holiday for us and the minute the taxi dropped us at the entrance to the hotel we were greeted warmly and sincerely and offered a rum punch and a beautifully chilled lavender-infused flannel to refresh ourselves after our journey. Great that the hotel is only a short taxi ride from the airport! When we were ready we were taken by motorised buggy to our accommodation. We stayed in Cove Suite 1A- Penthouse and we were absolutely delighted with it. Three bedrooms all ensuite (this suited our family of four perfectly).Adult son and daughter having their own rooms. 2 bedrooms had 6ft beds and the third a 5ft - all supremely comfortable. We have never before slept in a hotel bed with this level of comfort. Lovely spacious bathrooms too! Only one disappointment was the shower water flow & pressure. The space superb. Lovely open-plan sitting/dining room and kitchen area. Great fridge/freezer and coffee machine too! Not that we were catering for ourselves, but perfect for keeping all the drinks chilled. The balcony was huge and had a big table and chairs and plenty of very comfortable sun loungers. The views from here were great - panoramic and looking straight out onto the ocean and with the benefit of lovely cooling breezes. The layout of the hotel is great. Such well-tended and colourful gardens - much work obviously goes into this and it shows.The pool areas are lovely and super pool -bars where the delicious cocktails are made to order. Location excellent. Lovely swimming from the attractive beach and so much nicer than those long strips of beach fronts where each hotel has loads of its sun loungers regimentally lined up! Blue Waters beach feels very private. Recommend all-inclusive plan. Most definitely feel that buffet-style works better and more efficiently here. Delicious breakfasts, lunches and BBQ's. Thanks to the lovely Jemiah (reception and buggy driver) a great ambassador for Blue Waters! Can see why so many guests go back year after year. Yes, it is expensive, but again would certainly recommend all-inclusive so that you know where you are from the start!! You don't want to be questioning whether you should, or should not have that delicious 'mudslide' or another cocktail when the mood takes!!! Our daughter of 25 and son of 22 loved Blue Waters as much as we did. Met some lovely guests with whom we chatted and hope that we will meet up again at BW in the future. Just one thing..........we didn't like seeing some guests feeding cats underneath the dining tables. Probably not a good idea!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Can i firstly say that anyone who moans about Blue Waters obviously has nothing better to do or was asleep during their stay. Everything about Blue Waters was excellent. Yes it might be expensive but we felt it was worth every penny and will without doubt be returning. We had a delux beach front room which was absoulutely fine for us. The one thing that really stood out were the staff. Each and everyone of them was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to you all for making our holiday so relaxing and so much fun.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 999Nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012n for 8 nights - my boyfriend was off to do the RORC 600 sailing regatta and therefore I spent 4 days at this hotel alone with our 1.5 year old until he came back. The hotel has a lovely beach and 3 pools. We spent most our of time at the waterfront pool which seemed to be family oriented than the other two pools. The staff were lovely especially Pearl and Andre from the Palm restaurant. We were upgraded to full board and enjoyed all the restaurants. We preferred The Cove but we also often ate at the Palm with Jnr in tow.

The resort does seem to attract an "older crowd" but we did not feel out of place with the little one and most guests seemed to be British which suited us well.
Alistar the manager does a great job of managing the different guests demands which is not an easy task and any problems are quickly dealt with in a very professional manner.

I did venture out to drive to English Harbour a couple of times to drop off the other half as we rented a rental car. There isn't much out there other than I barely missed driving over a couple of people and stray dogs that ran at the car and the odd lose bull. Therefore driving in Antigua is not for the faint hearted. There is a large supermarket near the resort which I visited a couple of times for some snacks and things - the food selection was great and the prices were fair.

We got engaged down at the Gazeboo while staying here which is truly a lovely unique spot for weddings for special occasions.
All in all this is a great resort.
The only recommendations I would suggest is that it would be great if it had a kids playground/kids club area.
We will definitely be coming back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cove Suites on a ground floor it was excellent as my baby could sleep inside in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinak012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
10.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
491 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
994 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £240 - £1,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing