We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Bluewaters is a lovely property. The setting is fantastic, beaches lovely and gardens are perfectly groomed. Didn't get a chance to look at all rooms however stayed in the Cove Suite Penthouse which was well appointed, extremely spacious and had a marvellous balcony / outdoor area with views across the ocean. Staff at the resort are hard to fault, exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel provided us with a mobile telephone and point of contact at all times; fantastic idea and saves a lot of hassle. The gym could probably use an upgrade but not everyone is concerned when on this type of holiday.

Where the hotel can improve is with the food. Whilst the selection (at breakfast and lunch) is wide and varied the quality could be improved. The Cove seems to be the choice restaurant at Blue Waters. The food is better than that of the other two options (The Palm and Bartleys). The Pelican Bar is a nice post dinner venue and, on particular evenings, there is relaxing live music.

Overall, a very nice resort. A food upgrade away from being a top Caribbean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that you were pleased with your Cove Suite Penthouse accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    323
    81
    45
    21
See reviews for
419
1,011
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vaildiner19
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Not 4 star rooms. For $400+ per night you expect a kind bed that's not just two twins put together. If you're from the U.S. don't expect to have 110v outlets in all of the rooms. I asked the front desk if they had an adapter and was told they didn't have any. He advised me to move the bureau that the TV was sitting in order to find a 110v outlet. Wifi doesn't work in all the rooms. I wouldn't be upset with this hotel if I was paying $100-150 per night but for $400??? (non-inclusive) no way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vaildiner19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Blue Waters. I apologise for the issues which occurred and please allow me to respond. The matter related to the adaptor for your room and the nonchalant response which you received is certainly not our standard and we will take immediate corrective action. We do have complimentary internet access in our rooms and in the event non-access was reported, our on property IT technician would have assisted. We do offer king size beds in most of our rooms however from time to time "zipper link beds" whereby 2 twin beds are joined together will be done. This is not an uncommon industry standard, however had we been aware it was uncomfortable for you we would have found a suitable solution. I would have appreciated an opportunity to address your concerns while you were with us and I apologise once again that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.
Personal regards
Anderson Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After much searching for the best venue for my daughters wedding we decided upon Blue waters Antigua. Whilst our travel agent dealt with all the travel plans for 28 people travelling from the UK I dealt with Mandie the Wedding Co Ordinator at Blue Waters. All the way through she was brilliant and covered everything with me via email.
The wedding is now over and I and my experience of the hotel cannot be higher. From the moment we arrived we received friendly smiles , most staff called us all by our first names and nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was excellent and bar staff always courteous and friendly. I have stayed in other hotels in Antigua and the Caribbean and nothing compares to this.

The only matter whilst caused a little stress was the timings in getting the Brides and Bridesmaids ready. (When is there not a problem with this at any wedding!!) However The General Manager and Mandie were quickly onto the issue and this was resolved to everyones satisfaction.

We had a wonderful holiday the wedding was brilliant and the Registrar for the wedding, Mr Vaughn Walter, conducted it wonderfully well making it very personal to all present.

The General Manager should very proud of all his staff and if you want a great hotel in a wonderful secure setting Blue Waters should be considered seriously.

I looked at the Trip Advisor reviews before leaving and thoroughly endorse the sentiments of almost all of them.

Well done Blue Waters, the Lewis's will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that the wedding went off without a hitch.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited Nov 2nd thru the 10th...

Staff was incredibly warm and attentive. We were greeted with a rum punch and we sat in their lovely open air lobby sipping our drinks while they checked us in!
Our room was a bit on the small side (for our liking) but had a lovely view... we had booked oceanfront deluxe.

Breakfast was included in our rate and it was fresh and plentiful every morning... thoroughly enjoyed it!

The resort is quiet and away from the crowds - secluded... so there is no walking to different places to eat. No other hotels to walk to either. Unless you cab it or rent a car, there is nothing else around.

Because we were visiting our daughter who attends school there, we did not opt for the all inclusive but in hindsight it would have been the better choice. I found meals to be extremely pricey. Drinks however, were reasonably priced in my opinion. They do offer you the option of switching to the all inclusive after your arrival.

The non motorized water sports are complimentary and there is plenty to keep you busy :)

The staff is really wonderful... a BIG thank you to the girls at the Palm Restaurant - you spoiled us rotten. Carolyn at the beach bar... what a wonderfully genuine warm smile.. we miss you! Nian in the front... friendly and extremely helpful!

We look forward to when we can return!

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and found plenty to keep you busy with the hotel's non-motorized water sports.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I love Blue Waters! We were recommended after my brother stayed here last year and what a great recommendation. What really makes this place is the staff... Literally everyone is amazing but a few special mentions must go to Andre, Gary, Caroline and Jarmaine. Blue Waters has a lovely small and personal feeling to it and with some lovely little beaches, great pools and bars and a good choice of restaurants it really has everything you could need for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean Front rooms over the Cove Suites... They are much closer to the main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baliboo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the staff's level of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at this resort hotel on a non inclusive basis in Oct 2013 and dare I say I have never felt so underwhelmed by an experience in my life. The hotel itself was built in 1966 in void of any architectural interest and a lack of significant investment shows. The staff though is extremely friendly and the newish area called the Cove offers better accommodation.

It was quite an expensive stay at £450 per night inclusive of breakfast and it nagged us extensively that the quality was not there. Aside from nice Elemis products it all fell short, I came away thinking they are doing this on a shoe string. For example, you are given the first bottle of water then they charge you 2 dollars for every new bottle. They empty the water in the gym and I was told it is because non all inclusive guests 'help themselves'. A taxi anywhere is £20 return so first we decided to eat in the hotel. Disaster. The food is all but good, as if when most people pay for all inclusive they are allowed to skimp and do it on the cheap. Nothing tastes of anything and when you pay you are all but stunned at the prices for the quality. A dinner for 2 with wine, no dessert will set you back £130, and it is not great quality food. We had several meals elsewhere on the island and the same price can buy you a lovely meal (try the Tides for example). The Cove is their flagship restaurant and the lobster eg was a baby version of all other places on the island. But expensive.

Breakfast was truly underwhelming, really poor bread, poor fruit, omelettes that are tasteless cheap coffee and uninspiring 'canteen like' dining area, it is no better than a Holiday Inn Express. A wasted opportunity.

The grounds are lovely, the watersports good but again why not offer sailing instruction for free rather than charging 35 dollars? It wasn't busy, quite the opposite and the guys working there would have more fun.

The gym needs serious investment.

The spa is nice but pricy. Nice staff though, Fiona is great.

One staff member, Gwen, is outstanding and such a jewel to the place that without her it would be down right dire.

The bar is tasteless and boring. House wine undrinkable, who could have such little imagination?

This last thing proves my point. They could do so much more with what they have but they need to decide who they cater for. It is not a high end boutique hotel - it serves all inclusive guests on a budget deal. Sadly at Shangri-La prices.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old part of the hotel. Opt for the Cove suites though more expensive. Rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CloistersBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Blue Waters. We pride ourselves on delivering high standards and take each customer's review as constructive. It is unfortunate you did not mention your many issues to myself as I would have loved the opportunity to resolve them prior to your departure. The resort was seemingly not a good fit for you and your expectations. On behalf of my entire team, we sincerely apologise that your experience was not to your satisfaction.

Personal regards
Anderson Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Arrived at blue water end September beginning October. We have been to antiqua 5 times but never to Blue water, well what a surprise. It was welcoming friendly the staff bent over backwards to help you, everywhere was clean and tidy. The room was large with new air condition unit, the bathroom was huge with elemis products to use, what a treat. The main restaurant was excellent, choice of food, service , champagne with breakfast. The surprise was Sunday lunch roast beef and Yorkshire pudding not what you expect in the caribean but everyone was tucking in. The cove restaurant was lovely the lobster was delicious. Bentleys restaurant was not to my liking very strange menu, steak with pasta? Several people commented that they didn't like it as well. The swimming pools were all of a good size and there was plenty of beach towels, they bring cold towels to refresh yourself at the pool and some stuff would bring you drinks to your sunbed. Good fun was had at the beach bar some staff needed to relax a little bit and join in the banter but overal their were all extremely nice and helpful. Would recommend this hotel I'll defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the staff's level of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
580 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,015 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
5.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing